We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with Many Included Extras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 Beach Bucks
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel with Many Included Extras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We really enjoyed the Embassy Suites Beachwalk. We booked the lowest price room and when we checked in, they had upgraded us to a two bedroom suite, Room 124. The room had a fridge and microwave and wired internet (fast!). The first night we noticed truck noise at 3am outside on the street, but never noticed it again. The breakfast is outstanding, including custom cooked omelettes at no extra charge, pancakes, french toast, fruit, yogurt, bacon, etc. The hotel offers a free happy two-hour every evening. Location is very good. Nice shops behind and 5 minute walk to Kalakaua Blvd. One block off the beach and the pool is large with unobstructed sunshine. We really liked this hotel. Thanks Trip Advisor for telling us about it, and for Roy's Restaurant inside it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    999
    531
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
1000
378
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

First is the location, Beach Walk is in the center of most things, and a walk to the beach. Next the staff, were wonderful, from the moment we arrived until we left. They were helpful, kind, and quick to get whatever you needed from clean towels to special orders at their free breakfast.
We arrived just before check-in time, we had a one bedroom standard room. When we arrived at our room its was not made up and there was luggage still in the room, {the people had a late flight out and decided not to check out until after dinner, but didn't tell the staff} I called down to the desk and in a few minutes were in another room on the 15 floor with a wonderful view.
The new Beach Walk Area has dozens of shops, galleries and restaurants. right down down stairs. Great place for people watching.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just returned from 5 days/4 nights at Embassy Suites Waikiki. It was an excellent hotel for the purpose and we will absolutely stay here again the next time we return to Waikiki.

Our reason for selecting this hotel was our desire to have 2 separate sleeping rooms, as we have 2 young children including an infant who cries a lot at night. We didn't want the other child to wake up throughout the night, and the room served this purpose admirably.

We were in Room 721 overlooking the pool/courtyard area and with a limited view of the ocean. The room has 2 separate lanais each big enough to hold a couple of chairs; 2 flat-screen TVs; a wet bar with a fridge, microwave, and sink. The inside room is the bedroom with a king bed, while the main room contains a sitting area, a small dinette set, the wet bar, and the bathroom. We were next to the elevator, and could indeed hear the elevator in the evenings and at night. This could be a problem for very light sleepers, but for us it worked wonderfully as the screaming infant was less likely to bother the next-door neighbors (sorry upstairs and downstairs!). A pair of earplugs, for light sleepers, would have been more than enough to deal with this minor issue.

The room is in excellent condition. Spotlessly clean, very fresh/new-looking, with granite surfaces on wet bar and in bathroom. Provided are big comfortable beach towels, comfortable if not super-soft bath towels, and the usual toiletries.

Service: valet parking only, generally very speedy with the only drawbacks being 1. no call-downs permitted and 2. spendy at $25 per day, though that is comparable to all Waikiki hotels. We requested nothing special from the hotel regarding services, but I did ask the concierge/activities desk once for a running route suggestion and he gave me several good ideas.

Breakfast: Embassy Suites provides a full complimentary breakfast with the room, and it did not disappoint. It includes seasonal, local fruit (alas, papaya only one day, but pineapple every day, also variously watermelon, canteloupe, honeydew), eggs, french toast, pancakes, meats, oatmeal, cold cereal, baked items, miso soup, rice/nori for those wanting a Japanese-style breakfast, and absolutely scrumptious made-to-order hot omelettes (available egg-whites only if you prefer) including fresh vegetables such as spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms, etc). Local Lions coffee and fresh island-style (passion-guava) juices rounded out the offerings. Very satisfying way tot start the day.

Reception: every evening there are free drinks (beer, wine, mixed tropical drinks, well drinks) and chips/crackers at the pool. We enjoyed it although we are not big drinkers. I suppose if you wanted to you could get liquored up for free before hitting the town! It's a very nice, relaxed, inviting atmosphere.

Pool: It's in very good condition and nicely landscaped. There is an elliptical hot tub measuring perhaps 20x10 feet and was nice as we had very cool weather during our stay. The pool does not get a lot of sun during the day due to nearby buildings but that is not unusual for Waikiki.

Beach: literally a 5 minute walk across Kalia street. While not technically beachfront, the hotel's location is 'just about' and not far enough away from the beach to even mention it. Great location on a quiet side street off Kalakaua - close to the action, but the noise won't bother you.

There is a free business center with free internet, fax, and printing; a free fitness center in excellent condition with free weight dumbbells to 50 pounds and several treadmills; and free internet in the room.

All in all, considering the 2 rooms, included breakfast, free internet, fitness center, business center, evening reception, and location, this was an excellent stay and a good value. We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Our experience at the Embassy Suites in Waikiki was excellent in every way. We booked our trip through Continental Airlines, but we are all members of Hilton H Honors. My husband and I were traveling with another couple, so we had a two bedroom/two bath suite. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite on the fifteenth floor. The beds were heavenly, and all furnishings were comfortable and inviting. One bedroom had a king bed, and the other had two queens. The room with two queens had a door to the hallway making it easy to come and go without disturbing anyone in the other rooms.

We really enjoyed eating breakfast there each morning, and also enjoyed the evening receptions. The food services manager was quite attentive to guests each morning. He gave each of us a book about Hawaii to bring back to the grandchildren. We had beautiful accommodations on the four islands we visited during this stay, but we all agreed the Embassy Suites in Waikiki was our most enjoyable experience. GREAT JOB EMBASSY!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is spectacular. Spacious suites that are exceptionally clean! The service is outstanding, and the value tops all other hotels in the area. Complimentary breakfast, happy hour and wireless internet are all included in room right. It is a short walk to the ocean, but the hotel is steps from dining and shopping. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked as a reward stay, I'm Diamond. Got room 508 (Aloha Tower), not that great a room due to it's location, too low and lots of cooking smells from the kitchen. Thought I would have been given a better room, my fault for not planning ahead, but this was my first reward stay at an Embassy Suites, I must say that I get a lot better rooms booked on award stays at Hiltons. Also hotel was booked up (95%) and could not change rooms. Regardless the room itself was very spacious and clean though. If you stay here get a room at least on the 7th floor or above, most rooms can't see the ocean, "Rear Window" effect for many rooms due to bigger and higher hotels and condos that surround this property that all have balconies (lanais) that are looking straight into your room. Breakfast buffet, although a lot of food is worse then most Stateside Embassy Suites I've stayed at, in my opinion. Lots of fresh pineapple, but after that its a dismal choice of scrambled eggs or cooked to order omelets, all very ho-hum. The hotel is surrounded by an amazing array of restaurants and stores, if you come to Waikiki to shop and eat then this is your destination. The beach is at least a 2 block walk, but the beach here at Waikiki is nice, not too crowded. Parking is very efficient, but costly at $25 and valet only which adds up if you tip the hard working valets. The streets around the hotel are not easy to drive on, very congested with rental cars, taxis and tour buses. It takes at least 10-15 minutes to reach the hotel from the H-1, but if you are only coming to stay at this hotel then no worries. I would not stay here if I was paying for it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Positives: Location, Spacious Room, Friendly Service, Good Amenities

Negatives: Avoid room #'s ending in 21, because your right next to the elevators. $25 per night for valet parking, no self parking.

My wife and I really like this place because of its location on Beachwalk, near restaurants and shopping. Waikiki Beach is just one block a way. The rooms are spacious & updated. Morning Breakfast and Evening Reception are good deals. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.