We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay with families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 Beach Bucks
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Cheshire Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay with families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Great location, lovely big rooms , modern. Nice pool. Breakfasts included tasty! Friendly staff. Couldn't be improved upon in waikiki with kids!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    529
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
997
378
41
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Endwell, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites....great central location, across the street from beach, great breakfast buffet and wonderful happy hour!! Lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We enjoyed our hike to the top of Diamond Head...views are incredible, the maze at the Dole Planation, the Arizona Memorial, touring the Missouri, snorkeling at Hanauma Bay breathtaking. We found having a car rental a must. We drove to beautiful beaches: Bellows Beach, Waimanalo Beach, Sandy Beach, Halona Blow Hole. What a beautiful island! The staff at the Embassy Suites was very friendly!! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Our family of 5 redeemed Hilton points to stay 3 nights at the Embassy Suites as the final few days of our Hawaiian vacation. We had a great experience and would return to this property.

We were in a one bedroom one bath unit which was quite small compared to other Embassy Suites we've stayed in. For a longer stay the small space could have been a problem, but it worked for only three nights. Interestingly, we were told (very politely) upon check in that the max occupancy for the room is four people, but they'd let it slide this time. Just thought that was odd considering we've stayed in Miami, New York City, San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Irvine, CA in one bedroom units and have never been told that. One of the kids did sleep on the floor as the pull out couch is pretty small.

While this property isn't beachfront, it is only one block from the beach - maybe a three minute walk at most. There are tons of places to eat within easy walking distance as well as two ABC stores on the same block for sunscreen, snacks, souvenirs, etc...

Free breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices. Lots of crowds and hungry birds too, but nothing that seriously bothered me.

A few tips: you can see the Friday night fireworks (courtesy of the Hilton) from the pool area. Just be sure to be on time as they start on time and last only 5 - 10 mins. Also, the line for the bar and complimentary drinks nightly looks intimidating, but moves quickly. Bartenders were very generous with the alcohol and very friendly. Be sure to take the elevator to the top floor and go out on the tiny balcony area for a beautiful view of the ocean and Waikiki. Last, if this is your first time to Waikiki, please don't expect a tranquil, peaceful paradise. Waikiki is a big city with tall buildings, honking horns, yelling people, etc.. The area around the hotel is no exception.

Overall, this property was clean, well maintained, a good value, a good location and run by a friendly staff. It's not a resort hotel or one for those looking for pampering or oceanfront location, but otherwise I think most everyone would be pleased with it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at the Embassy for the first four nights of our honeymoon and would definitely recommend it to others. I have read many other reviews on this site nit picking some little things, but I would strongly suggest this to travelers for all purposes. Upon arrival we were promptly greeted with a cold glass of fresh juice and many alohas. They allowed us to check in early with no questions asked and check in took a very short amount of time. The concierge was very helpful in suggesting places to dine as well, I believe Kari was her name, was even helpful in suggesting things to do in Maui as we continued our honeymoon there.

The rooms were very clean and had more than enough room for the two of us. There were no closets as mentioned before but there was a desk that you could set a suitcase on as well as floor room to utilize. Our view was decent and was of the city skyline. We were located next to the elevator but it didn't pose a problem for us as we were on the 18th floor and not many people were staying above us. If you were to get a room ending in 01 on a lower level I would suggest requesting another room away from the elevator.

They offer complimentary breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening. The breakfast is fantastic and offers many options. They had a build your own omelette station that they prepare for you, pancakes, French toast, cereal, fresh fruits, potatoes, yogurt, bacon, sausage, pasteries…the list goes on and on. The seating is outside both covered and uncovered so there are birds that hang around in hopes of landing some food but aren’t too troublesome. The manager’s reception in the evening offers a wide selection of beer, liquor and the tropical drinks you would expect to find in Hawaii. They also had chips and salsa available as well as live entertainment that was very enjoyable and personable.

The pool area is located on the 4th floor where the free breakfast and drinks are served and is keep immaculate. The pool in and of itself is nothing special but more than enough to accommodate the many guests. We went down to the pool early one morning and found the staff scrubbing the sides of the pool. They take great care of the grounds.

We dined at The Yardhouse several times over the course of our stay because they had an AWESOME happy hour that started at 2 and included half price drinks, appetizers and pizzas. The selection is huge and the atmosphere is excellent. It was one of the first places mentioned by others when we asked for suggestions on where to eat and we totally understand why.

The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to anything you want to do in Waikiki such as the International Marketplace, the beach, many different higher scale shops, restaurants, etc.

I have read in other reviews complaints on it not being higher class or not being right on the beach and I don’t understand why. The rooms were more than enough for the two of us and we really didn’t even take full advantage of all the things that it offered to us because we were too busy out enjoying what the island had to offer. The beach was within a hop, skip and a jump. We have no regrets in choosing the Embassy and would do so again in a heartbeat. We took the money we saved on breakfast every morning and pre dinner drinks in the evening, and put it towards extra activities and tours and we suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Embassy Suites Waikiki was pretty nice; just need to recommend getting to breakfast early (before 9:30) since they had a tendency to run out of plates/utensils/food towards the end of the complimentary breakfast (huge breakfast bar with wide selection and eggs made to order if desired).

Location was very convenient to everything and rooms were first rate. Whole
place very clean and family friendly....definitely a 4.5 out of 5 star
experience

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

As a Hilton Diamond member who has been in a lot of Embassy Suites, these rooms are small by Embassy standards. We were in a one bedroom and there is enough room to pull out the couch, but if you have a lot of luggage it will be a little tight for an extended stay. We were traveling on reward points and were booked in a room overlooking a parking lot and viewing the city. Granted I was a non-rev, but I expected more.

That being said, the hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly (outside of one staff member). It is a block off the beach and is a short walk to the public access area. As stated in earlier reviews, the valet service is excellent and we didn't have to wait long for our car at all. They were also excellent at helping us find our way.
The breakfast was good and the only time I was offered Miso soup and an omelet. Since it is outside, the birds are a small issue, but weren't a nuisance and the manager's reception is a nice experience and does add value especially if you are traveling with your family.

Overall, the Embassy is a nice place to stay and I would suggest the two bedroom if you are traveling with the family. Lastly, Roys and The Yard House are in the hotel and great dining choices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Pros – The hotel is in a great location right in Waikiki and very near the Ala Moana mall. Rooms are very roomy with a kitchen area. There are lots of space storage to unpack. The best part of this hotel which keeps us coming back to this location is the full buffet breakfast. They offer several great choices. There are several restaurant choices in the area. Roy’s Restaurant downstairs offers a nice lunch.

The Cons – Room is not right on the beach but it’s just a block away. Our room was right next to the elevator which was very noisy. Kitchen is not equipped with cookware, dishes, bowls and utensils. The balcony is very small and narrow and not enough room to sit outside.

The hotel does not offer any fanfare on the outside and it’s not an impressive building as other hotels in the area are, however, it is quite a gem!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.