We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshness!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle's Fish Market & Grill

Uncle's Fish Market & Grill
1135 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808-275-0063
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freshness!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wonderful FRESH Mahi-Mahi right from Pier 38 fisherman. Nancy (our server) was on it and made it special. 10 min from airport so made it easy to get there for short layover. A definite thumbs up!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    70
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and superb seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

As so many have noted, this is a great place to have local seafood. We had the excellent but quite large Poke appetizer - you better be a raw tuna lover (which we are) and go light on the main meal (which we did not) if there are only 2 of you eating. We enjoyed the seafood special of the day (lots of succulent scallops and gently cooked shrimp) and the snapper. Wine prices were reasonable. Low key atmosphere, casual dress, interesting slides and film about the old style fishing industry in Hawaii played on overhead monitors. Some of the best fresh seafood we have had the pleasure to enjoy in Hawaii.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Like the Changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Love the changes made to their menu, seating and serving arrangements. There dishes are a lot more consistent that across the street at Nico's. You are much more likely to order a fish dish here, which meets one's expectation rather the sauced to a point of trying to guess what the chef was thinking in creating the dish.

I believe an earlier review said it best "Simply Excellent"...even though it does not have the ambiance that is available across the street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canim Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This afternoon we saw some Advertising on TV for Uncle's! It was tempting to try it out. We arrived there at 5:15PM and had no Problem to get a Table.

The meals was simple Perfect. Not to fancy - actually quite reasonable priced. You could fast the fish is coming in fresh on a daily base! I highly recommend this place!

Watch for the tiny Sign on the left hand "Pier 38 Fishmarket

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Come here for seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The selection at Uncle's Fish Market and Grill is extensive. It was difficult to choose what we wanted. We had the garlic ahi and a combo (which sad to say I forget exactly which combo it was). The food was delicious and the presentation well done. We also had the mango chiffon cake which was delicious as well. I don't think you could go wrong with anything you would choose. The total price was $44, which may be a bit high, but considering everything is a bit higher in Hawaii, might not be out of line.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle's Fish Market & Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Uncle's Fish Market & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle's Fish Market & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.