We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of the best family options in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $100 Beach Bucks
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Still one of the best family options in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I looked long and hard for other family accommodation options in Waikiki but determined the Embassy Suites remained the best choice for us. I was not disappointed. The all-suite hotel is very good indeed and well suited to families with young children.

The location is excellent with immediate access to some great eating and entertainment options in and around Lewers St. The hotel is one block back from the beach and many rooms lack spectacular views that can be found elsewhere.

I stayed on Level 15 where there was no street noise. Room 1506 was across from the elevators and no noise there either.

Room cleanliness was excellent with the chambermaid (Jenny) doing a first class job. Room amenities were also very good with two LED TVs with about 40 channels available. Sleep quality was excellent as the beds are very comfortable. There is a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. The WiFi internet access was surprisingly good (and free). The room appeared to have been recently refurbished and all furniture and fittings were in excellent condition.

Breakfast is included and is generally of good quality. The cooked-to-order omlettes are excellent. Some of the other options get a little boring during longer stays and the 'orange juice' is pretty awful. Fruit is plentiful and very high quality.

The Manager's Drinks session (5:30 - 7:30 every evening) is a really good feature. The Mai Tais taste great and they sure pack a real punch. The included snacks are basic e.g. chips, peanuts Doritos etc. There is live entertainment 4 nights a week and the Hawaiian band is pretty good. The price is right - everything is included in your room rate.

The swimming pool is great for young children but not really suitable for adults wanting to relax or do laps. The pool is about 6m x 20m with an adjacent hot spa and small section for infants to paddle around. Water cleanliness was excellent but there is no lifeguard on duty.

I found hotel staff to be genuinely friendly and efficient. I was able to get an early check-in although the hotel was near capacity.

During peak seasons, this hotel is not cheap and less expensive hotel rooms are easy to find. For me, the value of a separate bedroom, good breakfast, free cocktails and internet access is worth the extra room cost. And the smile on my daughter's face every evening before bedtime said it all.

This is a very good hotel and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Cheers to you and your family from beautiful Waikiki! Thank you much for posting an outstanding review. I love that your search determined Embassy Suites Waikiki as the best choice.. It is our honor to provide you and your family with the finest accommodations that are clean, comfy and spacious. We are proud that we can also grant you amenities that are entertaining, accessible, fun, relaxing and an upgraded High Speed Internet access that keeps you connected and stress-free so that you can focus on family. Mahalo for traveling across the Pacific Ocean to be with us. We look forward to your next family holiday with us.
Until then, Aloha and Cheers!
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    529
    116
    40
    19
See reviews for
997
378
41
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have stayed here many times. We always kept coming back because the rooms are, usually, great, our girls love the breakfast and the pool, and the staff is exceptional. Our last stay just did not live up to prior stays. Despite asking for a room away from elevators (our profile has this request as well), we were next to one. We booked the "local" rate where, to our surprise, it was only $30 less than the standard rate! The desk staff ok, when they are usually superb. Just felt like the place was loosing its shine. For the rate we payed as "locals" the last time, I think we will go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: upper floors, away from elevator. Ocean view is good but not great - unless really high up you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Mahalo for your valuable feedback. I am sincerely sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations. We love when our kama`aina chooses to stay with us and I know that our staff puts forth a sincere effort to share their aloha. Creating memorable experiences for famiy is important and I hope we will be given another opportunity to do just that. Until then, aloha a hui hou!
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in June, 2012. We had a 2 bedroom family suite and it was perfect for our family of five. Each bedroom had a bathroom and the family room area was between the two rooms. Our room had a great view of Diamond Head. The hotel is in a great location on the Beach Walk - close to restraunts, shopping and the beach. It was also very convienent to catch the bus to various attractions. In addition to great location it offers a nice pool area with live music many nights during the cocktail hour. We also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with any questions we had regarding the area. We would highly recommend this hotel when vacationing in Honolulu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Cheers from Waikiki, Hawai`i! Thank you for your thoughtful, great review! We love when guests choose Embassy Suites Waikiki to celebrate family. I'm elated to know that you recognized and acknowledged so many wonderful amenities that created the best and memorable family experience. Mostly, please accept my sincere mahalo for your high recommendation to others. Thank you!
Aloha a hui hou, unitl we meet again
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a great choice for a holiday in Waikiki. The family suites are large and a great for families. The rooms are a little dated in decor, especially the bathrooms, but this can be overlooked. There is a lot of street noise, so it an be hard for children to sleep. The location is wonderful and access to the beach is close. The manger drinks are dreadful. The wine that tastes like mentholated spirits and corn chips with bright orange cheese substance are inedible. It would be better to have a discounted cocktail special and beer at this time and a small bowl of nuts. The breakfast is standard, with the fresh fruit and omelet great choices. I really like this hotel and would stay here again, but my expectation would be more realistic, than based on the previous reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Cheers to you and your family! Thank you much for traveling a long distance to stay celebrate the love of family with us and for posting a review. I'm happy we could provide a spacious, clean and comfortable suite during your stay. Yes! Our location is the best to access the beach, shops and restaurants. We appreciate your input and will continue to strive to exceed our guests expectations. Our sincere aloha to you and your family from ours.
Aloha a hui hou (until we meet again) aloha
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

