We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #14 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I come to Honolulu on business a few times a year and always stay here. Love the boutique NYC hotel feel and the friendly staff. Jackie (sometimes behind the small lobby bar and sometimes at check in) is always so charming and makes me laugh.
The rooms are hip and there's not an ounce of Waikiki cheese, thank gawd!
Always sleep well in the big comfy beds and love the lighting system. (I know, dorky, but I love it.)

Room Tip: Ask for and 09 room, has a good ocean view. So 309, 609, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,082
    513
    107
    36
    20
See reviews for
221
1026
120
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with this hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was big enough (we had the oven view king). The air con was noisy but didn't keep us awake. The location was central and close to everything, plus the ala moana trolley. If you want to save on parking go to the Waikiki banyan (?) around the corner. The staff were very friendly and helped out when asked. They got us cheaper car rental at enterprise. The breakfast is just pastries (no toast or ceral) so we went to the abc next door and got cereal and milk very cheaply. Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Waikiki can be so hectic and impersonal. But, not Hotel Renew. From the moment I walk in there is a peaceful, zen feeling. The lobby is well appointed, and actually feels spacious, for what could easily be interpreted as a small space. The red anthuriums floating in a black fountain are always so beautiful to see. One of my favorite things is to be greeted by the warm and friendly staff. All of them are an absolute pleasure. Whether I am returning from a morning walk or a long day of work, I am always greeted by name and a warm smile. The staff at Hotel Renew are terrific. The rooms are also well appointed with a comfortable bed, flat screen, large desk and comfortable chairs. It's modern zen with everything you need. I absolutely love it and highly recommend Hotel Renew.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We liked it - close to beach, friendly simple service. The room was nice, clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast downstairs was a nice touch - basic but good to have!

No pool - so you really are limited to the beach.. and it's a bit of a walk (15 mins) from main Waikiki shopping strip and major hotel strip (if u need to connect to others).

Overall good value - would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently returned from a vacation/ business trip to Hawaii and Hotel Renew in Waikiki Beach, was by far my favorite, upscale boutique hotel. Hotel Renew is a wonderful alternative to the big box, impersonal hotel chains which are all too prevalent on Waikiki Beach. From the minute I arrived and until the time of my departure, service was prompt, friendly, attentive and genuine. I stayed in an ocean view room with two double beds and an endless selection of TV channels on a widescreen TV. The room was chic and the bed and linens were luxurious and comfortable. The weekly manager's reception is a great way to meet other guests from around the world as well as hotel staff and management--all were more than willing to share tips on restaurants, tours and sites of interest. Given the level of service and the pleasant attitude of each and every staff member, I couldn't help but feel that management not only has the utmost respect for its guests but also for its employees. Hotel Renew has great karma and a wonderful attitude that shines!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a great view of the beach, waves and street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights the end of November. The hotel provided exactly what we were after. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. Location-wise near the beach and a convenient bus stop. Only criticism would be that breakfast was very 'stodgy' and heavy as it was only pastries and coffee. The addition of some fresh fruit would have been appreciated! But overall couldn't really have asked for more as we're not into all the frills associated with most hotels and found everything we needed in this small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta,
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We first stayed at this Hotel in January 2007. It's rating then was only a 2 Star Hotel, but what made it stand out then, was the excellent Customer Service provided by Head Housekeeper Leonor Wong. Sadly, Leonor left this hotel 2 years ago, but her training of the Front Desk staff is still very much in evidence. Special mention this time to Chris & Adam, who were just super friendly & helpful, but Kudos must go to Jackie, who bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable in our room, found the best places to eat, went on the right buses to go to the Mall & just generally made any question we had, no trouble to find the answers.
The rooms have certainly changed since 2007 with some nice renovations to them, also the front lobby. My husband & I were on a cruise to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary & then stayed 3 nights at the hotel after the cruise. The Management acknowledged our special occasion, by sending a small plate of cheese, meat & crackers to our room.
Apart from the great customer service, it's the location of this hotel to Waikiki Beach. It is less than half a block & is quite reasonably priced, I imagine. I have to admit, I liked the prices in 2007 better. And as mentioned by others, the Continental Breakfast is really just juice, danish & sweet rolls. But, a great bonus as before, we were able to have our luggage kept secure for us by the Hotel, while we spent our last day in Honolulu & then were given the use of a room to shower, change & get ready for our late night flight back to Canada. Would I still recommend this Hotel? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with glass doors for showering!!! We were given a room like this to change in for ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.