We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool!”
Review of Roy's Waikiki Beach

226 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-7697
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 1,885 restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    797
    274
    99
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Roy's Waikiki Beach
See the most recent reviews
Viareggio, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Location could not be better, right on the beach. rather pricey but in line with prices in Waikiki for this level of restaurants. Food is fine, considering the large number of tourists they cater for it was much better than other places we tried. Very crowded place, very noisy but tables near the beach are quiter and allow you to have a conversation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Every time we are in Waikiki, we will be here for our first day arrival & the last night in Waikiki. Twice in a trip! How delicious is that!

Their food are delicious. We tried the one in LA, San Diego & Kauai, Maui..... We still love this one in Waikiki.
Staff are very friendly, you will never running out your water or soft drink!
Best buy is their tasting menu. $46 you taste the best from the menu.
Specially, their dessert are the best in Waikiki.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sophisticated but unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time dining at Roy's. It is sophisticated dining, sure, but you don't need a dictionary to interpret the menu. The entree tasting plate was lovely. The blackened Ahi and chicken with papaya slaw and sticky rice for mains were beautiful and the caramel banana bread pudding was surprisingly light and all kinds of good. At the pricey end but not overpriced for the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
“All-Around Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visited my son who lives in Honolulu the week before Christmas 2012. My daughter, knowing about my trip, gave us a Roy's gift card as a gift. We were staying a few days at the Ko'olina Resort but opted not to go to the local Roy's. we visited the one in Waikiki. It was phenominal. We were seated quickly having made a reservation earlier that day. We sat outside and it was wonderful. The appetizers, wine and meal was the best! I had the filet mignon and it was so very tender and full of flavor. The service was outstanding. Just an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Glad to Come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I used to go to Roy's when I lived in Atlanta, but they closed down after a few years. Since then I had been wanting to go back, so when my friend had his birthday party here I was excited for it. It did not miss a beat. I loved the food and went home full and happy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.