We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Military Family Moving to Hawaii"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Shopping Package
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Military Family Moving to Hawaii"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are a military family and stayed here instead of the local military hotel for almost a month while waiting on housing. This is a great place to stay! The hotel upgraded us to a beautiful 2 bedroom, the happy hour and the band was outstanding, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was great. Plus the location was good (quick walk to beach) and we parked for pretty cheap (monthly rate) in the military parking lot next door. You also get free internet with your stay and the hotel has a great business center which was very helpful for our house hunting since there was everything we needed (printer, fax machine, computer, paper, etc...). My kids loved the pool as well. I recommend if you are coming in on orders and what a fantastic place to stay you stay here.

Room Tip: Request room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    641
    133
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,215
443
49
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for awhile. My daughter and I stayed at the Embasssy Suites 2 weeks prior to Christmas. 2012. It was excellent, the location is perfect to beach and all shops and restaurants.
The suite had heaps of room, we were so glad we chose to get a hotel with a seperate living area as we were staying for awhile. The cleaning standards of the hotel staff servicing our room were second to none, we even had to tell them some days" no don;t bother to vacum today". The bathroom is spacious and well appointed , the bedroom had 2 really comfortable beds with a TV in both the bedroom and living room.
The kitchenette was an added bonus, all the equipment was is good clean order.
Pool area great, breakfast which was included in our rate offered all manner of different food whcih was yummy, expecially the omelettes they cook in front of you to order.
The staff were always really friendly and helpful.
You are maybe one or two minute walk from the beach.
This is really a first class hotel and we are definitley returning.
Hawaii on all is the most beautiful, relaxing and fun place to stay, can't wait to return.
Thanks to all at Embassy for contributing to our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We did not have a room with a Beach room, though did not bother us at all. We were overlooking the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are on business in Hawaii, the unfortunate fact is that virtually all hotels on Oahu are located in Waikiki, so your choice needs to be based on ease of access within Waikiki, parking rates, well insulated rooms (vis a vis the tourists onn holiday partying in the next room) and attentive staff. The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk meets all these needs very well.

Location is not quite at the "top" of Waikiki but near it, so you can enter and exit without having to drive deep into the "strip" area further Diamond Head. Valet parking (only option) is a little pricey ($35/day) but not unusually so for Waikiki, but the service is fast and friendly. (But you'll need to factor that into the room rate quoted if you plan to have a car.)

Breakfast is good - fruit, yogurt, breads, eggs, bacon/sausage, rice, potatoes, Japanese dishes, kimchee for the Koreans, and a cook-to-order omelet bar. The only negative is the coffee. Choice of either a Nestle's instant-coffee-flavored "brewed" coffee, or the weirdly flavored Douwe Egeberts brand (yes, the company famous for pipe tobacco, which might explain the weird flavor. Best brew your own in the room (better coffee packs there) and bring it to breakfast, unless you are from the areas of the country that likes your hot water with a hint of coffee flavor, in which case, enjoy!)

Internet wireless is free in the rooms and reasonably fast. The gym was good enough to keep up a minimal workout routine while on your trip. Room was very clean. (Be careful, however, unless you actually need the handicapped-accessible room, to get a regular room, as you can't hang your pants in the closet because of the low bars.)

Because the Hawaiian economy is so dependent on tourism, the rates for hotels fluctuate wildly, this hotel included. So, if you can get it under $200/night, this will be a fabulous find. $200-$250 a night, a good deal, but over $250 a night, think about it. It will depend on the season, of course. During tourist season, your business better be really good if you're spending $400/night for a room...

I would definitely stay here for under $250/night.

Room Tip: As per above, be careful not to get a handicapped-accessible room unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is all suites - some are better than others - the breakfast was just great - plenty of fresh fruit and they hand make an omellete for you - there's great coffee and the pool is wonderful - the beach is a 5 minute walk and its not too rocky as most of the ebaches are on Waikiki - the staff are okay - no problems but just not too freindly - but not rude - the conceirge is great loads of good advice for eating out. Restuarants abound as you would expect and American favorites like cheese cake house is just brilliant as well as the Hard rock - Tony Romas is awesome for ribs!

