We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring ear plugs.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #65 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First of all, the staff here were all very good.

The hotel is adjacent to a stacked freeway. The noise is really loud, not from planes but from cars and trucks. We changed rooms on the second night, and it was only marginally better.

It does die down overnight, but I found myself waking at 5 am.

It is very convenient to the airport, and has a pool that families were enjoying. The transfer to and from the airport is efficient (bring 1usd per bag for a tip).

We were looking forward to our complimentary American breakfast. However this is just a fruit cup (a bowl of sliced fruit), 2 pieces of toast, jam and tea or coffee. You can't offset it against an actual American breakfast. A side order of bacon was $5 and an egg was $3. Having said that, the staff were pretty nice here as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    169
    168
    77
    60
See reviews for
145
178
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is well situated close to the airport and is a good jumping off point for getting around Oahu. The room is clean, if a little dated, but good for us since we had our little dog with us. The staff is very helpful and I really like that there is security at all times at the hotel. Be prepared for a struggle when parking in the outside lot where the pet friendly rooms are but it's good when you get used to it. Definitely recommend this place as a home base of operations if you are staying on Oahu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Upon my arrival I was greeted with a special aloha which I have never received before from any other hotels or condos that I have stayed at whilst coming and going to Hawaii I'm sorry but I forgotten the lovely girls name at the front desk but if only there was more people around like her the world would a much nicer place.
I would certainly recommend staying at the hotel yes you situated at the airport and in between the on and off ramps of the highways. But for convince to and from the airport it's a great start or end to your trip. Easy to get to shopping centres via the bus for only $2.50 and the in house cafe is very good too. Nearby is some take out stores if you need more variety. Transfer bus to terminals is handy to for no charge. Will come again and to the staff keep up your happy attitudes and willingness to oblige.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very noisy, staff was not too accommodating; they refused to acknowledge I was a Best Western Rewards member. Also, they do not advertise the restaurant is not open for lunch nor is it open nightly for dinner, with the exception of Friday - Monday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aloha Cynthia B,

Thank you for your most recent visit to the Best Western The Plaza Hotel. Both the staff and management are appreciative of your patronage.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies regarding your experience at check in. We will investigate to understand what may have transpired for you not to be recognized. We do advertise the restaurant is not open Tuesday-Thursday and that our sister property the Airport Honolulu Hotel is open for dinner and our complimentary shuttle is available.

We thank you for your time to write a review and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Me & my family spent a night here and their employee Cherae made our experience very pleasant. Her customer service was OUTSTANDING and she kept a smile on her face! She event went above and beyond with directions to and from our location over the phone and definitely gave that Aloha spirit!!! We definitely need more employees like her today!! Thanks again Cherae, me and my family appreciated the hospitality.. Rooms were nice, clean and quiet. Thanks Best Western!!

Room #234
8/2/2013

Room Tip: Speak with Cherae
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Aloha TImothy D,

On behalf of the management of the Best Western The Plaza Hotel, thank you for staying with us recently. We would also like to thank you for writing a review and acknowledging Cherae on her guest service!
We are appreciative of your business, along with the other guests who choose to stay with us. Though we are near the airport, we have great employees who extend great ALOHA and customer service.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Close to Naval Station and Hickam AFB. 10 minutes from either base. Pay for parking of course. Rooms are OK, only 2 elevators for 12 floors. Restaurant with Seafood buffet Fri and Sat at around $25.-$30. Byrons fast food around corner, strip mall walking distance. It is a C+. Long lines mostly, at check-in or check out. Airport about 10 minutes. Shuttle to / from airport. Working man's hotel. Laundry on 1st floor. Aloha spirit not seen here.

Room Tip: Get a room near the front of the hotel, airport is loud, day and night. Park on a flat surface, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent forty days at this hotel in June 2012 and June 2013. I chose it for its location and proximity to TAMC. For that purpose, it worked out nicely. For other interests, like being a central location, it is also pretty good. For a resort experience, go elsewhere.

The rooms are decent but awkward without a closet door. The bathrooms are adequate. The tv is awfully slow to turn on. But they have plenty of channels. There is also a fridge and microwave too if memory serves. The best part was earning Best Western points while I was staying there.

There is no good running near the hotel and no exercise room that I am aware of.

I recently used the hotel as a convenient place to stay near the airport. Because I was in and out so often, it made getting back to and from the hotel and airport quite convenient.

On my own I may not come here but if on military duty I say definitely take it because they accept TLA rates which few other hotels will. And they give you vouchers for food in the hotel if you are checking in or arriving on island, but not if you are not

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.