We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at this property from October 10-17 of 2012. The room was in fairly clean condition. I did have to ask for a new pillow case, however housekeeping was always around and extremely friendly and accommodating. Check in was a breeze and valet was always prompt. Manager's reception and breakfast was great and certainly added a bonus to my trip. Workout room was nice, but a couple machines were out of order for our stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for families, but couples as well. Extremely close to all the shops and the beach. If you can find a good rate, I say if in doubt, GO FOR IT! I loved it and will return back there.

Room Tip: Anything on the 17th floor will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    667
    137
    47
    25
See reviews for
1,282
463
50
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Beach Walk Embassy Suites hotel, a relative newcomer to the Waikiki hotel scene. Large, suite style rooms, full breakfast and manager's happy hour ( free mai tais!) included for about 2/3rds of what our friends paid for a smaller hotel down the street. However they could walk out the hotel and onto the beach while we had to walk a little further. That wasn't a problem for us. Because of the afforementioned ammentities, a lot of families use this hotel, so the pool area gets busy. Location is great...right across the street from the beautiful and quiet Halekulani where we would go each night for after dinner drinks.
Another advantage...the cabs there were stretch limos and one was always waiting when we needed it . Felt like celebrities! If you fit the criteria, ask for the senior discount...saved us a bundle.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you further away from the street nosie which is hard to escape in Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just got back from 5 days in Waikiki at Embassy Suites. We did not want to leave!!! The location was fantastic. The employees were extremely helpful and very friendly - everyone had a smile...

Check in was a breeze. We were originally given a 1-bedroom suite on the 3rd floor. We called the front desk and asked for a higher floor. We were given a 2 bedroom suite on the 7th floor. We didn't have an ocean view, but we did have a view of the courtyard and were able to watch the Halloween antics from our balcony.

The happy hour entertainment was great. We loved the band that played several nights. On Saturday night, there was a traditional Hawaiian dance and song event performed by a local school. What a great show and darling performers.

The breakfast was great! Happy hour was great, too. The only complaint I have is that the snacks for Happy Hour were pretty boring and were pretty much the same thing every night. It would have been nice to have a little more variety AND popcorn!! :)

Concierge was very nice and gave us some great ideas. We didn't use their services but we'll be back and may use them next time.

If you are willing to walk a little, I recommend the City A Express Bus to the USS Arizona. It only takes about 40 minutes from McCully St (about a 10 minute walk from Embassy Suites) and it only cost $2.50!!!

Room Tip: The Hula Tower is closer to the water and might have more ocean view rooms. We were in the Aloha To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned home from a 10 night trip to Waikiki, staying at the Embassy Suites with my husband and 2 nine year old boys.

We were so excited as it was our first time to Hawaii, but I must admit our first impression wasn't a great one. The staff member who checked us in upon our early arrival was on the grumpy side and not overly friendly. I mentioned that my travel agent had put in a request for a high floor in a room away from the lift, and he just told us our room was on level 10 and that was that. Of course we got to our room to find we were directly next to the lift! It was a disappointing start to our trip, and as the hotel was full we were unable to move to another room for our first night. As I didn't want to deal with the same staff member who checked us in, I waited until later in the day when the next lot of staff were on reception and was very lucky to come across an absolutely wonderful girl by the name of Malia. She couldn't have been more helpful and immediately checked the availability of another room for us. Unfortunately there wasn't anything available for our first night, but she did find a room on a higher level and at the far end of the hall for the rest of our stay... in a corner suite. I'm so happy we did because I could hear the lift going up and down all night in our original room! I will definitely be contacting the hotel to sing the praises of Malia as she was so friendly, helpful and remembered us... even getting us a special fruit drink each day (which is only usually offered upon arrival) as my boys loved the juice. Everything was done with a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

We ended up staying on the 15th floor of the Hula Tower on the corner suite, which had a long balcony facing one beach and another balcony (off the lounge area) facing another part of the beach. It was a good sized room with plenty of space for all of us, and a much better layout than the room we had originally been put into. It's definitely worth asking for a room on a high level and away from the lift!

