We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off - $169
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Mililani
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“local review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice, quaint hotel with nice staff and convenient but quiet location. Two fantastic bartenders (Jacky and Jacky) and a great pet-friendly place (we took our dog on this stay-cation with us). Definitely will be back and would like to make this an annual vacation place for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,085
    513
    106
    34
    21
See reviews for
220
1019
118
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel rooms were quite small and dark but overall it was a convenient hotel, good location right near the beach and bars/restaurants etc. The continental breakfast was also nice and convenient and the hotel loaned us beach chairs, towels, boogie boards etc. which was good. The valley parking is expensive though - $20 per night. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Found this hotel after searching for the 'right' one and thought it sounded great - right from the location, away from the madding crowd, great serene beach front and easy to find, the greeting and service was second to none. Well done team - you do the Aloha spirit proud and not fake at all!!! Great renovation - doesn't feel like a renovated hotel and fantastic room - everything was really stunning, modern and spacious for Waikiki. We really loved it and even though we usually don't stay long in Waikiki it made the sat very enjoyable. Good breakfast and loved the iced lemon water in the foyer - really nice touches that I hope you maintain 'cause we'll be back!! Well done and highly recommended!!! Oh yes and the pineapple juice and the cool towel on arrival were lovely touches!!

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is a bad one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

At check-in we were greeted with a very friendly and efficient staff. Before we knew it the room was assigned and the bellman had our luggage in the room awaiting our arrival. A fresh cool scented hand/face towel and a refreshing glass of pineapple juice was just the right touch after our travels.

The location is ideal if the beach is what you're after. It's just a block from the famous Waikiki Beach! Our first room (902) was nice, however there was a faint sewage smell from the bathroom. We upgraded to an ocean view room (806) and was pleasantly surprised to find a balcony. Worth the upgrade for fresh air and an outside spot away from the busy streets.

With only 72 rooms, this hotel is a nice alternative from the big box over crowded hotels along the beach!

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash (if you can) for a ocean side view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Renew several times--location is excellent, at the quieter end of Waikiki, extremely close to the beach, close to the bus, and within walking distance or a quick bus ride of several excellent local-style restaurants on Kapahulu. Staff is all very helpful, room is very well appointed, modern, and beds are super comfortable. My only suggestion: they used to offer cereal/milk, fresh fruit, and yogurt at breakfast, and now they seem to have done away with those options and give you only pastry, which didn't work for us as breakfast. Please bring back the other options!

Room Tip: there are trucks that come in (garbage? service?) to nearby hotels around 4am, so if you are sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here the last time we were in Honolulu and we had an amazing time so we decided to go back again.

The place is still very well maintained. Rooms were very cleaned. Staffs are amazing.

We were in contact with the Reservation manager before our stay and we got a "welcome back" card plus a fruit platter as a thank you for us to return to their hotel.

This time we actually rented a car and the valet was quick. I don't think we ever had to wait for more than 2 minutes. Breakfast was still good.

One minor thing would be the water in the shower. I would prefer it to have hotter water (even though it is Hawaii), I guess its just my personal preference. No harm in providing guests the choice of hotter water, right?

I've already been in-touch with the hotel for our return stay next June for our wedding. This will be our #1 choice for our guests as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The minute we walked into Hotel Renew, I knew I had a made a great choice. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile and map to show you which way to go. Our rooms were stylish with just a couple of small maintenance issues (loose faucet and tap in the shower). There was room for our suitcases, a safe and lovely large comfortable bed.

The included breakfast consisted of tea, coffee and juice with a selection of pastries. Simple and served down in the bar area. We were also able to hire beach towels, mats and chairs for free from the front desk staff.

This hotel is a gem. The location is perfect for a stroll through the central Waikiki area and although mostly quite busy, when we travelled (right after Thanksgiving and before school holidays) it was remarkably quiet. Hotel Renew made our stay very memorable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked city view rooms but if you can afford it, choose a sea view room as most of the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.