We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool to see bullet holes from Pearl Harbor attack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
319 Lexington Blvd, Historic Ford Island, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
+1 808-441-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$129*
and up
Private Tour: Pearl Harbor Experience
Ranked #25 of 255 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII. Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war's youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You'll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed cafe Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum's mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cool to see bullet holes from Pearl Harbor attack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Aviation Museum was pretty cool. It's not real big but you can get right close up and touch the aircraft. Make sure and go back to the hanger behind the museum to see the original bullet holes in the windows and door from the attack on Pearl Harbor. They also have different types of aircraft in this hanger.

If you're short on time at Pearl Harbor I would recommend seeing the other sites there first as I think they are more interesting and definitely more historical, but if you have time, the Aviation Museum is worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Unexpectedly really interesting!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Ok so of all the things on my tour this day I was least excited about this one! But! I was wrong!! It's actually really cool with a lot of things to look at and learn about!!! The hangers are original and were on that same spot during the pearl harbor attack! There are still bullet holes in the glass!!! I just thought that was cool. There are other bits and pieces of history around there along with so many stories!! Stories of that era that you may not hear just in the usual history class. I really enjoyed it!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindzard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
178 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still in the works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

the is a wonderful museum (at least of what there is so far). sadly we made it at a time where there still setting up planes still under reconstruction. but what we did see was awesome if your already on ford island check it out. i must admit seeing some of the planes in war condition was really neat also. we saw this crashed bomber still as it was when it crashed some 70 years ago really cool. Gift shop had outrageous prices make sure to get your little trinkets at the main pearl harbor gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShadowAce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Planes up close and well designed site ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was a bit afraid of the ticket price for this site, but I'm very glad I was able to go. I really decided to go based on the chance to see real actual damage to one of their hangers from the raid on Pearl harbor. It was neat to stand and see the actual bullet holes (likely from friendly fire actually) and feel connected to the place. What I liked about the museum was that the plans are not roped off a mile away like some places, and it was nice to get right up next to the planes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lonewulf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Start of something promising”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think this museum has the makings of something good in the future.

My son really enjoyed his two visits here, including giving me an in depth presentation of the action on 7 December 1941 in front of the painting of Ford Island at the start of the exhibition.

Hopefully in the future they will do a better job of presenting the aircraft in Hanger 79 & outdoors.

Many thanks too for the wheelchair (knee injury on top of mobility problems)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing