We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, beautiful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Renew from 9-28 December 2012 – the most recent of several stays over the years – and as usual it was perfect. It’s rare for us to not have any complaints with a place after some 3 weeks but that’s the way it is at Renew!

The staff are divine. Some of the nicest, friendliest, most helpful people you will ever have the pleasure of encountering. A massive thank-you and “a hui hou” to Paul, Angie, Grace, Adam, Michael, Tina, Daniel, Chris, Kevin, Mae and many others. You always manage to make our stays such a pleasure as you are so kind, gracious and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and you always go the extra mile, whether it’s with a dinner recommendation, shopping tips or just showing genuine interest in our stay. No wonder it is always such a letdown to leave! It was tough to come home.

As usual, our room was perfectly maintained and a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle. We miss the ridiculously comfortable bed.

Am already counting down to when we next return. It’s that kind of a place!

Many thanks from your friends in Australia – the Jarro family xxx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    537
    112
    40
    22
See reviews for
226
1,063
120
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

How much do I love this hotel? Let me count the ways! It's lovely. A breath of fresh air when compared with the mega resorts nearby. The staff are warm and welcoming in a way only possible for a smaller hotel. The ambience is comfortable. The colors pleasing. The room, though not overly large, is roomy enough, so efficiently laid out, so pretty, and impeccably clean. And such a comfortable bed! Less than a block away from the quieter side of Waikiki beach, but not overly quiet. A nice continental breakfast. And a really nice bar that opens in the evenings with delightful bar staff and excellent drinks. I could go on!! No pool, but who needs a pool here. Kudos to owner and staff!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

my fiancé booked our room the about an hour before we arrived at the hotel. every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful - from valet to front desk to maintenance workers and everyone in between.

the rooms were very nice, felt very clean and it felt like we were the first people who have stayed in the room we were in. everything in the room felt like it was brand new. needles to say, we enjoyed staying in the room. but during the night we got thirsty and decided to grab a couple of drinks from the bar in the lobby. Kasi, who was our bartender was very attentive and personable to us and the other patrons who were enjoying some drinks while they watched the game.

i would definitely stay at hotel renew again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Another enjoyable visit to the Hotel Renew- very comfortable beds and loan of towels, beach chairs etc for our beach time. Stayed in a room with view of beach this time- wonderful sunsets!
When we checked into our room there was welcome back note with a plate of crackers, salami and cheese -delicious with cold beers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somervi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed a night at the Hotel Renew and we could not have enjoyed it more. It was our second time in Waikiki within about an eight day period, and we wanted to stay at a smaller hotel having spent two nights on the front end of our trip at the Moana Surfrider hotel. I am so glad we did this; the boutique hotel experience was a nice contrast to larger hotel experience that we had enjoyed.

The staff was amazing at every turn. From check where they had delicious fresh drinks and wet towels for us upon arrival, to the help booking a tour we received, to the delicious drinks at happy hour, I can’t say enough good things about this hotel.

The rooms aren't huge, they are cozy but they are very well designed to utilize the space. The decorations were nice and the hotel lobby was great. We arrived early and the hotel let us check in and upgraded us from 2 double beds to a king size bed which was a welcome surprise.

We stayed at the hotel on the last day of our trip to Hawaii and our flight home wasn't until late in the evening on our checkout day. They were willing to give us a late checkout but suggested we may benefit more from use of the hotels courtesy room. This is a regular room that guests can “reserve” for an hour the day before after they have checked out, so that they can shower and change. I was delighted when the front desk person told me about this and willing to pay for the service, then they informed me this was a courtesy and there is no charge for the room. What a great amenity, this allowed us to do a tour that morning, go to the beach and swim and not have to fly home covered in sand. Even the bell hops seemed genuinely appreciative when we tipped them for storing our bags for us, and arranging transportation to the airport.

The Hotel Renew isn't the biggest hotel, it doesn't necessarily have the best views (though we had a very nice view from our room), nor from the outside will it knock your socks off, but when you stay here you will have a great stay. I know that if I am back in Waikiki I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca,ark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow ,it's hard to start. This was to celebrate our 20th anniversary.We were greated by great desk reception,pineapple juice and cool towels were fantastic. We had a very quick check-in and we were taken to our room (907),our room was a king ocean partial ocean view, this is a straight out view of the ocean. Yes, there are tall hotels on each side but, you still have a great view of the activity on the beach,the surfers (surf school and board rentals about 2 blocks away), you can see the glass bottom subs out just a little ways.
Our room was spacious,wonderful bed,each person had a soft, fluffy pillow and a firmer one,helps to meet everyones desire.Always had clean towels,they will change the sheets daily if you want,but didn't think that was neccessary,we don't do that at home.
The staff was wonderful about getting us shuttles when we needed,and gave good information about things we ask about and sites to see. The zoo is about a block away, the aquarium is about a 2 to 3 block walk down the beach.
Shopping,Eveywhere, all kinds of shops right down the sidewalk either way down the beach area,international market about 6 to 7 blocks to the west,good places to eat all along the way, found cheeseburger in paridise, must try place.
Our stay was 12/23/12-12/27/12 over the Chritmas holiday and into our anniversary,this is a very busy time there, but the staff always made you feel like you were the only ones there,though they were pretty much maxed out. To the management and staff, don't change anything, every one is very good and the management should be proud to have a great team working for them. Randy

Room Tip: rooms 01 thru 05 face the ally/street area, rooms 06 thru 10 face moor to the beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a girls shopping holiday. The good: it's small so you get personalised service and it is very quiet, the decor is very modern especially compared to the somewhat OTT decor in the other resorts and it's located at the quiet end of Waikiki away from the crowds but still 1min walk to the main shopping strip. The bad: nothing really except you shouldn't stay here if you prefer a resort with a pool but the protected beach was enough for us. Yes the breakfast area isn't adequate but we just grabbed a juice and yogurt on the go anyway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.