We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Waikiki Beach

Roy's Waikiki Beach
226 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Waikiki Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,918 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Viareggio, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Location could not be better, right on the beach. rather pricey but in line with prices in Waikiki for this level of restaurants. Food is fine, considering the large number of tourists they cater for it was much better than other places we tried. Very crowded place, very noisy but tables near the beach are quiter and allow you to have a conversation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    325
    118
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Every time we are in Waikiki, we will be here for our first day arrival & the last night in Waikiki. Twice in a trip! How delicious is that!

Their food are delicious. We tried the one in LA, San Diego & Kauai, Maui..... We still love this one in Waikiki.
Staff are very friendly, you will never running out your water or soft drink!
Best buy is their tasting menu. $46 you taste the best from the menu.
Specially, their dessert are the best in Waikiki.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sophisticated but unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time dining at Roy's. It is sophisticated dining, sure, but you don't need a dictionary to interpret the menu. The entree tasting plate was lovely. The blackened Ahi and chicken with papaya slaw and sticky rice for mains were beautiful and the caramel banana bread pudding was surprisingly light and all kinds of good. At the pricey end but not overpriced for the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“All-Around Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited my son who lives in Honolulu the week before Christmas 2012. My daughter, knowing about my trip, gave us a Roy's gift card as a gift. We were staying a few days at the Ko'olina Resort but opted not to go to the local Roy's. we visited the one in Waikiki. It was phenominal. We were seated quickly having made a reservation earlier that day. We sat outside and it was wonderful. The appetizers, wine and meal was the best! I had the filet mignon and it was so very tender and full of flavor. The service was outstanding. Just an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Glad to Come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I used to go to Roy's when I lived in Atlanta, but they closed down after a few years. Since then I had been wanting to go back, so when my friend had his birthday party here I was excited for it. It did not miss a beat. I loved the food and went home full and happy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.