We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 Beach Bucks
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Why should you stay?
Friendly staff - housekeepers, valet, front desk, food and beverage, breakfast waiters....everyone has a happy face

Food and Beverage staff on the pool deck are great and always looking for ways to make your visit enjoyable....thank you Joe Carmona, manager and Dennis, Keiko, Micheleine, Keola,...we had a great time

Another great reason....ah! the breakfast - so different from other Embassy's since Waikiki serves multicultural foods AND how about the manager's evening happy hour - free drinks, snacks, and local entertainment ALL included.

Room Tip: However, I strongly suggest you try to avoid lower floors in the Aloha tower off Beachwalk - very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear JanH,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, and acknowledging the great service you received. You are right, our employees make the difference between an average stay, and an extraordinary stay. I also am a fan of the band that plays Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. When it is cold in Washington, please consider coming back to our tropical island.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    536
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
1007
379
41
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

All the greats per recent reviews: breakfast, happy hour & location. We booked it to have some extra room to spread out for our family of 5, price was right, plus one of few hotels that offers Queen beds instead of Full size. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Only negatives would be don't book it for the view (isn't one -- but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway) and the pool is small & nondescript, though my kids loved it anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Califormom,
Thank you for your recent posting here on TripAdvisor. We are a very family-oriented hotel, and try especially hard to take care of our guests. The employees you encountered truly exemplify the Hawaiian culture, and exults the Aloha spirit. Maybe next time you book, we will be able to place you in a better view suite.
Aloha,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Flew in on direct flight on Hawaiian airlines from JFK to Honolulu with 3 adults and 2 kids. Travel time from airport to hotel is approx. 20 minutes. Located in a clusters of hotels on the relatively new Beach Walk area and literally a 5 min. walk to the beach, the hotel is WELL located. You have Royal Hawaiian mall a few min. walk and Ala Moana mall about a good 20 min. walk, at least 2 ABC stores literally outside the mall and a huge host of restaurants. Having a car in Oahu can be problematic as most hotels charge valet service 20-40$ a night. We wound up just renting a car for the days needed which is a lot simpler since the cost of a rental can be b/w 40-50 bucks anyway. We rented with national and they picked us up and dropped us off at hotel after rental closeby in Discovery Cove. Check in area very nice and relaxing offering drinks and relatively pain free. Got room on 14 floor towards the end of hall facing trump towers with partial ocean view. Upon arrival water on floor and safe did not work which was promptly fixed later that night. Room consisted of small kitchenette area with sink, microwave, coffee maker, fridge. Sleeper sofa, flat screen tv and room had 2 queen sized beds. Bathroom was fair sized with 2 sinks, bathroom and roomy shower tub. Breakfast daily included was buffet, with omelette station, japanese breakfast and good baked goods. Come early to avoid crowds. Managers reception nothing too special, music, nachos, peanuts and mixed drinks and beer. Pool was very crowded with kids. The employees were pretty much hit and miss, some were attentive and others honestly could care less about you especially in the am breakfast. Concierge was very helpful though. Overall if you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room and you are just going to stay in the Waikiki area and on the wakiki beach and you are looking to save some money by eating big breakfasts and drinks on some nights then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: stay away from elevators and 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear cturk,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. You are right, we have a great location just steps away from the beach, and in the middle of the Waikiki Beach Walk retail area, with all its stores and restaurants. Good tip about renting a car for the day! Your comments regarding our guest suites with all their amenities is absolutely on target. Thank you, and we look forward to your return.
Mahalo,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The suites are outstanding. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Band that plays at Happy Hour is entertaining for all age groups.
I will choose this hotel the next time we stay in Honolulu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear nippon703,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. Happy hour is very popular and I agree with you the band plays for all ages. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from our stay at the Embassy Suites. This was our 4th time and it is always great. The rooms are clean, the staff are amazing and it is in a great location. The buffet breakfast is the best, with made to order omletts, bacon, fruit etc. There is something for everyone. The managers reception every evening is also wonderful and we love listening to the local father and son band, it is always a treat. We had a two bedroom suite this time which was great for our family with lots of space. Our only complaint was that the sofa bed really wasn't comfortable for our son. I think these could be improved on. We were on the 21st floor and had a great view of the ocean from the balcony. The beach is just a short walk away and there are lots of shops and restaurants close by. It is the perfect location and a bit quieter than the other end of Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear bm,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Both the buffet breakfast and happy hour are by far our two most popular amenities. Our one-bedroom suites are very spacious, and convenient for family travelers. We hope you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an exceptional hotel and very accommodating staff. When we checked in we weren't keen on the location of our room so we asked to be moved to a higher floor. Well, Andrew Boyd went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. Great hotel and experience - real Aloha Spirit!

Room Tip: The rooms above the 5th floor is best - less noise from street and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Luvaloha,
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and our accommodating staff. I apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused during your check-in, and I am glad we were able to move you to a higher floor. I will pass on to Andrew, your comments and hope you will stay with us again.
Aloha,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean rooms, very quiet. Comfy beds. Short 5 Minutes to beach and high end stores. Breakfast Buffett and cook to order omletts are delicious.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
We got a City View room on the 16. Floor with an amazing view of the Ocean!
Ice mashine was broken the whole time we were there on every floor. :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob Y, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Zwergnase,
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay here. I appreciate the comments on clean rooms, very quiet, and comfortable beds. You are right, that our location is great in the middle of Waikiki Beach Walk, and the short five minute walk to the beach. I have addressed the ice machine situation with our engineer, and they are now in working order on every floor.
Best regards,
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.