We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, good location but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Neat, good location but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Renew for 2 nights whilst in Honolulu in June 2013. To close out our holiday after visiting other islands we were looking for a cheaper option than the Outrigger Waikiki we stayed at 2 weeks prior (great hotel). We chose this hotel based on location and most importantly price.

The hotel is a smaller hotel, no pool, no big bars or restaurants, no tourist desks, shops etc. Rather it's just a small reception, small bar that doubles as a breakfast room and perhaps 8-10 levels of rooms. It's about 125m (450ft) from the beach in a decent part of the strip. It is however a good walk to the key shopping areas and the glitzier part of town.

The Good: Clean rooms of a fair size. Decent bathrooms, modern décor - all feels new and fresh. Staff are great. Close to beach. Free wifi. A lot to like.

The Bad: Noisy. Very noisy. We stayed on the 4th floor and were woken a number of times by people talking in the hallways, people talking on the street and in surrounding car parks. Truck beepers and bins being emptied in the early morning was another treat. The worst of all was the air-conditioning. It's all or nothing with it roaring like a 747 engine all night. You can't adjust the fan speed either. Combine this with it blowing on the unlucky person to be sleeping on that side of the bed. We ended up just turning it off and dealing with a sticky night.

I hate whining about things that seem trivial, but this really did impact sleep quality and the overall experience. So much so that I would say don't stay here unless you are on a high floor and are a really deep sleeper.

It's a quality hotel with great staff and clean rooms.. but the noise ruined it.

Room Tip: High and away from the adjacent parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha Dave,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with Hotel Renew by Aston. We welcome and appreciate your comments. Hotel Renew by Aston is a one-of-a-kind 72-room property that offers outstanding guest service. Our property is favored amongst travelers who are comfortable in a smaller, more intimate environment. While we don’t have a pool or restaurant on property, we will soon offer our guests convenient access to a full-service fitness facility and two resort pools nearby, and there are numerous casual and fine dining restaurants located just steps away. We understand how important a good night’s rest is and always do our best to make our guests comfortable and happy. We urge our guests to visit our friendly front desk team as we are more than happy to handle any maintenance issues that may arise. Thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    540
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
227
1,067
120
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel Renew is a nice little boutique hotel situated at the western end of the Waikiki beach strip, but still ideally situated for beach, shopping and dining action. It has modern amenities which is a refreshing break from other hotels that still seem to retain tacky '80 decors (which i think is rife throughout Hawaii). Acceptable breakfast of pastries and fruits and very friendly, accommodating staff. Not a very atmospheric bar though for happy hour drinks. Some nuisances that I found - wireless internet was patchy at times and air con was terribly loud. Otherwise, a nice stay that I would still recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Renew by Aston. We appreciate your feedback and are working to improve in these areas. We're happy to hear that you had a stay nice stay overall, and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband & I booked Hotel Renew after months of researching & deliberating about which hotel we were going to choose for our honeymoon in April.

We chose to stay at Hotel Renew because it was a small boutique hotel with 72 rooms. We weren't worried that the hotel didn't have a pool as we knew the beach was 50 metres walk.

We could not thank or commend the staff of Hotel Renew enough, each & every staff member was polite, courteous, helpful & full of information - nothing was too much trouble for them.

We arrived at 8:00am in the morning, the staff had allocated us a unit on the top floor (which wasn't going to be available until check in at 3:00pm) however we wanted to have a rest before exploring the area so the staff allowed us to check into a unit (on a lower floor) but that didn't phase us.

The room & bathroom were immaculate & clean, the room was serviced each day & new towels were provided.

The hotel provided free wifi in each room & is a great bonus.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modern & boutique hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Hotel Renew by Aston. We appreciate hearing your positive comments, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was initially reluctant to stay in a hotel without a pool but having stayed 50 meters from one of the best beaches in the world it's easy to forget about it. This hotel was the best we stayed at in Hawaii. It's at the diamond head end of waikiki beach, but still within 5 mins walk along the foreshore to the centre of waikiki beach. Very modern interiors which is unlike almost all other hotels, and great front desk service to suit. Was pleasantly greeted with a cool towel and a refreshing drink on arrival. Free breakfast was a bonus.

Room Tip: Avoid the eastern corner of the building as it backs onto a noisy residential block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha Chris,

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to announce that we will soon be offering access to two nearby resort pools and a full-service fitness center. Of course, the beach is always a good choice as well. Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading tripadvsor and admit i was worried about only having a 3 star rating but this hotel was fantastic. We arrived at 8 am and they had a room waiting for us which was great after an overnight flight. Staff are super helpful and i was surprised we had such a great view of the beach. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff from beach towels to booking shuttle buses. I have booked this for my return journey on the way home. Highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha Wendy,

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Renew by Aston, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience here. The staff is so friendly, accommodating and helpful. They serve you fresh pineapple juice when you check in and they have beach chairs and towels available for guests free of charge! The hotel is right near the beach and the rooms are very nice and modern. They were also great about allowing us to check in early and check out late. We were on our honeymoon while we were there, and they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine! The continental breakfast is simple, but perfect for Hawaii and the coffee is delicious. The lobby can get a bit cramped during breakfast, but it's nothing major. All in all, we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Renew_by_Aston, Director of Marketing at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha Erin,

Thank you for the glowing review - we love hearing that our guests had a great stay. Hawaii is the perfect place to enjoy a honeymoon with our beautiful sunsets, warm waves and romantic beaches. Mahalo for choosing Hotel Renew by Aston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I went to Oahu to celebrate our 10th year anniversary. We stayed at the Hotel Renew and it was a good hotel and location for the price. Not too fancy but in all it was good. They lend you beach chairs and towels. The continental breakfast was good. The only thing I did not like was all the homeless people sleeping on sidewalks but they do not bother you. Look around for restaurants that have cheap meals, you will find it. Rent a car, it's a must but the parking will cost you a lot of money. There is a garage for $15.00 and another for $7.00 but that one is always full. The valet in the hotels are $25.00 a day. Free parking by the zoo but you do have to walk a little. Make sure to have sandals or sneakers because you will be doing a lot of walking. Bring comfortable clothing, like shorts and tanks. Everyone is dressed down. The happy hour drinks are all watered down at all the restaurants. It's best to spend a few more dollars to get a great drink. Most people shared their food and that's what bwe did to save money. Don't do any Luau's, not worth the money. They do Luau's on the beach for way cheaper and it's the same thing. Keep in mind the time change when traveling. You don't need to buy tickets to see Pearl Harbor if you are not going inside the ships. You can see and take pictures for free. The pier in Waikiki is very dangerous, lots of rocks and some people have died or broken bones when diving or jumping in. This vacation was the best avaction I have ever bneen on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.