We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, intimate, trendy hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off - $169
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice, intimate, trendy hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

This hotel is right in the thick of Waikiki hustle and bustle. You basically need to do their valet for $20 a day (with in and out privleges) or you will be feeding a meter all day. We were confused with the proper way to turn in our car, but once we figured it all out we were happy to see that the hotel is trendy, but intimate and very nice. The staff is friendly and they greet you with lemon grass scented wet towels and chilled pineapple juice. We went up to the room and were happy to see that it was nicely decorated with a large tv (full cable and even some HD options) and a great bathroom with lovely products and plenty of towels. It was our honeymoon so they had a bottle of (actually nice) champagne set out for us. All the rooms have fruit in them as well. The lighting is great and you can control every aspect of it. You have a choice of bright, night and just right. Just right setting is a very romatic, soft lighting. There is a mini fridge and the bed is amazing. Super comfortable with a fluffy duvet and nice feather pillows as well and standard pillows for those who like them a bit bigger and firmer. You can control the air conditioning and there are shades that provide a nice, near blackout effect. The bad thing is that you are offset in an alley and the ocean view is not front and center. You have a large hotel in your way that is super loud and has live music well into the night and (unbelievably) early in the morning. The hotel is very into recycling ( hence the name) so they provide a separate trashcan in the room and the place was made to be green. The water saving shower heads are a nice touch. The complimentary continental breakfast is a cut above. The lobby is so small, that it is awkward to maneuver around the small space they have allotted for this. Also seating leaves something to be desired. However, they have gone a step beyond the normal apples and oranges, boxed cereals and packaged muffins. They have fresh berries and pineapple for you along with various types of melon. They have granola, high fiber cereal and yogurt. The pastries are dainty and tasty and are not pre packaged. They have a nice tea chest out and decent coffee, as well as orange juice and hard boiled eggs. We did this every morning we were there. We happened to be in Honolulu with high winds, which apparantly set off the fire alarm. It was a pretty frightening, and bad way to start the morning. We all evacuated down the stairs and stood outside in the wind while they tried to turn off the loud and jarring alarm.Overall, our stay here was nice. Any issues I had, weren't really the fault of the hotel. We got the best room in the house for about $209 a night with a AAA discount.

  • Liked — Nice room touches, like custom lighting and great bed.
  • Disliked — The hotels location is a little strange.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    510
    105
    34
    21
See reviews for
219
1015
118
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I wasn't too impressed with the overall outer appearance of this hotel. I've stayed at many hotels before, and this was one of the smaller hotels in Honolulu. The interior of the rooms was nice and clean, but the bathroom was really really small!!! It makes getting ready (with 2 people) really difficult.

The hallways/corridors were a little bit sketchy with electrical wires hanging down from the ceiling exposed. It didn't feel like a nice hotel just walking in and out of the hotel, but the rooms were nice- especially for the price. Good hotel for someone on a budget, but wants a nicer than decent room.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful, almost three week stay at the Renew. Having stayed in Waikiki for a third winter holiday in a row now, we have seen most of what the hotels and Honolulu can offer. Suffice it to say, that after our time there, it was difficult to leave and come back to our Vancouver storm warnings. This hotel rocks for three reasons: Comfort (beds, overall cleanliness), attentive and excellent Staff (Tina who kept our room so clean and tidy - as does William Mawk who is a brilliant ray of sunshine in an already sunny place) and design. If you've heard of the Halekulani, Westin Moana Surfrider, etc - they just don't hold a candle. They are more than twice the price, the rooms and common areas are not as nice (although those two mentioned do have incredible grounds - and great restaurants that you have to experience - like the Room Without a Key) - but they just don't compare to the Hotel Renew. It is a small hotel, but is truly a Wow experience. They have set the bar for the other 'high end' hotels and will do well competing for clients in this down-market economy.

One note: this is a small boutique hotel with NO amenities - so don't come prepared to visit the pool or use the gym! Those amenities are nearby - and you can pay to use them - but really - the ocean is warm and useable, and there is a gym down the street - so I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the near future!

