We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Izakaya Gaku

Sushi Izakaya Gaku
1329 S King St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2341
808-589-1329
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #20 of 1,885 restaurants in Honolulu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

If you love sushi this place is awesome. Sit at the counter and ask the chef to do omakase, they are very friendly and unpretentious. I love thr moi( not sure how to spell it but have it lol) all cuts really good even the plain maguro. They have a cooked menue, have not hsd much except the Hamachi Kama and its not to be missed! Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    63
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best japanese food I have had so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I arrived on a Tuesday night without a reservation which was a mistake since they were fully booked but they offered to call me when a table opens up which we took up. An hour later we were seated and had the tough choice on choosing from their vast and unique menu. We had 3 different servers talk to us and they all were pretty informative. We choose the tatar, mackerel poke, assorted sashimi, calms in sake and the grilled butterfish. Everything was fresh and delicious, the toro fish in the sashimi platter just melted in my mouth! I also loved the tatar which was different but it tasted amazing. All the chefs are japanese so that's a good sign. I loved this gem of a spot but be sure to make a reservation and as tourist we found this place situated in such a not so great neighbourhood.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner - Everything was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I came here on a Saturday night as a solo traveler. Arrived around 5:30 and stayed until about 8 trying all sorts of small plates, appetizers, and sushi. My waiter was pretty friendly and made some good suggestions on what to try. I was able to do half order portions on most menu items, so I got in a lot of variety, while sparing the stomach space and wallet pains.

My bill came out to around $70 (included some sake too), and I honestly wish that I had spent more. This is the type of place where if you aren't careful, your bill will really add up quick. I probably could have gone through everything on the menu and not been happy with each dish.

Highlights:
Hamachi tartar, Salmon belly, moi, aji, Toro (tried a few cooked variants, but the original on the sushi menu was my favorite)

Bonus tip:
My driver lived in Japan for a number of years and caters tours for Japanese visiting Honolulu. When I told him where I was going, he said that it was one of his favorite spots.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Get in front of chef and he will wow you if you give him the chance and want more than california roll.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Talk about real sushi! YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for a genuine sushi place (I lived in Japan for 10 years - I know real sushi) with fair prices and excellent quality, look no further. We (couple) spent $190 and ate so many things that I'm sure to forget some, but they included fresh Otoro (tuna belly), Ika (squid) tako (octopus), hamachi, an amazing tartar dish, and so many other dishes. The price was fair. Not cheap, but fair. Much better than other rip-off commercial places around town. When I return to Honolulu, I'll return to this place for awesome authentic sushi over any other. YUM! The sushi portions were a nice size. The rice, sushi, and wasabe was perfectly balanced. You're in for a treat if you like otoro - it's the best I've ever had, including what I've had in Japan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Izakaya Gaku also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Izakaya Gaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Izakaya Gaku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.