We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool to see bullet holes from Pearl Harbor attack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
319 Lexington Blvd, Hanger 37, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
808-441-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$99*
and up
Ranked #25 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: History museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII.Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war’s youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You’ll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed café Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum’s mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cool to see bullet holes from Pearl Harbor attack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Aviation Museum was pretty cool. It's not real big but you can get right close up and touch the aircraft. Make sure and go back to the hanger behind the museum to see the original bullet holes in the windows and door from the attack on Pearl Harbor. They also have different types of aircraft in this hanger.

If you're short on time at Pearl Harbor I would recommend seeing the other sites there first as I think they are more interesting and definitely more historical, but if you have time, the Aviation Museum is worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    167
    66
    23
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Unexpectedly really interesting!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Ok so of all the things on my tour this day I was least excited about this one! But! I was wrong!! It's actually really cool with a lot of things to look at and learn about!!! The hangers are original and were on that same spot during the pearl harbor attack! There are still bullet holes in the glass!!! I just thought that was cool. There are other bits and pieces of history around there along with so many stories!! Stories of that era that you may not hear just in the usual history class. I really enjoyed it!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Still in the works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

the is a wonderful museum (at least of what there is so far). sadly we made it at a time where there still setting up planes still under reconstruction. but what we did see was awesome if your already on ford island check it out. i must admit seeing some of the planes in war condition was really neat also. we saw this crashed bomber still as it was when it crashed some 70 years ago really cool. Gift shop had outrageous prices make sure to get your little trinkets at the main pearl harbor gift shop.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Planes up close and well designed site ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was a bit afraid of the ticket price for this site, but I'm very glad I was able to go. I really decided to go based on the chance to see real actual damage to one of their hangers from the raid on Pearl harbor. It was neat to stand and see the actual bullet holes (likely from friendly fire actually) and feel connected to the place. What I liked about the museum was that the plans are not roped off a mile away like some places, and it was nice to get right up next to the planes

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Start of something promising”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think this museum has the makings of something good in the future.

My son really enjoyed his two visits here, including giving me an in depth presentation of the action on 7 December 1941 in front of the painting of Ford Island at the start of the exhibition.

Hopefully in the future they will do a better job of presenting the aircraft in Hanger 79 & outdoors.

Many thanks too for the wheelchair (knee injury on top of mobility problems)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.