We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gyu-Kaku Waikiki

Gyu-Kaku Waikiki
307 Lewers St,, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-926-2989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 1,792 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had no idea Japanese BBQ existed (well, I did, just not the Gyu-Kaku chain). Fun little experience and a great place to try with your friends. If you're not into uncooked meats, don't come here though...but if you enjoy something different, this is the place!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    17
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Immature/inexperienced employees, misleading information, bad experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our family is vacationing in Honolulu and had planned on visiting this eatery after seeing a coupon for this restaurant in our entertainment book and the good reviews. We are definitely, more than disappointed with the service and food! The establishment is small and employed with waiters(waitresses)/hostesses who seem to be inexperienced and unresponsive to customer's needs and they wholly expressed no desire to provide assistance if you were not ordering much! Throughout the course of the meal, we were not provided with any further help unless they were delivering our order. Aside from that, there was no extra service for anything whatsoever, nor acknowledgement of any kind. The food was substandard (not including the food that was burnt and inedible!) and lacked any initiative to explain that they would not honor our coupons as stated until we asked for our bill! Definitely not worth my time or money!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its' just like Korean BBQ, but Japanese style. The food was great, and the price was high, but there are happy-hour specials with big discounts if you don't mind eating late. Staff were very friendly and helpful too. I even didn't mind the beef tongue, and I hate beef tongue. The steak, shrimp, and chicken were awesome. The ahi poke was easily the best poke I've had on the islands.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exellent choise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Food was excellent. You could order small portiones like Japanese tapas and taste lots of different things. Tuna salad for a starter was perfect. Also ahi was one of our favourites. You cook your food by your self on your table. Waiter was a fan of Children of bodom and he told they had also visited that restaurant. After our visit he knows they are not from USA but from Finland!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Incredible 5 Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This was a special treat and my second visit to this restaurant. We came during happy hour and the prices were awesome.

Our server Britteny was fantastic. Brent always ensured we had everything we needed. The restaurant is lucky to have these two team members.

The food was fantastic and ambience was peaceful yet energetic. A must have in Waikiki. Please open more Canadian locations.

My favorite restaurant this whole trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gyu-Kaku Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.