We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a 5-hour layover, but not much else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ideal for a 5-hour layover, but not much else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Traveling with a 6 and 9 year old, and with a flight departure time of midnight, we were searching for an affordable and convenient option to rest and get some sleep prior to our long return trip home. Based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, the Plaza Hotel seemed to be the best option, and pretty much you get what you pay for. Yes, the hotel is close to the airport (about 10 minutes away on their free shuttle bus). The rooms are small and satisfactorily clean (although pillows and beds did have some residual odors). The other hotel guests are colorful, although not scary.The hotel is built practically UNDER the freeway and the walls are somewhat thin, so it is somewhat noisy, but overall, it's a decent option compared to waiting in the actual airport. Would I want to stay here overnight? No. But I would recommend it for someone who didn't want to spend lots of money or rent a car and had time to spare between flights? Yes.

Food options are limited at this hotel. They do serve dinner on some nights, but you can also get some pizza delivered (or walk to a nearby strip mall to pick one up).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    205
    184
    86
    64
See reviews for
164
204
68
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester on
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at many Best Western Hotels over the last 10 years and we've had very positive experiences. This Best Western Honolulu Airport location was not as it appears in the photographs. The check-in staff were surly and not apologetic as they stated there were no queen or king beds available yet we had made reservations for 2 rooms (queen or king bed) back in July 25, 2012. When we insisted, they found one room with a King for our 2-nights stay but only a double for my sister and husband for their 1 night stay. Our door key-cards would not work, meant a trip back down in the only working elevator to be recoded. Our King room was on the top floor right beside the freeway ramp. The cars/buses/motorcycles were whizzing by and actually rattling the windows. Back down in the elevator to ask for another room and surprise, the new room (6th floor) had a queen bed (which the surly staff had earlier stated, there were none) and thankfully was much quieter. Unfortunately, the bathtub and shower were unacceptable.The tub drain was plugged and would not empty plus the shower head was partially blocked. Mildew on the grout and shower/bath seams, under the edges of the badly stained bath rubber piece which should have been securely adhered to the bottom of the tub and rusty tub fixtures. The room was fairly clean, but aged furniture, wallpaper and in need of a facelift. The one great experience we had with this location was our dining experience. The attached dining area provided a welcoming and attentive staff, many meal choices and well prepared/presented entrees. I recommend if you have valid complaints on any hotel, contact their head office while you are still in the hotel so the issues can be addressed /corrected while you are there to enjoy them. The Best Western has a good reputation and wants to keep it.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room away from the freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to review us. We sincerely apologize that we failed you in several areas. Our staff prides themselves in providing superior customer care but we fell short in your experience.
We do want to clarify that our hotel does not have queen size beds, we have either 1 king bed or 2 double beds in our guestrooms. Unfortunately, we sometimes are unable to accommodate bedding requests during high occupancy levels.
We are surprised that your guestroom was not up to par as we have an ongoing preventive maintenance program in place. Please kindly provide us with your room number and we will correct all the discrepancies you mentioned at once. You can email me at rodolfo.fao@outrigger.com.

Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and we will use your valuable feedback to make necessary improvements.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtyon Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice hotel - you will need a car if you stay here. No bar in hotel and restaurant is open only on certain days for dinner. Hotel is clean and rooms are nice and large and breakfast is pretty good. Only really bad thing is be careful as the gift shop may cheat you on prices. They took the price tag of something our friends were buying and upped the price on them - really illegal especially since we had purchased the same thing the day before.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel serves the purpose of short overnight stays as you are traveling through the Honolulu airport - that is all! There are 3 hotels close by the airport, this one had the best reviews. I can't imagine what the other hotels were like if this was the best reviewed!! But it serves it's purpose.
The freeway was built very close to on top of this old hotel. Outside the front entrance you can look up and practically be underneath the freeway onramp.
We had a corner room which was clean, decent size and looked newly redecorated. It was very noisy from the freeway and air conditioning. We had asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel but by the time we checked in they only had a few rooms available. I don't really think there is a quiet part of the hotel anyway. There was a small microwave and fridge. The tub/shower had the newer style rounded shower rod but there were black spots of mold along the grouting. The king size mattress was by far the softest, least supportive mattress I've ever had the displeasure to sleep on. You can sit on the edge and almost slide off!
We did eat at the restaurant for breakfast. It was ok, the fruit was fresh and food ok. We left thinking at least we aren't hungry to start the day. The staff is pretty indifferent to the guests, interacting when they need to but don't go out of their way to acknowledge you. I would think the staff is just in survival mode having to work in that environment all day, every day.
Bottom line: if you stay there bring ear plugs, ask for a newly renovated room and move on quickly! We were there less than 10 hours and I couldn't wait to leave and take my headache with me! Next time I find myself with a short layover in Honolulu I would seriously analyze the time lost and hassle of staying downtown or staying close to the airport and not sleeping anyway!
There is a small swimming pool in a courtyard area, even out there it was too noisy to enjoy the pool.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs no matter where your room is located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Do NOT be fooled by the professional photos posted on this hotels website. This facility is the grungy brown building in the front. Dirty and Disgusting. Rooms looks as though they have been 'renovated' by someone trapped in the 80's, using second-hand materials and wallpaper (which was peeling off the walls). Air-conditioning is loud and messy; power cords held together with electrical tape. Our door did not work, leaving our bags and belonging (including passports) trapped inside the room while we were forced to wait outside for maintenance to show up.
Do yourself a favour and find some place else to stay.

Room Tip: Tip to finding a good room: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for reviewing the BW The Plaza Hotel. Begining this year we enhanced the front of the building by changing the awning to a blue color to brighten the beige color building. We also enhanced our lobby with new furnings and light fixtures. Please accept our apologies for the maintence problems you experienced and please be assured that a follow up occured with the room as soon as you checked out (a report was produced by Housekeeping and Front Desk). We pride ourselves with personalized aloha hospitality and we make sure our rooms are clean and maintenance free, we hope you will give us another opportunity to prove this to you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed our close (5min or less) location to the airport and took advantage of the 24 hour complimentary shuttle service. Mahalo Nui Loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Decent Hotel near airport. People were nice and place was clean. Best of all it was easy to get into airport for early flight. Free Internet.

Not a vacation venue, area is commercial. Good for a quick overnight prior to flight.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked with Hotwire and was told this would be a three star hotel. It is not 3 stars and is only 2 stars. I was ripped off! Hotel is old and has noisy air conditioning. Windows do not seal and there was wind noise all night. Trade winds are normal in Hawaii and it was not unusually windy. Waste of money. The photo of the hotel looks to be another hotel and even though the website says it has been renovated??, maybe painted only? Tired and old!
Only good part was courtious and efficient shuttle driver.
Waste of money.

Room Tip: We faced the runway complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for reviewing us. We apologize that you were misinformed by Hotwire as we are indeed a 2 stars property. Our property has an aggressive maintenance program in place to upkeep the property and we are disappointed that your experience did not reflect that.
We will share your valuable feedbacks with our team and work on our shortcomings.

We hope your stay in Hawaii was memorable and we look forward to your return to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.