We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as I thought it would be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew to your Saves list
Hotel Renew
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Murwillumbah, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“As good as I thought it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent a week at Hotel Renew and were glad we chose this hotel for our second stay in Hawaii. All members of staff including check in, breakfast service and valet had impeccable manners and greeted us politely, happy to offer us any kind of assistance. Nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is located as the far east side of Waikiki, very close to the beach and a manageable walk to restaurants. Rooms were virtually sound proof with doors closed, we could go out on the balcony at night to take in the warm sea air and listen to the music coming from the Hula Grill next door. Breakfast was ample - juice, coffee, pastries, muffins, fresh fruit - it was enough to keep us going until lunch time. Was nice to be in a smaller hotel with less visitors and no children to be seen during our stay. Also stay was during my birthday and it was nice to come back from a day out to find a cheese platter and a well wishing note. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    570
    118
    41
    22
See reviews for
232
1,102
124
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I first stayed at Hotel Renew in October, 2011, and I wrote a stellar review of the property and its level of customer service here at Tripadvisor. Well, I returned this October (2013) to find that the Hotel was now run by Aston, something that was noticeable, unfortunately, in a negative way. While the staff and the level of customer service were still as great as I remembered them to be, what irked me was the new daily $15.00 resort fee, which really served an ugly reminder that the hotel was now part of a big-business, money-making endeavour. Back in 2011, I felt like Renew was a shining gem, a wonderfully kept secret, and that I, as a client, was among the privileged guests staying at what was then the 2nd ranked hotel in Honolulu on Tripadvisor. Fast-forward to 2013, and it doesn't surprise me that Renew's ranking has gone down. Back in 2011, it was the little things that Renew did so well that impressed me so much. But today those little things are overshadowed by the $15.00 resort fee and by the "by Aston" addition to the Hotel Renew signature. The hotel somehow became less special, more like every other hotel on the block, and, as a matter of course, the property lost its magic. And I'm not sure I would stay a third time because of this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel Renew in Honolulu and consider it a top notch little boutique hotel. We stayed in a king room on the ninth floor - very nice room with a great bed and wonderful view of Waikiki Beach. The only thing we missed having was a balcony, but for the money, it's definitely the best deal on Waikiki. Within walking distance of everything on Waikiki and a short walk to the bus stop and busses that can take you anywhere you want to go. The Hotel Renew also offered a quality breakfast with our room and took care of all our beach needs, i.e. towels, chairs, mats, etc. The staff and services were first-rate, and there were no surprises at checkout. We would stay there again if we ever make it back to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the top floors facing the beach have a stunning view, just like the photo on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a wonderful and lovely stay at Renew Hotel. The breakfast was greatly appreciated, as well as the loan of beach towels, chairs and body board.
The hotel staff is really nice, especially Angie and Paul who did everything they could to make our stay even more enjoyable.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

With a limited number of rooms, this hotel provides a more personal touch than the huge sleeping factories of Waikiki.
The staff is pleasant and efficient; reception, Valet, housekeeping... everyone smiles at you and is always ready to help.
Nice touches such as free breakfast and DVD rentals set it aside from the standard tourist fare around.
Our room on the top floor was very comfortable and quiet (as can be in Waikiki).
Good bedding added to our satisfaction.
The pool is located across the street - we didn't use it, why would you when the sea is around the corner?
If you like to be away from the hordes, yet less than 2minutes walk from the beach, I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Be as high as possible, on the small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here and would recommend it. Whereas much of the accommodation in Honolulu looks tired, this hotel lives up to it's renew title. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. We were fortunate to score a room on the top floor with a view over Waikiki beach which was about a 200 metre stroll and the staff were happy to provide towels and chairs to visit the beach. The trolley buses come past the front door to take you further afield. Breakfast was a simple affair but perfectly adequate, there is iced water available all day also, or you can buy a coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha DeborahWyndhamVale,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here at Hotel Renew by Aston. It’s always a pleasure to hear from our guests, and an honor to receive such a glowing endorsement. I’m glad that you enjoyed our premier location, which is just a few steps away from public transportation, and a short stroll to the beautiful waters of Waikiki Beach. Daily continental breakfast and in-room Keurig coffee machines are indeed amenities that we enjoy offering to our guests as part of “Club Renew”. I’m thrilled that the Renew Experience lived up to your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I chose to stay at hotel Renew because of its simple, stylish, and gay friendly setting. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised that it was all of these things and more. I was greeted with fresh pineapple juice and cold lemon-scented towels. My room was beautiful and everything I payed for (I booked the ocean king room). Monica the bartender was Amazing and provided not only great drinks but great insight to the island and made suggestions on where to go. We were given complimentary towels and mats for the beach. The hotel was cozy and quiet it felt private almost. Overall 5 star service. Special thanks to Monica, Paul and the whole Renew staff for making my trip to Hawaii AMAZING. Only issue is the $25 per day valet parking is a bit much but there are other cheaper parking options close by.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeli F, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha mcl7bn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It sounds like Hotel Renew by Aston was the perfect choice considering the characteristics you desire in a hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the cold, refreshing island welcome upon arrival, as well as the simplistic and modern style personality that our property possesses. We encourage all of our team members to rise above and beyond guest expectations, and certainly Paul and Monica are two of the best.

We look forward to your consideration in the future, and wish you the best until we meet again.

Mahalo,

Angeli F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.