We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for a week in mid-April. Stayed in a double room with views overlooking Halekulani.

This was not our usual choice of hotels, as we usually prefer to stay at the Outrigger on the Beach or Holiday Inn as it is more central, but we were pleasantly suprised by this hotel.

The room was extremely spacious for our family and the in-room facilities were excellent. Beds were spacious and firm which I liked. A small sink and microwave made it easy to re-heat those huge portions you get at the Cheesecake Factory. The cleaning was efficient and friendly (sometime a little too efficient as she would often try to start cleaning at 8am - a little early for us when on holidays!!) Breakfast was an average quality and selection, with things to suit most tastes. We only attended the Managers Reception once. This consisted mainly of pretzels and corn chips with free drinks. Valet and Front Desk were friendly and efficient. Our room was fast tracked even though it was early (10am) and front desk did actually call to advise when the room was ready, unlike some hotels who promise to call and never do.

The location was not as far as we originally thought it would be and there were many choices for food around. For fine dining Roy's was around the corner, and for cheap eats the ABC across the road had a good variety of sandwiches and drinks.

All in all we really enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again if the price was right. My only complaint was that the pool was really too small for the amount of people that used it and the beach in front of the hotel was really not child friendly as it was full of rocks. The beach in front of the Outrigger is still my preferred. Otherwise, this hotel was excellent and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Trump so you can watch the HHV fireworks from your balcony on a Friday evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha Aussie1000,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the hotel. I am sorry you were only able to take advantage of our manager’s hosted reception one night. Maybe on your next trip you may be able to use it more frequently. Our location is very central, and we have two ABC stores adjacent to our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    589
    122
    41
    19
See reviews for
1,106
402
45
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The embassy suites is not on the ocean but you can peek through buildings to see the ocean. What it gives you instead, (like most Embassy Suites) is a huge two room suite, with a full breakfast. However,this is not an ordinary breakfast. They cater to a variety of cultures. And the evening snack with full bar is amazing. They even have special "Hawaiian Drinks" to choose from. The rooms are accessed by using your key in the elevator then pressing your floor number. To come down in the elevators no key is needed unless you are getting off on the 4th floor. That is the Breakfast/Evening Bar floor. You will need your key anytime you want to go to the 4th floor. Otherwise go to the 3rd or 5th and use the stairs. The stairs start on floor 2 and go to the top. Another unique option they provide is an Expedia Sales rep on the main floor. If you want to travel anyway on the island, they can take care of it for you. There is no charge and they are very knowledgeable. We had some great tours thanks to them. Also, if you like a cold room, and I do, the rooms are very self adjusting comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha laura w,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We often receive raving comments on how our hotel is very family-oriented, and the spacious rooms are just one of many reasons. Winding down with specialty Hawaiian cocktails under the blue Hawaiian skies is quite an attraction! I am glad to hear that you encountered our friendly faces at the Expedia desk in the lobby. We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few years back and gave it a good review.. This stay didn't disappoint either. We really enjoy staying at Embassy Suites... The breakfast was great and the managers reception was also a nice benefit. They had live music during the reception which was really fun and enjoyable. Also everyone was extremely friendly who worked there from the house keepers to the valet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Patch2522,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is always great to hear from loyal return guests, such as yourself. I agree that the complimentary breakfast and manager's reception are definitely key benefits of staying at an Embassy Suites. We try to set ourselves apart by offering slightly different breakfast selections, as well as providing spectacular live entertainment during happy hour. Please consider us your home away from home.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Took family to a conference in Honolulu and by far this was the best deal for the five of us. Centrally located, a block from the beach, walking distance to everything else. Room was clean, spacious, and all the necessities for a four day stay. Breakfast was plentiful and varied enough for everyone. Happy hour was a real plus. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and full of good advice. Definitely will stay again the next time we are in Honolulu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Veep11,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that your family was able to join you on your trip to the island of paradise. We are located in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, surrounded by splendid shops and restaurants, and also just a block from the beach. You are absolutely correct that the combination of convenience, various amenities offered, and friendly staff are a great bundle! We look forward to your future stay with us again.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks while on Oahu for business. Nice clean hotel with great staff. I really enjoy the 2 room suite when staying for a long period. They have a wonderful breakfast every morning with hot and cold options, and each night they hold a managers reception with cocktails and snacks. Across the street from the beach, but there is easy access around the other hotels. Highly recommend this property if you need a little more space and don't need to be right on the sand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Robert H,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Our central location in the heart of Waikiki definitely benefits our business-traveling clientele. Having a separate living and sleeping area also helps accommodate for your business needs. I am glad you enjoyed our daily breakfast buffet, as well as our manager's hosted reception. I hope you were also able to indulge in our band's music during the reception four times a week. We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Where do two families, one from London and one from Sydney, meet for a special holiday to mark a mile stone for their mother. Waikiki of course. We spent months researching where to meet for this special occasion and after a long search Hawaii was decided upon and Embassy Suites a suitable choice for three generations. Located in down town Waikiki, five minutes from both the beach and shops, we couldn't of wanted a better location. A short cab ride from the efficient international airport we arrived at the open plan reception area to be greeted with a huge 'Aloha' and an effortless check in. Family deux has already arrived earlier from Sydney and were waiting for us at the Managers evening reception. Our room on the sixth floor was perfect. Two large rooms, one a sitting room, with sofa bed just in case the pre teens wanted to stay with us, and the other our bedroom with two very comfortable Queen beds as expected. A small kitchen area with coffee machine, a microwave and a kettle. See some hotels understand the Brits - tea. Our view was over the Grand Lai and pool with a view of the ocean to our left. As it was a warm evening we left unpacking to join the managers evening reception and see family deux. Big hugs and kisses all round. As we had travelled from LA we decided to eat at the pool side. The bar food was acceptable with sufficient choices for all three generations. Our ten day stay was excellent. The rooms were spotless and the maid service very flexible depending on what you were doing that day. The daily cooked breakfast was excellent. As we were a group of seven occasionally it was a little wait for a table. The fresh cooked omelets were amazing and the breakfast selection was multi national. The daily managers reception was a hoot and a good repartie was established with the bar men. The pool was safe and the hot tub HOT. Our overall experience of was faultless. Yes there are better hotels but for families with children you could not hope for a better hotel and location. One note. As the hotel has limited evening dining options the local restaurants are VERY busy we had to wait at least one hour at most places.

Room Tip: Sixth floor and above Aloha Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Mike P,
Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review regarding our hotel. I hope your mother enjoyed her precious birthday here in Hawai'i. We receive plentiful reviews stating that our spacious suite-type rooms suit family needs. Families also enjoy the various selections from cereal to omelettes, at the daily breakfast buffet. The evening manager's reception is also an added-value, and we have the best live band entertaining our guests four times a week. Please consider us again when returning to the islands.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We regularly stay at Embassy Suites. You can't beat the complimentary breakfast and evening reception. Staying in a suite is a necessity for our larger family. The suites are spacious and comfortable. The kids loved the pool. They wanted to spend more time there than the beach. The beach is only one block away. The location on Beachwalk and the shops on Kalakaua Ave. were convenient. We stayed during Christmas and the hotel was pretty busy, but since it is so large, we hardly noticed it.

Room Tip: Corner suites are always a little nicer and have better views. You have to be on a high floor to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear hoteljunkies,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Our spacious suite-type rooms definitely suit the needs for families. It is great to start the day off with fresh fruits and cereal from our complimentary breakfast buffet for energetic children. We receive great compliments regarding the pool, and although we are only a five-minute walk away from the golden sands of Waikiki beach, our pool is often full of action. We look forward to your return to the isle.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.