thanks Joe for a wonderful time there my family and i enjoyed our stay at your hotel .we love everything about the .the service was great the family and the vine thank you very much.thanks Piilani for the massage's its was wonderful and very relaxing .massage everyday omg .my friend and i really enjoyed the massage now she is asking when can we get massage again but i told her .we have to talk you first .aloha

Room Tip: room 421 and 431
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for posting a delightful review! We love the opportunity to host our island `ohana, thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Waikiki. Lomilomi or Hawaiian massage is a very popular amenity we offer our guests and I'm happy you got to experience it here at Embassy along with many other great amenities that make our guests return time and time again. We hope that Embassy Suites Waikiki will be your Staycation of choice on your next holiday!
aloha a hui hou!
Bob Yeoman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay especially with children. The suite rooms, the breakfast, the staff,and the location make it one of the best deals in Waikiki Beach. I have spoken to many people about their hotels in Waikiki Beach and this is the best deal compared to all the others

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post a great review! Thank you for acknowledging Embassy Suites as the best value in town, especially for children. I am happy that you were pleased with everything we have to offer! Your positive comparison to other hotels in Waikiki is truly a high compliment. Thank you much! We honor you as our guest and it would be OUR honor to host you once again here in beautiful Waikiki. Until we meet again.....Aloha!
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I booked this at 3 a.m. on-line "day of arrival" due to unsatisfactory hotel already booked in Oahu. When I called my son and his wife from the airport they had just checked in and said "this place is heaven!" It is a half block---just across the street---from the beach, surrounded by many restaurants, up scale shops, public transportation etc. What a relief to have a full and excellent breakfast every morning without having to leave the premises---and son and wife loved the cocktail hour every night. Given the price compared to other hotels I considered, this was a real deal. Full business center to keep in touch with the office, etc. and Roy's restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room any floor gives you two patios and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob_yeoman, General Manager at Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Aloha and thank you much for posting a fantastic review! Wow! We're so happy that we could host you and your family....just in time! I love the response posted, "this place is heaven!" Thank you! Our amazing value is one of the many attributes Embassy Suites Waikiki is known for. We celebrate with you our upgraded Wi-Fi High Speed Internet Access! Thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next visit to Heavenly Embassy Suites Waikiki.
Until we meet again....aloha a hui hou!
Bob Yeoman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk

Address: 201 Beachwalk St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk is ideal for family vacations, romantic escapes, social gatherings or group retreats. All of our guests enjoy spacious suite accommodations, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, and our nightly Manager’s Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hotel Honolulu
Embassy Suites Honolulu
Honolulu Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Oahu
Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Waikiki Beach Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.