We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good location both for the beach, and for shopping and restaurants.
We were not so lucky with the room 302, which had no view, no balcony and was quiet dark.
However the room was ok spacious and modern.
The staff at the hotel was the best I have ever met. Very helpful and friendly.
They gave us an early check in, and helped with tour booking, taxis and so on.
The breakfast was ok. Some of the pastries had meat and egg fillings, so it was not all sweet.
The place has no luxury feel, like some of the grand places in the area, but you feel very welcome there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    528
    110
    38
    21
See reviews for
225
1,051
120
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we (2 adults in the mid 30ies) stayed here for 4 nights in april 2013. Location is one block from the beach at the southern end of waikiki. we really liked this location as you could easily walk to all the action in waikiki but find a little quite time on the southerly beaches as well. hotel itself was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. room is big enough but nothing spectacular. the complimentary breakfast is in the lobby next to the small bar. seating is a little limited there. do not expect too much from the breakfast as it is just coffee, tea and some pastries. but it is decent enough to grab a bite before heading outside to the action.

Room Tip: higher lever and away from the elevator shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and for a "boutique" hotel, I'd have to say, just keep searching for a different one to stay in Honolulu.

Between the $25/day parking charge, mediocre breakfast (pastries are better at Safeway!), cramped room they put us in and NOISE from the garbage truck at 6am, you shouldn't pay $200 a night!

Having arrived late at night (around 10pm), I specifically booked a room with two double beds. We asked if there was a king bed available and they were going to charge us for the "upgrade". When we got to our room, there was ONE double bed and the room was TINY.

A nice lobby and modern touches doesn't warrant the price tag. The front desk people were nice and valet was fast with getting our cars but we won't be staying here next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here while we were on the island of Oahu for a week (for our wedding at Waimanalo Beach). The location, close to Diamond Head, is on a quieter and less crowded side of the Waikiki strip which was GREAT. But, of course, we were still close to all the great restaurants and shops the area offers.

THE ROOM! Oh my god. Top floor, ocean view window and a balcony with bistro table and chairs that looked at Diamond Head crater. It was breathtaking! My fiance and I used the balcony as an extension of the room most days. We made full use of the mini fridge, stocking it with great local beers and snacks. The king sized bed was super comfortable and the bathroom had more storage space than we even needed.

We used the hotel's valet service for our car and absolutely loved Adam. I looked forward to his sweet smile and greeting as we'd request our car or pull up for the night. I mention Adam, but all of the valets were fabulous. As far as hotel staff goes, EVERYONE was so friendly and accommodating—from each person manning the front desk to our room attendant, Tina.

I could go on and on, but nobody wants to read all of that. Here are my final thoughts: If traffic, big crowds, drunk beach-goers, and throngs of people attempting to be upscale are your thing then please don't stay here. Keep this gem for the folks who like peace and quiet, personalized service, and a relaxing unpretentious experience. Got a ton of kids and really wanna see one of those fake luaus? Then, the big high-rise resorts are more your speed.

Room Tip: Pretty sure room 906 is the best one they've got. Spend the money for a high-floor ocean-view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I found this place from recommendations of other admission counselors traveling to Hawaii for work trips. This little place is such a great find! Overall, there are positives and some drawbacks, but overall I will always choose this place to stay over others the in Waikiki area...

Positives:
Bed, pillow and comforter are all so soft and comforting - I sleep very well here
LARGE flat screen TV works well with many channels
Bathrooms are nice and modern - I love the night light feature
Free-WiFi is good - a must for our business travel needs
Black out curtains - keeps the room dark as desired
Free continental breakfast - good for the quick coffee on the go
Valet only - but they are super friendly and fast
1 block to beach and close to everything, yet away from the hectic and noisy part of Waikiki

Drawbacks:
No balcony - sucks to be in Hawaii without a balcony, but I got over it quickly - the beach is only 1 block away
Continental breakfast - they cut back a few months ago - don't expect much other than simple muffin, juice, and coffee. I miss the cereal :-(

Overall, love this place and can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There are many good things about this hotel. Location is good. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Staff is excellent. But, there are some things that could be better. The breakfast was sparse and the seating area for the breakfast was far too small. Your room could have a really poor view - guys sitting out in front of their cheap apartments all day long. Noisy area and it starts early in the day!

Room Tip: Make sure you know what your view will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved this little boutique hotel nestled just within a block of the southern side of Waikiki. The hotel staff were delightful, friendly and just over and above in all respects. The ocean view room was beautiful, and we loved the convenience of the free breakfast. The pastries were nice and the coffee was always perfect. I can't imagine why anyone would give this hotel a poor review. It was simply divine!

Room Tip: I loved the ocean view room. We stayed on the 5th floor, which was high enough to remove us from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.