We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for Waikiki Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew to your Saves list
Hotel Renew
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal Location for Waikiki Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

At check-in we were greeted with a very friendly and efficient staff. Before we knew it the room was assigned and the bellman had our luggage in the room awaiting our arrival. A fresh cool scented hand/face towel and a refreshing glass of pineapple juice was just the right touch after our travels.

The location is ideal if the beach is what you're after. It's just a block from the famous Waikiki Beach! Our first room (902) was nice, however there was a faint sewage smell from the bathroom. We upgraded to an ocean view room (806) and was pleasantly surprised to find a balcony. Worth the upgrade for fresh air and an outside spot away from the busy streets.

With only 72 rooms, this hotel is a nice alternative from the big box over crowded hotels along the beach!

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash (if you can) for a ocean side view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WereTravelinLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel Renew several times--location is excellent, at the quieter end of Waikiki, extremely close to the beach, close to the bus, and within walking distance or a quick bus ride of several excellent local-style restaurants on Kapahulu. Staff is all very helpful, room is very well appointed, modern, and beds are super comfortable. My only suggestion: they used to offer cereal/milk, fresh fruit, and yogurt at breakfast, and now they seem to have done away with those options and give you only pastry, which didn't work for us as breakfast. Please bring back the other options!

Room Tip: there are trucks that come in (garbage? service?) to nearby hotels around 4am, so if you are sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1985Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here the last time we were in Honolulu and we had an amazing time so we decided to go back again.

The place is still very well maintained. Rooms were very cleaned. Staffs are amazing.

We were in contact with the Reservation manager before our stay and we got a "welcome back" card plus a fruit platter as a thank you for us to return to their hotel.

This time we actually rented a car and the valet was quick. I don't think we ever had to wait for more than 2 minutes. Breakfast was still good.

One minor thing would be the water in the shower. I would prefer it to have hotter water (even though it is Hawaii), I guess its just my personal preference. No harm in providing guests the choice of hotter water, right?

I've already been in-touch with the hotel for our return stay next June for our wedding. This will be our #1 choice for our guests as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The minute we walked into Hotel Renew, I knew I had a made a great choice. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile and map to show you which way to go. Our rooms were stylish with just a couple of small maintenance issues (loose faucet and tap in the shower). There was room for our suitcases, a safe and lovely large comfortable bed.

The included breakfast consisted of tea, coffee and juice with a selection of pastries. Simple and served down in the bar area. We were also able to hire beach towels, mats and chairs for free from the front desk staff.

This hotel is a gem. The location is perfect for a stroll through the central Waikiki area and although mostly quite busy, when we travelled (right after Thanksgiving and before school holidays) it was remarkably quiet. Hotel Renew made our stay very memorable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked city view rooms but if you can afford it, choose a sea view room as most of the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniepops99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

After lots of research we decided to book at Hotel Renew and I was a little nervous because I have a pretty high standard when it comes to hotels. We booked a city view with 2 doubles because that was the only type of room available. We put in an email request for an ocean view room if it became available and also I called a few days before. When we arrived late Sunday night the staff member was pleasant and they had set us up in the ocean view room! We were really happy with this! Our stay was great, the beds comfy and the rooms updated. We loved the morning coffee and pastries-but we really loved "happy hour". Kasi was so friendly and made a fantastic pineapple mojito. She was actually a huge highlight of our trip to Waikiki-she and Jacki gave us recommendations of where to eat and where to go. We loved them and all the staff. I would come back here in a heartbeat. Can't wait til next time!

Room Tip: we stayed in# 908 it was quiet and had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This smallish hotel just off one of Waikiki's main drags markets as a "boutique" hotel, but that is probably pushing the envelope a bit: let's say it's a very nice property with modestly upscale ambitions that it (mostly) achieves. The main thing is that the rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable, with fine toiletries, and it's less than three minutes in your flip-flops to the beach. And really that's all you want in a place like Honolulu. The other bright spot is the staff, which is extremely capable and friendly. Bright, however, is not a word to describe the halls, which are dingy and appear to belong to the mid-20th c. Breakfast is included, but this is limited to coffee and Costco-type pastries, which you consume on stools in a space just off the lobby. For the price, though, this is a very good deal, and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCE1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great barrington ,MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent the last 2 of our 14 nights in the islands here. I had been excited about seeing Waikiki, but must admit after spending time in Maui and Kauai, as well as haleiwa, I was not thrilled to be spending our last two days in the city, once there! Too many people on the beach! Too many people, everywhere! However, the beach was nice to see, restaurants plentiful and so many shopping options! Hotel Renew was a great get away from the busy Waikiki streets! Small, but wonderful. Curteous staff, yummy chilled pineapple juice and lemongrass scented washcloths at check in! Our room was big, clean and comfy. Bed was comfy, lighting is fun!!!! And bathroom was refreshing... Shower had a window you could open and look out a city while showering. Nothing extravagant, but still different. I would consider Hotel Renew again, although not sure if I would spend more time in Waikiki.... Feels a lot like south beach in Florida and I don't want to waste a 10 hour flight to hawaii for that!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tequila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,921 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing