We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location closer to Diamond Head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive 15% Off - $169
Ranked #13 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great location closer to Diamond Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I use trip advisor for all of my hotel bookings and decided on Hotel Renew based on the positive reviews. I was not let down and was extremely happy with this Hotel. It is in an excellent location that is close to The Zoo and is a less frantic than the heart of Waikiki. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Hawaiian Hotel as an example. The Hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. Hotel Renew is a half block to the beach and is closer to the beach than a lot of hotels nearby. The hotel serves a basic breakfast of coffee, tea, pineapple juice and pastries which is perfect to get you started. The hotel is almost next door to an ABC Store where you can buy all your basics. Next to this hotel are the bigger hotels Aston Waikiki and Waikiki Beach Marriott. There are some good restaurants with entertainment and a nice vibe such as Tiki's bar and grill at the Aston Waikiki and Lulu's Waikiki which is in the same block. The food at the Wolfgang puck express below the the Aston was not good and I would avoid it if you can. All in all Hotel Renew was perfect as it was close to everything, the staff were friendly and they would provide you with beach towels and mats for your day on the Beach. I would definitely return to the Hotel Renew.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    511
    105
    34
    21
See reviews for
219
1016
118
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

WOW! I loved everything about this hotel. From the complimentary pineapple juice upon arrival and the relaxing/modern rooms, I couldn't have asked for more. We stayed in room 805(corner room) and I prefer them over any other room. We didn't have an ocean view, but they city-view kind was just as nice. We were in Hawaii and it was enough. The beds were beyond comfortable and I really enjoyed them. If I ever come back to Hawaii I will return to hotel renew. There is no doubt in my mind :) loved you guys so much!!!! So friendly!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the second part of our vacation. We've been to Waikiki and stayed in larger hotels. Renew was great because it did what was simple and dud it very well. There is no catering on site except a continental style breakfast but with so many restaurants in Waikiki it's not a worry .

The staff really made our vacation great and efficiently dealt with any request we had. Only negative j can think if was the shower in our room wasn't too strong but that is a minor issue.

We missed the shuttle for one of our trips and when the company called out hotel looking for us the staff knew exactly show we were and were able to say we had headed out for trip with towels etched. The matter was quickly sorted and our shuttle came back to the pick up point. Great service,

We'd have no hesitation recommending this wee gem or staying their again.

We should also mention the girl in the bar at Renew who was great. Her Belfast accent impression was the best we've come across. Don't know her name but she was a big Sons of Anarchy fan!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon at hotel Renew and we were really happy with the location as wellas the service and valet parking. close to the beach, located centrally in Honolulu, i would definitely come back here again. clean rooms, friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back, we did have an ocean view, but not really from the balcony. We could howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I returned here on business for the second time this year. Upon arrival, I was reminded why we select Hotel Renew: it's the incredibly friendly staff. Each day of our stay, Adam and Daniel looked out for our every need. They remembered us by name instantly, and made us feel like we never left. And be sure stop by the bar for a drink with Jackie, who provides tasty drinks and great entertainment with her engaging personality. The hotel is everything you'd want from a boutique hotel, but it's the staff that will keep us coming back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed for 10 days for pleasure and had a wonderful time and great service from Daniel, Paul, Pearl and esp. Adam!!! He was great with our twins. We stayed on the 9th floor with a great view of the beach, wish had a balcony.......We left feeling RENEWED!!!!!
Vandekamp Family

Room Tip: had room 908
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Location and staff are excellent but the hotel itself was not value for money. If the interior looked as nice in the rooms and corridors as it does in the lobby, it would be much nicer.

First room - One day when we were out a panel fell off the window shutters, knocking over a lamp and some of our belongings. Then the air conditioner stopped working after a few days and we were transferred to a second room.. which ended up being worse than the first.

Second room - had a smaller TV than the first, shower/bath plug was blocked so we would shower in ankle deep water and window shutters could not close properly. Hotel room service also woke us up one morning at 8.30am and was politely told to return after a few hours.

Complimentary continental breakfast is just 3-4 different types of pastries and juice/coffee/tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear JW123246,
We appreciate that you chose to stay at Hotel Renew and for taking the time to post feedback in regards to your recent stay. It is with guests feedback that we can focus on areas that need improvement to better serve guests needs.

I am greatly pleased to read that the location and staff was beneficial and helpful. Our staff certainly always try to go above and beyond expecations.

I am very saddened to hear about the inconveniences you had encountered during your time here. We always try to do our utmost best to correct problems and concerns that guest encounter. Should we have been advised of the room issues, I assure you that corrective action would have been taken immediately. I would like to extend my apologies for having to endure such inconveniences.

In spite of above mentioned, I sincerely hope that your time here on Oahu was a great one. Thank you again for choosing Renew. Happy holidays to you.

Warmest Aloha,
-Michael Otto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.