We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
319 Lexington Blvd, Hanger 37, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
808-441-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 157 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII.Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war’s youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You’ll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed café Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum’s mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a wonderful place to go and visit especially if you are interested in history and airplanes. We had a great time here and I loved the gift shop. It had quite a lot of different things to get and for all ages. I did my fair share there. We were there at lunch time so we went in the the cafe and had a great lunch. It was a real fun place to stop by and check out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    135
    57
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Little Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very interesting experience to see all the old aircrafts that are linked to American History. Excellent to be able to hear from survivors of the Pearl Harbour Attack and their experience. Plenty to see and do.

Only down side, I was quite ill not to long after eating from the cafe there. The food was ordinary, I would suggest taking your own if going to be there over the lunch period.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“For plane bluffs, but stop if you have a combination ticket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We initially hadn't planned to visit the Pacific Aviation Museum, but had a bit of spare time before the USS Arizona memorial tour, so stopped off on the way back from USS Missouri. The museum is fairly low key, but has informative signs and displays with life-size models in uniform. We didn't get as much of a sense of history as the other attractions. Due to time constraints, we didn’t do the guided tour (extra $), visit the second hanger or watch the movie.

There is a good gift shop with plane-related items for sale. Out the front is the distinctive red and white striped fire tower that appeared in the Pearl Harbor movie, and an old red fire engine. Rated average for me and the kids, but my husband who's interested in planes would say "very good".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very cool if you love planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited here and bought the guided tour. Well worth the money and the guide was very informative. They have some very nice displays and worth seeing. The restaurant here was very nice with decent food. Their are a couple coupons in a local tourist guide book, that got you a free flight simulator ride with the purchase of entry. We used two coupons in the book so my husband and son did the flight simulator and both really enjoyed that as well. My husband is an aviation buff, so he really enjoyed spending time here. I am a movie buff, loved seeing the hangar and air tower that was in the movie Pearl Harbor. Worth the visit. Souvenir shop was nice, but had steep prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Really good museum. It has several displays both inside and out. They also just acquired and restoring one of the B17's that was arriving on the day of the Pearl Harbor Attack. It was downed during the war and finally recovered and shipped to them to restore.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.