Room Tip: The corner suites have a nasty bit taken out and the rooms are smaller - look at the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Staff: The staff were wonderful, from the hotel check-in to the wait staff in breakfast area. Our flight was later and we were accomodated extremely well even after check-out until we left the property about 3pm. We appreciated that very much.
Breakfast: The breakfast was very nice and offered a great variety of foods.
Manager's Reception: Our first night there, a band was playing during the manager's evening reception and a great variety of drinks were offered. The snacks offered in the evening were nothing to write home about, but provided good munchies (goldfish, carrot sticks, nachos).
Room: Make sure you don't have a room right next to the elevator, we found that to be a bit noisy, but didn't ask to change rooms. (I'm certain we would have been accomodated if we'd asked.) The room and balcony were wonderful, although small for the cost.
Location: There are so many restaurants and shopping areas available within walking distance that we enjoyed strolling for a couple of hours in the early evening. There is a Denny's restaurant across the street and a food court in the shopping mall very close by.
Overall, if the cost weren't so extremely high, I would give this hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't next to the elevator. If there are more than two of you, be sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

we stayed at the Embassy Suites for 10 nights in late Feb/Early Marc in room 2132 (top floor) in the HULA Tower.

i LOVED having a lounge room as well as the bedroom, allowed more space for more shopping and we weren't having to step over our suitcases all the time. bed was super comfy, two tvs, lots of pillows, plenty of space in the bathroom and a big enough fridge for drinks and left overs.

the location is perfect. lots of good and fancy restaurants close by (Denny's, Cheeseburgerland)and lots of the good restaurants only 5 mins walk away, (California Pizza Kitchen and Cheesecake Factory). the ABC Store next to Dennys was great. had the usual stuff and then extras like hot food, salads, awesome, best one we saw.

the Service at the hotel was fine, most were very friendly and said hi as you walked past. we didn't get into the pool as we were out most days and the temp was only 24 degrees C, so not warm enough to want to cool down, but lots of people were there. the gym has digital scales, so you can weigh your suitcases when you have packed them for your flight home. The Buffet Breakfast was yes, mostly the same each day, but that gave our adjusting stomachs some consistency, so we were happy. there was fruit (loved the pineapple), cereals, breads, bagels, pastries, any way you like eggs (omlette or fried), sausages, rice, bacon, scrambed eggs, potatos and then a selection of hot sweets (pancakes or french toast or waffles), heaps to choose from. they also had lots of fruit juices and teas and coffees.

The Pink Trolley "pick up" stop was only one block up adn two block over on Olohana St (king Kalakaua Plaza) and "drop off" point was Saratoga Road (Trump Tower), so really close and easy to get all your shopping back to the hotel.

we found it all easy and comfortable. even though we were right beside the lifts (and everyone had warned us), we didn't find it too annoying. as we were on the top floor, the lifts didn't come all the way all the time. and it sort of gave us some background white noise, so we slept fine.

i would highly reccommend this place. it was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had such a good experience at the downtown Embassy Suites in Portland—we did get a bit of an upgrade to a larger suite then--that we decided to book with their hotel in Waikiki. We were given a room on the 16th floor with a bit of the ocean visible from the balcony. (Yes, there was a balcony with some chairs and two small tables.) As always with Embassy Suites hotels, breakfast is included and features made to order omelettes. Being Hawaii, there were tropical fruit slices available. Some of the other food will probably boost your cholesterol levels to unacceptable heights. But then you live only once anyway.

While there was a 24 hour fitness center and a swimming pool available, we old folks stayed away from these strenuous activities. However there is also a Manager’s Reception from 5:30 to 7:30 pm where nibbles and alcoholic beverages are served. Unlike during our Portland visit, we managed to go three times.

Obviously prices in Waikiki are somewhat higher than in Portland. But for us it is the extra space that comes with a separate sitting room that leads us to think highly of the Embassy Suites. We would definitely consider staying at this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.