We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel renew was a fantastic experience. It was located close to shops, the zoo, aquarium, beach and greay restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast that was part of the hotels amenity fee was really nice. We were also given free movies to watch and playstation games to play if we wanted. The only issue was the noisy ac. It was also quite noisy on the streets very early but that is part of its awesome location. All in all great experience at this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloa Flicks m,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your awesome review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience! It's our pleasure to provide an island oasis for our guests. We ar pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient location, delicious breakfast, movies, and gaming selection! We regret to hear about the challenges with your air conditioner, and appreciate that you brought them to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    539
    113
    40
    22
See reviews for
226
1,067
120
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you're planning to stay in Waikiki, but you prefer to be near and not IN the hustle and bustle of the main strip, this hotel is perfect. They're located literally one block from Waikiki beach; so you're within minutes of everything, while still immune to the noise and random tourists that wander into hotel lobbies, looking for a bar and rest room (I would know...we were one of those tourists).

Location aside, Hotel Renew really lives up to its promise of hospitality. They have regular cleaning services that keep the rooms sand free and very refreshing. Every morning, they stock fresh juices, coffee, and assorted pastries and fruits. And they offer free DVD rentals and pool/gym access to the Marriott across the street (we opted to go to the beach instead, but it's nice to have). Overall, Hotel Renew is a great combination of convenient and relaxing - I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Bonnie_and_Pauline,

Thank you for your outstanding review of your experience with us! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed our premier location. We are also thrilled that your room was clean, relaxing, and comfortable. Our personable staff, delicious breakfast, and Club Renew amenity package are part of what set us apart from other hotels. It's our pleasure to provide an island oasis for our wonderful guests with charming, modern ambiance. We wish you all the best in your future travels, and look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my younger sister stayed for 5 nights in September 2013 and booked a standard double room. When we arrived, we were informed that they accidentally overbooked and did not have a room for us until the following day. For the inconvenience, the fantastic staff put us up for one night in a breathtaking ocean view room w/lanai in their sister hotel Aston Waikiki Beach, right next door. They also gave us all amenities for free! When we returned to Hotel Renew the next day, they upgraded us to a beautiful ocean view room for free! The staff was amazing, the hotel was clean and modern, and it is in the perfect location, only 1/2 block from Waikiki Beach and a super short walk to all the shops/restaurants. The stay made it the most amazing vacation we have ever taken. I will most definitely return to Hotel Renew!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Sherritrosky85,

What a pleasure it was to read your excellent review! We are elated to hear that you and your sister had a fantastic stay with us last September! Despite the booking challenge, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful visit and that we were able to provide you with two beautiful ocean view rooms! We are glad that you found our premier Waikiki location to be convenient, and that we were a part of the most amazing vacation you have ever taken! We are humbled to receive such high praise about our staff and rooms, and sincerely look forward to another opportunity to serve you!

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our first trip to Waikiki and what we loved about this hotel was the location. We were close in walking distance to the beach, the zoo, restaurants and lots of shopping. This hotel is ideal for anybody's first trip to this beautiful island.

Please meet "Char" the bartender at the bar. She makes the most awesome Mai Tai's and Pineapple Mojito's we have ever had!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha Cecilia L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! We are honored that you chose to stay with us during your first visit to Waikiki! Our friendly staff is dedicated to providing a charming, relaxing stay for all of our guests. Your kind words are a marvelous encouragement for us to continue sharing Aloha with each of our visitors! I will make sure to share your sweet comments with Char! We wish you all the best in your future travels, and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days on business, then was joined by my wife for 5 days of vacation. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. I'll single out the main valet parking attendant and Casey, one of the bartenders, for being especially good.

The room itself was just okay. I had reserved under a discounted government rate, so I wasn't surprised to have a second floor room facing away from the beach (probably one of the least desirable rooms in the hotel), but the intermittent WiFi in the room was annoying. Also, the bathroom shower dripped continuously for most of our stay.

All that said, noone comes to Waikiki to sit in their room all day. The location, staff, and the free breakfast made this a good value for us, at least at the discounted rate I was paying. One last note -- at least for me, the $25/day valet parking fee was included together with the amenities fee, not on top of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Aloha DLG123111,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are elated to learn that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. Kasi is an excellent example of the Aloha we wish to share with our guests, and we will definitely relay your kind words to her! We regret to hear about the challenges you experienced with our Wi-fi service and the shower, we have asked our maintenance department to follow up. We are pleased that you found value in our convenient location, amiable staff, and delicious breakfast. Thank you for your suggestion about the parking and amenity package pricing. It’s our ultimate goal to give you an exceptional, magnificent stay in beautiful Waikiki, and your comments help us to better accommodate the needs of future guests. Should business or pleasure bring you back to Waikiki, it would be our privilege to welcome you back!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

But the only thing a little surprising was the lack of coffee in the room unless you payed for it,If you stayed one nite you got coffee in room but if you etayed a week you still only got it for one night a little cheap for a 4star hotel but location was great and bar staff as well

Room Tip: just not 201 very small you couldn't swing a cat as with all rooms without a view so watch out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha Randy B,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay. We only furnish 2 Keurig cups per room, but more are available for purchase at our front desk for $2.00 each. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Renew by Aston was a nice hotel with a great ocean view room for a reasonable price. The entire hotel was modern and clean in a great location, 1/2 block from the sand and near the Waikiki Zoo. There were a few issues which I feel compelled to comment on. First, upon our arrival, we were hit with a $25/day parking fee. The hotel is valet only. But, honestly, this worked out great for us. Many of the other hotels had lines pulling into their structures, where we only had to pull to the curb and leave it to the valet. That was definitely money well spent. And I'm almost positive every hotel has the same fee to park per day. Next, which was a surprise to me was another $25/day fee for amenities. The amenties include one free drink per guest upon check in, daily continental breakfast (consisting of coffee, fresh juices, fruit, patries, and muffins). This turned out to be something to look forward to first thing each morning. Also,included among the amenities was the free WIFI which didn't work 99% of the time. The pool and jacuzzi were located across the street at the Marriot. Happy hour was every evening from 5-9:30 in the tiny bar area. I have to mention that the bartender Char made the best mai tai I've ever tasted, hands down. In fact, all the staff was very friendly and helped to make our experience great. The hotel's location made pickup for our various activities very convenient. Overall, was a great trip with a nice hotel stay. The only negatives were the $25/day amenity fee and the lack of wifi.

Room Tip: ocean view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Guest Services Coordinator at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Aloha Christian B,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view, location, and modern decor of your room! It's excellent that you found value in our Valet Services. We are sorry about the challenges you experienced with our Wi-fi. We are currently evaluating ways to improve this service. Thank you for your kind words about Char. She is a shining example of the Aloha spirit that we aim to share with all of our lovely guests! We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo nui loa,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.