We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping under the freeway...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #65 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sleeping under the freeway...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I read that this hotel was near the freeway but I didn't think it was really under the freeway!!! We were so close if a car came off the freeway it would have been in our room no problem! It was noisy and that's the truth!! I think if you ask for a room on the other side of the hotel it would be better!! We were on the 7th floor in the corner so we had a view of the freeway, the car rental lot, and warehouse area. The room was pretty clean if you didn't look real close at the shower tiles and the bathroom door that was peeling. The people at the desk were very friendly and helped us alot with transfers to the cruise ship...which was really close! For the money and the time we spent there it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    169
    168
    77
    60
See reviews for
145
178
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The air conditioner is on all the time and there is nothing anyone can do about it. We were offered one additional blanket per person but that is of little help when the room is very cold, especially before bedtime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel once before. It is close to Pearl Harbor and away from Waikiki. It's a great place to stay to save money on Oahu. The rooms are clean and well-kept. We were given a corner room facing the ocean (which is off in the distance) and the airport. The room was huge, and we didn't notice the airport noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing the ocean ("makai"). Front of building faces the Nimitz High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I've recently been relocated to Hawaii with the service and required to stay at the plaza hotel. I was nervous about adapting to the new culture, but it only took about 2 days for the good people at the plaza hotel to make this feel like home. Frank the bus driver has his assignment mastered, and is very efficient with transporting you whenever you need. The front desk team of Cherae, Rose, and sometimes Cecelia were outstanding. During my stay, I've found myself at the front desk receiving lessons on Hawaii and the culture, as well as just passing time making conversation. I could not recommend a more welcoming yet proffessional crew.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is right under the freeway and he hotel room windows are single pane sliders. So unless you sleep like a log you might consider another hotel. It is nice and close to the airport and the staff was pleasant...but the towels smelled and it was imPossible to change the thermostat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Aloha and Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping discrepancies in your room, thank you for bringing them to our attention so we can address them accordingly.
The hotel is indeed located by the highway but we do have quiet rooms that face away from the highway. Our staff normally can accomodate quiet room request if guest's are flexible with their bedding type.
We are gald that you found our location to be convenient and thank you for acknowledging our staff.
We hope your trip to Oahu was pleasant and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay for business and/or pleasure! The hotel is not in Waikiki... but is close enough and just enough away to enjoy your stay! If you do stay I recommend that you get a room away from the H1 Highway... (A bit noisy) Other than that they just replaced the TV's to flat screens and the place is very pleasant!

I also received awesome service from Rose and Cherae! (Please ask for them if they are working that day! They will show you Aloha! )

Room Tip: Request rooms away from the H1 Highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Aloha and Mahalo for your time on reviewing us. We are happy that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our front desk staff, they always strive to make our guests feel comfortable and provide personalized service.

Our hotel is located on the bus route which makes visiting attractions around the island very convenient. The bus fare is only $2.50 and it reaches most areas on Oahu.

Mahalo again for staying with us and we hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Cecilia at the front desk was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.