We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT stay at Hotel Renew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT stay at Hotel Renew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my parents in an ocean view double-double until 19 Feb 2013. I requested a high room floor and was pleased to know we were on the top floor in 908 with beautiful views of the ocean. The room was a good size and didn’t feel too cramped even between the 3 of us. The large plasma was great and the beds were comfy with the fluffiest quilts I have ever used, heaven! Air Con was a bit noisy but didn't have any problems sleeping with it on.

The bathrooms have been remodelled and made a bit more modern. Good towels/robes/iron/ironing board provided. Little fridge was handy and enough space for our 3 suitcases. Amazing ocean view and good shutters to keep the room very dark when the sun came up.

The pineapple juice and cool towels on arrival was a nice touch. All workers were friendly and reception were so helpful photocopying things for us for no charge and providing towels, beach chairs and a bottle opener for the wine we took up to our room. The iced lemon water/hot water was a bonus in the lobby too.

The night we got there was their special cocktail night so we all got a free cocktail and free cheese/biscuits and salami which was lovely. Other nights they had happy hour $6 cocktails and cheap beer. One night even after the bar was closed a girl named Kasi stayed behind and made us cocktails/served drinks and bar snacks until well after closing time! She was so friendly and gave us a good overview of the island and interesting facts. She is an asset to the hotel and made us feel very welcome!

The free breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice and sweet pastries and muffins. It would be 10000x better if they provided a bit of fruit/cereal or yoghurt instead because the pastries etc. were way too sweet and doughy! Can’t complain for a complimentary service though. The young girl serving there was also lovely too and always having a chat to us. Our room attendants were all VERY friendly and so kind and genuinely interested in talking to us. Rooms were always VERY clean!

ABC store right next door for any supplies needed and a 10-15 min walk to Safeway supermarket up the road (near Leonard’s bakery). Out of the hussle and bussle of Waikiki too.
I will definitely be staying here next time I’m in Waikiki – great value and a nice modern small hotel to stay – less than a minute walk to the beach , right off the ‘main’ avenue. Perfect spot, very impressed.

Pros – free brekkie, free paper, beach towels and chairs provided, small hotel bar, daily housekeeping, good priced rooms, friendly workers, great spot, nice views, FREE Wireless internet, very clean hotel
Only cons- shower didn’t go that hot & a doughy sweet breakfast… but hey, it was free

Room Tip: upgrade to an ocean view, well worth the money. Ask for the 9th floor (top floor) for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    539
    113
    40
    22
See reviews for
226
1,067
120
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent 3 days at Hotel Renew on a stop-over in Honolulu. Good location at the far end of Waikiki. Short walk to the beach and the hotel gives you beach towels, mats and chairs. Rooms are well maintained but the decor is dark. A/C was our biggest complaint. Very old and noisy.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Complimentary continental breakfast is basic but can't fault it. Great coffee including decaf.

If you want to get away from the huge hotels in Waikiki then Hotel Renew is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Renew for several days prior to a cruise in Feb, 2013. We don't usually stay at boutique hotels but were impressed by the excellent reviews and a reasonable price. The reviews were right on. Convenient location with knowledgeable and helpful staff; the woman at the desk (didn't get a name) was especially helpful. On our last day after checking out, they took care of our bags while we walked around Waikiki; the Marriott across the street was not as accommodating for our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Renew for 3 nights while in Hawaii for a wedding. Every member of the staff that we interacted with was fabulous. The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and took care of any request that we had efficiently. The valet was always very quick with our car which was especially appreciated when we were pressed for time once or twice. We passed the man who was cleaning our room early one afternoon and he asked if it was okay if he went to lunch before cleaning our room...definitely wasn't necessary for him to ask, but gives you an idea of how much the staff wants to ensure that you have a perfect stay.

I normally look for a hotel with more of a restaurant/bar/outside patio in a location like this, but we really barely noticed as there is so much to do so close to the hotel. The location was really great for our purposes.

The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and definitely large enough considering that we were there to be outside enjoying the sunshine. I will agree with other reviewers who mentioned that the room is a little dark as there were times I was digging through clothes looking for a pair of black socks, etc. and found it a little difficult. Definitely wasn't a huge deal, though.

I definitely appreciated the complimentary wireless internet, cold lemon infused water, breakfast (the hotel's website clearly states that includes coffee, tea and choice of pastries so I did not have expectations beyond that as some reviewers had) and beach gear. The valet parking isn't cheap, but we were doing a lot of in and out driving to Diamond Head, snorkeling, North Shore, etc. so for us it was worth it.

I would absolutely recommend Hotel Renew to others traveling to this area of Hawaii.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Hotel Renew. The room was ample and bed was comfortable. This little hotel was one block from the beach and convenient to bus and shops. The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty, but the woman overseeing it was a gem. I apologize for not naming her specifically as I have forgotten her name in the interim. I looked forward to her smile and genuine welcome each day. Also pleasant were out housekeeping staff. One day during our stay they were replacing anll the duvea covers and linens with new and you could see the extra work was tasking, but there were smiles and welcomes none the less. If you are a light sleeper, you might request a higher room. Ours on the third floor did allow some street noise through a levered bathroom window. Overall, a great stay in HNL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Renew during a multi-stay trip acrosss Hawaii and LA and chose it because of the reviews on Tripadvisor.

The staff were very welcoming, gave us a drink when checking in and offered all sorts of bodyboards etc for the beach to use. The location is just off the main drag of Waikiki Beach which was ideal, only twenty steps away but far enough.

Breakfast was not amazing but did not expect a lot so probably up to expectation and at least gave you a coffee first thing. Room was pretty small but not sure of the standard for the area. We booked a Double Double for 2 adults and 2 children and it was tight but it was only for 3 days so OK but a longer stay would have made it more difficuilt.

Overall a good hotel and would look at it again, staff are a good asset, rooms could be slighlty bigger with a bit more light.

Room Tip: Look for a room not facing the front as it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the first hotel we visited on our honeymoon to Hawaii.
Hotel Renew has a very good location close to the beach and we recomment it when you only need a place to sleep and watch some television after you spend the whole day on the beach or elsewhere on Oahu. Mind you: the hotel does not have a restaurant or outside area, you have to go out. But on the other hand, there are so many places you can go to in Waikiki that you won't really miss it.

The rooms are small but cosey and fitted our needs. They are a bit dark though which for me wasn't really a problem but I would have liked it to be a bit more bright.
Very comfortable bed which I really enjoyed after a 24 hours travel from the Netherlands.

The staff is just wonderfull. They are very helpfull and friendly.
On our first night they brought over a bottle of Champagne because we were on our honeymoon and later they helped us getting a rental car for a decent price.

Breakfast is limited (but fresh) and complementary and so is internet access.

We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. We didn't have any....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.