We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was hoping for based on the reviews and the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Maui
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what I was hoping for based on the reviews and the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff for sure and I like the boutique environment. Room seemed dark and dirty, besides the white bed. The carpet felt sticky- slippers went on immediately. I moved the bedside table to find a plug and I wish I never had- so dirty and dusty- gross! Lack of detail for cleanliness thats for sure. I would have checked out but it was too late in the evening at that point. Bathroom was small, but adequate. For the price I would rather stay somewhere else. Would not go back. Too bad because I was hoping for more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    539
    113
    40
    22
See reviews for
226
1,067
120
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed four nights early March. Great location being only half a block to Waikiki beach. Room very roomy, bed comfortable and the view from the window fabulous. The staff were very helpful and many thanks to Paul for arranging our tour of Oahu. The juice and cold towel on arrival was a nice welcome. The continental breakfast and all day refreshment stand very nice too. All in all great value and great location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The decor was fantastic, the continental breakfast was plentiful, the location is superb, 1 block from the beach and in the middle of everything. The staff are extremely professional and very pleasant. All in all we had a great time. No pool or restaurant, but the ABC shop is right next door

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Renew for 2 nigthts. This hotel is only 1 block from the beach and it looks small tucked between two very large hotels but it is quiet and has all the amenaties we needed. The beds were very comfortable and we didn't hear a lot of noise from the streets. The bathroom was a little small but very serviceable. There was plenty of closet space with a safe in the room to proctect valabules. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We received a cold moist towel and a glass of juice while we checked in. We arrived early so they tagged our luggage and put it in storage untill our room was ready. The next day when I inquired about transportation to Pearl Harbor they called for a shuttle to pick us up. It was only $32.00 round trip for the 2 of us. They offered a complimentary continental breadfast of rolls, coffee, tea, & juice. They allowed me to print my boarding passes off their computer and stored our bags again when we checked out, as our flight didn't leave until late that night. The best part of their service was the use of a room set aside for use to clean up before we had to leave for the airport. This was really nice as we spent our day touring up and down the Waikiki beach area and were in need of a wash and clean clothes before we traveled home. Not the fanciest of hotels but the best value for your money you could find. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallidays Pt Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Bed was comfy and room was very clean. The renovations make a really nice modern room. I had a nice view of beach from side balcony . Convenient for tour pick ups , easy bus access. Was a noisy street though ......continental breakfast included. Easy walk to shops .
I would recommend this hotel if you plan to be out all day as the constant beeping noises from shuttles, buses and trolleys can be loud and irritating .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu,HI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great value, location, rooms! Plus a wonderful continental breakfast is included in the bar area!!! Very intimate and quiet and away from the roar of the nightlife which is an easy stroll away; in the center of Waikiki; a block away from the beach; on a quiet side street!!!

Room Tip: off of street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 3 nights, and the hotel was very nice, although it seems like not much from the outside. This is not a luxery hotel, but it is a good value for money. The staff at the reception and Adam the cute bell boy were super friendly. They have valet parking for 25$ a day, and There is a complimentry breakfast, but expect too much-coffee, juice and some crousnt.
The hotel gives beach mats and towels for free.
Its right near the beach, excellent place!
The rooms are very nice, clean, and bed was large, but not enogh light near the closet and room mirror.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.