We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, very noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Shanghai
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Old, very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Directly at some elevated highways, due to thin glas, very noisy. Take earplugs.
Quite expensive also.
Staff rather unfriendly. Forgot to give us vouchers for breakfast. When we asked, first reply was "continental breakfast is not for free"; checking our reservation cleared things up. Friendly and helpful drivers. There are free phones in arrival halls at airport to call hotel for free shuttle bus pickup.
Pool is quite old and well, noisy. so forget about relaxing. Taxi to Waikiki are 35 USD; bus would stop close to hotel for USD 2,5.
free WLAN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    205
    183
    86
    64
See reviews for
164
204
67
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

In a word, our family's stay at this Best Western was disappointing. The furniture in room was old and scratched. The bathroom/shower had no exhaust fan. A queen sized bed would be expected but only a double bed was furnished.The refrigerator was very tiny and in an out-of-the-way location in the room. No breakfast was offered. At the rate of $192.00/night/3 people, I will not go there again.

Room Tip: For travelers, a hotel offering breakfast service should be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the BW Plaza in Mid September. I chose this knowing it was an airport hotel/ motel and not a resort. My daughter is stationed on Oahu and was being promoted to CPO. I wanted to be there and have as little impact on her as possible. The prompt and courteous airport shuttle service made this possible. The clientele appears to be mostly transient military. The staff and guests were friendly. The pool was a little on the chilly side for this Florida native, but certainly acceptable and clean. A little heavy on the chlorine, but that's to be expected. The surrounding area seems to be safe and I had no problem wandering about. The choice of nearby restaurants is lacking. I did have breakfast at the Plaza. I thought it was a little expensive, but this is in Honolulu and everything seems expensive. While situated right on a major highway, I did not notice any disturbing external noise. The free WiFi was high speed with a steady flow. I saw folks booking in at all hours of the day without issue. Parking was free for registered guests. Location was convenient for pick up and drop off from my daily excursions. There were no hassles at all and it was a very easy trip for a whirlwind weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed one night in the Best Western The Plaza Hotel before flying home.
When we arrived at around 1 pm, one room was ready and the next room was beeing cleaned.(We had booked two rooms since we where 4 people traveling.)

Nice beds to sleep in, air conditioning was working ok, but in one of the rooms the plastic from the control was loose, but after some fideling we also got that one to run.

The hotel is very close to the highway, so there are some noise from there, but not as much as I expected after reading the initial reviews (with window closed of course)

Beds was very comfortable, and also the bathroom was in a good condition (nothing to complain about here)

The hotell is very close to a gas station, fast food place, and after an additional 5-10 min walk there was a very good Big Kauna Pizza place (together with a mini mart and some other restaurants).

We did not use the pool (but it looked cozy) nor the restaurant.

The hotel has a small minimart of its own which has most basic stuff you can need during your stay.

And the free shuttle from and to the airport was very good. (Even though the luggage handling was a bit cramped when the shuttle was loaded to its max capacity).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerGMHonolulu, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experience with The Plaza Hotel. We pride ourselves with excellent service, clean accomodations and personal service - thank you for staying with us. Our complimentary shuttle service to the Honolulu International Airport makes our location convienent and attractive to many international guests - Mahalo for your business. We hope you will return and stay with us when you return to Honolulu or on your way to Sweden. With our warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

makes this excellent for late night arrival, regrouping, general travel fatigue sitting next to those billion horsepowered engines, I walked fifteen minutes to shake out middle seat, straight-jacket syndrome on a 6 hour flight (the longest allowed anywhere over water for start-finish flights) arriving over the darkest waters. Standard older time fittings but sleep and air coming-in the suicide window too tight for anything but a nose, yummy air.

Room Tip: DON'T EAT BREAKFAST HERE, cafe under Nimitz Highway sounds like hurricane. Ask for room in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Best Western the Plaza was our home for 11-days after moving to Hawaii from Virginia! The entire staff was awesome. Housekeeping was quick, efficient, and pleasant. The front desk staff (Rose and everyone else...EVERYONE!) was proactive. Immedidately on check-in they realized I should be in a lower room rate with extra benefits that I was not signed up for and they immediately shifted me to the correct benefits package. The restaurant staff was phenomenal. Quick service with a smile and great advice about living in Hawaii. If you are military, Les Nishimura is a hotel military liasion that will help you with any questions about benefits and hotel options. This hotel is clean, close to Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam and other areas, and avoids the tourist areas if you are trying to relocate in a more peaceful and accessible environment.

Room Tip: If you are military and relocating, ensure you let them know you are relocating so that they can ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We are glad that you found our location easily acessible as we are located close to most military bases on the island.
We are happy that you chose our hotel to be your first home in Honolulu and we are thankful that we have a lot of military guests staying with us. Our staff is very knowledgeable on the protocols and procedures for TLA imbursements, especially our inhouse military liaison 'Les" which seperate us from all other hotels on the island.

We hope you have smoothly settled in your new home and you will always be a part of our "OHANA" (Family).

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late off international flight. Comp airport service is great. Arrived to room to find TV did not work. Had to unplug alarm clock to plug in coffee maker. Felt like a shortage of power outlets and it was an inconvenience to turn something on. Great for if you want something convenient and basic.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.