We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood and chocolate soufflé - omg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Waikiki Beach

Roy's Waikiki Beach
226 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikiki Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,789 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Melbourne,Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seafood and chocolate soufflé - omg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a special birthday dinner there for one of our family so we had 3 courses which was amazing. Wonderful service and everyone loved their meal. The chocolate soufflé was a big hit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    411
    151
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Didn't rock our world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We dined here on a busy Friday night, and found it to be a mildly disappointing experience. Showed up early for our reservation, and they were kind enough to oblige us by seating us early.

However, when we got to the main dining room, it was an instant buzzkill. The room looks like a 1980's chain restaurant, from the neutral colors to the booth bench with dead springs. At least they did dim the lights as to mute the effect.....

We ordered the appetizer sampler, and I had the opah while my wife ordered the ribs. Since she can't eat sushi, we asked the waiter if he could substitute the roll with whatever item they chose. He acted as if he was doing us a major favor, and after 10 minutes, came back and said that the chef would do it. Well, apparently he waited until then to place the rest of it because the appetizer came back 40 minutes later! As for the food itself, it was a mixed bag, as the crab cakes were excellent but the other two were pedestrian.

Right after we finished up the appetizers, the entrees came, and we were underwhelmed yet again. The fish was fine but nothing earth-shattering in either flavor or quality. My wife's ribs were a tick better, but again, there were no overwhelming flavors or something to exemplify.

The only people who were on point the entire meal were the busboys, who came by every five minutes to pour us water, which became a bit annoying after a while. Prices were also on the high side - had the food merited the reputation of the restaurant, I wouldn't have minded so much, but in light of the experience we had, they were steep.

For a nice night out in Waikiki, there are plenty of options - for what we paid and the meal we had, I wish we chose another restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wonderful service and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Roy's gets great reviews and our visit was no exception, the staff were good, the food was wonderful and the atmosphere was comfortable

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Fusion….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Try EVERY appetizer on the list; after that perhaps an entre. The BEEF has real flavor as opposed to corn stuffed cattle from the mainland. Also, try the small desserts…similar to the ones across the street and on the corner of Lewers and Ala Moana. Try that restaurant for lunch! Wishing you simply the best, Coach...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Impressions Make Lasting Impressions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed dining at Roy's Waikiki on previous trips to Honolulu; however, we have not enjoyed our experiences this year. The first time we attended this trip (on December 29,2013), we called for a reservation but could not get in (at 5 pm when they open). We were told they accept "walk-ins" so we went over. We were greeted by a hostess who offered us a table outside instead of inside their empty restaurant. We asked if there was another table they could offer, and another hostess promptly indicated we could have a table inside. The restaurant - as noted - was empty at 5 pm so we weren't quite sure why we were being told we had to eat outside vs. inside. The dinner was good as usual. However, the experience of being offered a terrible table was repeated on January 5 (we had dined there on New Years Eve with no trouble as we had a reservation). Again we called for a reservation shortly before 5 pm but were told that they could not offer a reservation; however, we were told we could come over for a "walk in" table. We arrived at 4:55 pm (before other diners who came after us and were seated before us). We waited until 5:15 pm to then be offered a table in their waiting area. We know their dining room is not busy at 5 pm so we asked if we could have a table in the main dining room. The server checked with the same hostess that had offered us the "outside" table on our previous experience, and came back and told us that the only table available was the table in the waiting area (when their restaurant as noted was empty). Needless to say, we did not dine there. We did call back and speak to one of the managers as the hostess they have working the front has been rude and really has left a poor impression with any of us who have dined at Roy's regularly in the past. We held for 5 to 10 minutes to speak to him, and had to leave a message. He did call back, and the only explanation we got was that the hostess was someone new working the front and the "book". He stated that being told that we could "walk in" was as good as a reservation, and that we should have been offered a table in the main dining room inside of in the waiting area. He stated he would speak to his hostess. We asked him to call us back --- he never did. He agreed with our concerns, but offered nothing beyond telling us to come back and drop his name. I suppose we would be treated well if we did; however, why would we return to a restaurant where you have to ''drop" a manager's name to get a table in the main dining room and be treated politely and courteously by a rude hostess. Based on the treatment that the hostess has given us this trip, we have no interest in dining at Roy's again. The food might be good; however, we are tired of being offered crap seating in an empty restaurant. Roy's should do a better job selecting and training its hostesses as we won't be back this trip. Hence, my review title - "first impression make lasting ones" - the front of the house is just as important as the food and service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.