We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for me and my brother; not suitable for wife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for me and my brother; not suitable for wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having a suite with more privacy, excellent breakfast (with fruit to go) and the evening free drinkws were great for me and my brother. We would have preferred to be on the beach, but that is the trade-off.

BUT - I would not take my wife here; the rooms are dated and not as clean as they should be (spots on towells). It needs to be renovated to be up to our standards for 4 star accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear 384JohnC,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and various amenities, such as the complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast buffet. We receive great reviews regarding our prime location just steps away from the golden sands of Waikiki beach, and in the middle of Waikiki Beach Walk. Perhaps your wife can enjoy the free drinks at the manager's reception while listening to our engaging live band. Please consider returning to our hotel.
Thank you,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    588
    122
    41
    19
See reviews for
1,104
402
45
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for a week over spring break and were impressed with the hotel. Even though our assigned room was right next to the elevator, I was pleasantly surprised that none of us were bothered by noise. Not once! The room had a mini fridge and microwave which was handy. There was a safe in the room which was pretty big. I don't think it could accommodate a laptop, but it held our multitude of electronics.

The pool area was wonderful. Plenty of loungers, and tables with umbrellas. We spent hours there while the kids would swim. You can order food and drinks and charge them to the room. The free manager's reception was held here as well. Drink lines were short most of the time, and even when they were longer, the wonderful bartending staff was very efficient so they went quickly. There were some basic snacks, like chips and salsa, or goldfish, or carrots/celery and ranch dip.

The free daily breakfast was also held on the grand lanai where the pool was. You could choose to eat indoors or outside. There was made-to-order omelets, scrambled eggs, potatoes, rice, fresh fruit, pastries, bagels and toast with a variety of toppings, miso soup, salad, and probably a few things I have forgotten.

The valet staff and housekeeping were really outstanding. We wanted to take the kids for short limo ride in one of the stretch limousines we constantly saw driving around Waikiki, but didn't know how to make arrangements. We asked a valet, who said he would handle it for us. He was very helpful and it was a great surprise for the kids. In addition to that special help, the valet staff were also quick to bring the car to us. Yes, the parking fee is $35 per night, but from my research in looking for a hotel, that is pretty standard. Housekeeping was very friendly as well and did a great job taking care of the room.

One of the best things about the hotel is the free wifi and no resort fees. The only downside is that the hotel isn't beachfront. It's a five minute walk the lobby to the most direct spot on the beach, at most. We preferred to walk further to the beach in central Waikiki, where the ocean bottom was more sandy and not as rocky. The area surrounding the hotel, called Beach Walk, was wonderful. There were plenty of restaurants and shopping available right outside the door. We really enjoyed our stay at Embassy Suites Beachwalk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear wink123,
Thank you for taking the time to post a ravishing review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our daily breakfast buffet that provides a variety of selections. Our evening manager's reception is also a great way to end the day, and you are absolutely correct that the people make a difference! Providing our guests with complimentary wireless internet on top of other amenities without resort fees is definitely an added value. We look forward to your return in the future.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

GREAT PLACE TO STAY, super nice staff members, clean spacious rooms, free breakfast and drinks in the evening reception, located right in the center of the shopping -restaurants area and 5 minuted walk to the beach. We loved every minute of our vacation! Cannot wait for next year!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Lee T,
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our suite-type rooms with a separate living and sleeping area. It is also great to start off the day with a complimentary breakfast buffet, and wind-down with free drinks in the evening at our manager's hosted reception. Our staff consistently service guests with true aloha spirit, and I believe this sets us apart from others. We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a way to spend our 25th anniversary and my birthday. Our room was spasious, the service and staff were wonderful. Hotel location was perfect for walking to the beach, shopping, restaurants. Our room faced the beach walk and we enjoyed local entertainment from the view of our room.Would defenitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden and beach walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear PJBBoston,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you also for the opportunity to host you and your wife for your 25th anniversary and birthday! We pride ourselves in providing stellar service with the true flavor of aloha. You are absolutely correct, that our location just a few minutes from the beach, and in the middle of Waikiki Beach Walk with a variety of shops and restaurants is convenient. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently spent three nights in this location on their "Romance package" which included a dinner at Roy's (yummm), a bottle of champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. We had a one bedroom suite which came with a small kitchen area which included a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee/tea maker and sink. That was nice for keeping cold drinks, and snacks, but was too small for storing groceries for in room dining. Our suite was nicely furnished and was very clean. The housekeeping staff does a great job, and is very friendly, as are the lobby reception staff and bell staff. Everyone was very helpful, and responsive to requests. The hotel is located on a one way street in a very congested area, which makes driving in and out a challenge. The fee for valet parking is $35, which is high even for Waikiki. Only valet parking is available. Like other Embassy Suites, breakfast is included in the room charge. The buffet is pretty standard, eggs, bacon, sausage, but this one also includes miso soup, rice, and kimchi. There is an omelette station, and tropical fruit is available. My only complaint with the breakfast is that there are lots of birds in the seating area. Birds are on tables, chairs-everywhere. I watched one perch on my husband's chair, and do it's "business", and that made me wonder about how often the tables and chairs are cleaned and sanitized. Not a very appetizing thought. The hotel was very crowded while we were there, and the staff in the breakfast area seemed to be having a hard time keeping up with clearing the tables, and I didn't see anybody washing tables down. If I stayed there again, I'd bring sanitizing wipes to use on the tables--but maybe that's just me being paranoid. The crowding also made for long waits for elevators, but that's pretty standard for Honolulu. I'd stay there again, as it is a nice facility, and the staff is great.

Room Tip: Higher units have partial ocean views, and overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mamashu,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. It is nice to hear that you were able to have dinner at Roy’s, and then enjoy our champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries. I am also glad that you enjoyed our cooked-to-order breakfast, which includes some international-flavored foods. The birds are a significant problem, and we have attempted in many ways to deploy them. It is our number one issue on the table at this time. I apologize, and hope this isolated problem will not prevent you from returning.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our family stayed in a two bedroom suite for eight nights recently. The suite was clean, quite (floor 12) reasonable size and came with a nice, partial view of the sea but the mini kitchen had no utensils, plates or glasses so there is nothing to open a bottle of wine or cut up a pineapple after visiting Dole Plantation, so its off to a ABC store to buy a few of the necessary items. There was a good selection at the breakfast but quality was lacking and we preferred to dine elsewhere. The swimming pool is suitable for children but adults will be disappointed and the managers reception gets noisy as guests take advantage of the free drinks on offer. The hotel is nicely located and a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants.
Overall the Embassy is comfortable and we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear GrantLarissa,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you were not aware that our rooms are not equipped with utensils and plates. However, they would have been delivered promptly upon request. We do receive great comments regarding our pool, although it is somewhat family-oriented. Please consider staying with us again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am a very picky resort customer when it comes to cleanliness, space, and bed comfort. My stay at the Embassy Suites Honolulu far exceeded my expectations, it may have been my best overall business lodging expereince in these areas. I would also consider brining my family here, as the pool facilities were very nice and the proximity to the water was also nice. There are an abundance of good dining venues a short walk away. The added vaule and quality of the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Jeff G,
Thank you for your recent review regarding our hotel. I am glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is definitely a family-oriented hotel, but we also do cater to business clients throughout the course of the year. Our convenient location is definitely a bonus, as well as the complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.