We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing Italian” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taormina Sicilian Cuisine

Taormina Sicilian Cuisine
227 Lewers St, Ste 100, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1944 (Waikiki)
808-926-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taormina Sicilian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Don Ho
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“Very disappointing Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wanting a break from fish and sushi in Honolulu, we selected Italian. However, the Sicilian emphasis apparently means primarily seafood with a little pasta thrown in. The wine selection was overpriced, as were the menu items - even by Waikiki standards. A $25 lasagna was too huge and too one note and too oily to consume much of. Clearly the chef did not have diners in mind; it should have been 1/4 the size and offered with some side that cut the overwhelming cheese/fat. We also tried a tuna pasta dish - while the pasta was perfectly prepared, the fishy taste was too one note and overpowering to consume the whole dish. We gave dessert a stab, but a flan and a vanilla gelato were a miss as well - they did not go together and the flan was only average. They did have some nice bread selections, and the service was okay, but overall this was a very costly and not very enjoyable meal. Having dined in Italian restaurants many places in the world, this was a disappointment to us. The restaurant was also very crowded with limited seating; although we had a reservation it was clear they wanted to turn the tables as quickly as possible. Would not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    121
    45
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Put it on your List!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We craved some Italian and after looking at the menu this looked like a good bet. The place was full and there was a 90 minute wait but hey that is usually the sign of a pretty good place, I am glad we waited. The atmosphere was very nice, the service attentive and the food was very tasty. My frutti di mare featured ample seafood perfectly done, the chicken with brown butter sauce that my wife ordered was exceptional and her sister reported that her classic bolognese was delicious.
The chef is apparently Japanese but he has cooking Italian figured out. We had some excellent meals on our visit to Italy but this meal in Honolulu ranks with the best of them. I was impressed put it on your list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This restaurant is a great option if you are looking for Italian. They have lunch specials that include salad and desert and are very well priced, particularly if you are tired of the overpriced touristy restaurants in the area. We ate upstairs which was a lovely room with only 6 tables, here is a downstairs space and i believe a courtyard area as well. Service was cheerful and competent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

After visiting Italy 4 weeks ago and of Italian descent. I must say the food was authentic Italuan, regardless if they were Japanese chefs, they were great chefs You don't have to be Italuan to cook Italian. We shared the seafood bruschetta, squid ink pasta, spaghetti pescatore and finished off with a great macchiato and a cannoli for desert. I was delighted. I would recommend to my family and friends. Best food I'veh had whilst in Hawaii.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Delicious home style cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited Taormina Sicilian Cuisine early on our trip to Waikiki. Craving a bowl of pasta, Taormina didn't disappoint. The appetizers of tuna sashimi and grilled squid were beautiful and our pasta's (Bolognese alla Siciliana and Black pasta 'frutti di mare') were like they were made from home. The wait staff were highly knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taormina Sicilian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Taormina Sicilian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taormina Sicilian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.