Thanks to all the staff who made our stay simply fantastic!

  • Liked — Style and Service
  • Disliked — Power outage on Oahu - loud generators of other hotels
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Hotel Manager at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, January 19, 2009
Dear TravelingBoys,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear that we are your number one choice for your hotel accommodations on Oahu. We always strive to provide the ultimate guest experience so that you can take your memorable experience with you wherever you go. Our staff is one of a kind and truly goes beyond guest expectations to ensure a positive and enjoyable stay. Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Aloha,

P.Louie
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at the Renew when it was actually part of the Aqua Hotels group - just after they finished renovating. It was beautiful. Great location within easy reach of the beach. The service was wonderful, even though the lobby was still in completion. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. One of the best hotels we've stayed at in Oahu. I'm not sure why they are no longer part of the Aqua hotels - but I guess someone decided that the property was good enough to go it on their own. I'm anxious to get back and see if it's even better.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms
  • Disliked — No balconies on the rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

My stay at Hotel Renew has been my best hotel stay yet. This hotel has great amenities and extra great staff. They were very accommodating and did not lack one bit of personality which goes a long way in my book. They have first hand knowledge of most of the sites you may want to see in Oahu and if not they have no problem doing a little research for you. I was very impressed with the continental breakfast and the service of our room attendant. ALL in ALL I would stay at this hotel again. I do have one small issue as I would love for the hotel rooms just to get a little bit brighter (not really a big deal) and a business center would be great even though the hotel is completely wifi it is useful for those of us who don't bring laptops on vacation. The location was great and the hotel is perfect for couples on honeymoons who require just a little more personal attention. This is not a hotel that has so many guests they don't know who you are (another thing that I really like). My friends and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff, Free Beach Towels and the Continental Breakfast
  • Disliked — Would like the room to get just a little bit Brighter
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

On our first visit to Honolulu (and Hawaii) we were delighted to find that this little gem of a property was well-suited for our needs. The location was perfect, a few paces off the Waikiki but our room was closer to the beach and restaurants and shopping than the properties that were actually right on the beach. It took less time for us to get to (and from) the beach than people staying in the upper floors and annexes of premium 5-star resorts and hotels. The hotel Renew staff was friendly, remembered our names, were helpful and even let us change clothes and freshen up for our 800pm flight to the mainland (5 hours after we checked out)! The rooms were cozy, the linens clean and the furnishings were modern and so different than what the so-called big-name brands offer! The morning breakfast was light and well-prepared and the staff provided us with towels and chairs for our daily trip to the beach. Don't be afraid to make this small hotel the big part of your stay on Waikiki!

  • Liked — The location was perfect, best part of Waikiki and close to Diamond Head!
  • Disliked — Very small lounge and breakfast area.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Renew for 4 nights as part of a round the world trip in December. We chose this hotel primarily from the good reviews given in Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Having arrived very early we were offered an upgrade sea view room which we duly accepted. Our room was modern, clean and bright with a comfortable bed and a compact workable bathroom. Our stay was unfortunately affected by storms which caused local flooding in and around the island. The Renew also suffered for a brief period with all available staff 'manning the pumps' in removing storm water from the stairs and lobby area. During our stay we were invited to attend a drinks/buffet reception as an opportunity to meet other guests as well as staff, which was very much appreciated.

The Renew is relatively small by comparison to the high rise hotel blocks that front Waikiki Beach, which was our principle reason for staying here, preferring boutique style accommodation where possible.

We would specially like to thank Will Micheals ( Bell/Valet) for his kindness, help and good humour in directing us each day to nice restaurants and other attractions close to the hotel. Although the hotel has limited facilities such as a pool, restaurant, lounge etc. this is more that compensated for the warmth and friendliness of the staff. A lesson that could be taken up by the 'prestigious' 4 and 5* hotels we stayed at on our trip.

Although our planned activities were disrupted somewhat by the weather ( Diamond Head closed due to slippery conditions on steps) I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — Flat screen TV + bed linen
  • Disliked — approach corridor poorly lit and a bit on the scruffy side
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.