The hotel itself is lovely with a great pool (especially for kids as it's only 4 feet at the deepest end), fabulous manager's drinks and nibbles from 5.30pm to 7.30pm each night (cocktails, wine, beer and soft drinks), and they even have a band a few nights a week... a father and his 3 sons, who were great! The breakfast was good with a selection of fruit, pastries, sausages, bacon, white rice, miso soup, potatoes... and 2 chefs who will cook eggs any way you like. The concierge were helpful with booking tours etc and the valets were always happy and friendly. I can highly recommend a massage by the pool too!

The location was perfect for us with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby, and the beach just across the road. It was also fairly quiet and we were far enough away from the centre of Waikiki so there weren't any crowds. For us having a suite was ideal as our boys slept on the sofa bed and we had our own separate bedroom. Much better than having us all squashed in to one room.

We had a tsunami warning while we were there and the staff were very calm and happy to answer our questions and let us know what we needed to do. It was obviously scary for us having never gone through anything like that before, but we were put at ease.

We wouldn't hesitate on going back to the Embassy Suites and will be recommending it to friends and family. But I will tell them not to be put off if they get a grumpy person to check them in because everything else about the hotel was fabulous!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the lifts... preferably a corner suite as they have a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 6nights, rooms are clean good size, staff friendly, they have breakfast and also managers drinks at night which is the cost of a tip which includes spirits and cocktails. We got speedy shuttle from the airport which as $29.10 for 2 adults 1way. A cab was $30 + tip which was quicker which is a better option. 1block from the beach, lots of restaurants. There is a shuttle ou get from tump which takes you to waikelle shopping centre $5 each way per person, you book at the trump hotel as the bus gets full. Just remember that when you get off the bus get your return time as otherwise you could be stuck there longer than you may want and costs heaps to get a cab back to Waikiki.

Room Tip: If they say they upgrade you be careful as they tend to put you next to the lifts which can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The last time we travelled to Honolulu we stayed at Outrigger Reef on the Beach but there was only my husband & I travelling. This time however we had our 4 daughters with us so after much research settled on the Embassy Suites. Having the choice of either 1 or 2 bedrooms + seperate living area with sofa bed was perfect for a family of 6 and the suites are very central to shopping, dining & beach! The 3 best things about Embassy would have to be the included hot & cold breakfast, the free 2 hours of Managers drinks each night & the entertainment by Roland Chang & his 3 sons Mon, Wed, Fri & Sat nights. We stayed on a specials packaged that also included free trolley rides for 2 days, beach chair rental etc & pizza & softdrink pack. So in comparison to other resorts that our friends were staying at I felt we had much better value for money. Most of the staff were very friendly especially those cleaning up at breakfast. The reception staff not very friendly although we were offered lovely Guava juice on arrival! Ask for high room... Hula Tower closer to the ocean! We would return to Embassy Suites Waikiki for sure!!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms better. Try and get one furthest from elevators. Hula tower closest to ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent location with close beach access and ABC deli across the street.
Good entertainment at mgr reception. Food at ABC was very good for takeout when you did not want a big meal. Other items were available for each or snacks. Walk across street and there is the beach .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,826 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is an all-suite hotel featuring 1 and 2-bedroom suites with private bedroom(s), separate living room, and kitchenette. All of our guests enjoy complimentary full Made-to-Oder Breakfast daily, nightly Evening Poolside Reception, Wi-Fi, and more, and No Resort Fees. The hotel is located steps to Waikiki Beach and in the heart of Waikiki Beach Walk, Waikiki's newest shopping, dining, and entertainment district. In addition to the extra space, added value, and great location that makes our hotel so unique, it is the genuine Hawaiian hospitality of our staff that we are most proud of. Come experience the Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites By Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.