We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renew by Aston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renew by Aston to your Saves list
Hotel Renew by Aston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel and amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were in Waikiki only for a few days and Hotel Renew was perfect for us.

The room was second to none with a fantastic view, balcony and comfortable king bed. The location was great for shopping etc, as well as getting to the beach. It was really helpful to have the chairs and mats etc provided.

By far the best part of the hotel was the staff, from our welcome greeting to our departure all of the staff were amazing (especially Adam, even if he did help my wife beat me at chess for the first time ever). They also make a mean cocktail.

We could not recommend this place highly enough and we will definitely be back next time we are in Waikiki.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    540
    114
    40
    22
See reviews for
227
1,067
120
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 10 days here in city-view rooms with my significant other - the hotel lives up to the rave reviews and the 'renew' in its name, with all qualities I prioritize: comfort, service, convenience, and great value for the area.

LOVED:
-Refreshing pineapple juice and towels upon check-in, they bring your bags up and explain everything to help you settle in.
-Responsive, friendly, relaxed service! (A slow drain bath was quickly resolved, plus Hurricane Sandy travel delays that forced us to stay 2 unexpected extra days was handled with reassuring calm by the terrific staff)
-Basic but nice/handy daily breakfast in the lobby (pastries, kona coffee, tea, great juice), with iced water and hot water available rest of the day (I bought teabags and had lovely teas all day)
-Modern, clean rooms in calming/muted tones
-Comfy, supportive beds (I have insomnia & slept soundly)
-Special touches: robes in the closet, clever/adjustable light switch dimmers, local events printed for you at check-in, beach towels and mats free to borrow, even a post-check out shower room you can book for 1 hour (to freshen up before departure)!
-Trolley stop outside door, ABC convenience store next door, bus stops nearby
-Only 2-3 minute/half-block walk to beach and walking distance to many Waikiki shops, restaurants - along with the zoo, aquarium and various Kapahulu Ave. restaurants (-->Try Kapahulu Ave's "Ono Hawaiian Foods" and "Side Street Inn" for yummy local fare - I lived 18 years in Hawaii and it's the real deal!)

VALUE:
We booked city-view rooms without an ocean view, but it was great value considering it was Waikiki ($175-185/night for a double - truly, anything $200 or less in Waikiki is a bargain) - besides, the real ocean is practically on your doorstep! Valet parking is $25/day, typical for Waikiki.

We both left feeling rejuvenated (even amidst a state-wide tsunami warning and unexpected travel delays from Hurricane Sandy - that says something about this hotel!), I would happily go back and recommend this place to those who like comfort, service, convenience and value for the area.

Room Tip: City view rm 903 was quiet on top floor, rm 705 was also pretty quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for a week with my husband. We had booked the Ocean view room which was great. Compared to the other hotels in the area, I think Hotel Renew looks a lot more modern but is reasonably priced.

We really had the perfect stay:
- service was great
- the rooms were very modern and clean
- the complimentary breakfasts were awesome (always a great selection of fresh fruit)
- hired body boards for free
- only a very short stroll to the beach and shops

Can't wait to come back here on our next holiday!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This past week was our 3rd visit with the Hotel Renew. We were once again greeted with great service and had a very comfortable stay. We have recommended this boutique property to many friends and family members, and if you like a more initmate/modern/personalized service kind of place, the Hotel Renew is for you. Beds are incredibly comfortable too! We will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days on our last stop before returning home. Read a number of the reviews and decided to stay at this hotel. Some of the reception staff was lovely, especially Adam. The hotel is boutique style and appears to be a renovated and done up hotel with a few areas showing the cracks since it opened a couple of years ago. We got a city view room as we had previously stayed in an ocean front room in another hotel. The room is on the small side but acceptable. Air-con makes this on and off loud rumble which is quite annoying, sounds like the air con is on its last leg... Bathroom is ok, but beware your items on the shelf separating the sink and toilet may accidentally fall into the toilet when u reach for it on the sink side - design flaw but i guess it makes the bathroom look bigger. Funny do not disturb card which actually says the room is being made up for the next guest so do not disturb... we didn't know whether to use it as a 'do not disturb' card or not... Got woken up by housekeeping at 845am in the morning, not impressed... Beware the walls are actually quite thin - we could hear every word and 'activity' of our neighbours when we walked pass their room in the corridor... Free wifi was good but had to log in every time. We saw the tiny size of the breakfast area so we didn't even take on the free breakfast deal seeing there were all sorts of choices in Waikiki. Good location half a block from the beach and practically right next to the trolley stop. Lovely for hotel to provide beach towels, mats and boogie boards. Overall ok stay but didn't really think it lived up to its No.5 ranking (i guess people with ocean view will probably rank them higher). No kettle =(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii so we wanted everything to be special for our 25th wedding anniversary. I felt good about booking Hotel Renew after months of internet research. I was very disappointed! After driving by several times trying to find front entrance to register, I finally called hotel and was told to pull up front and bell man would come out. The staff was very nice and helpful though. Our room was on 4th floor and our view was of parking lot and apartments. The halls was dark and I dont think the hotel had security. The room was too small to spend a week in comfortably. The room was musty smelling and felt damp. The air condition never worked properly. The rooms and halls was very worn and the carpet was gross. Valet parking was 25.00 a day. We changed hotels after 2 days through Expedia. I'm still not sure how much credit I received because we paid ahead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plouie, Manager at Hotel Renew by Aston, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear tracy b b,
First off, congratulations to you on your 25th wedding anniversary! We greatly appreciate you chose to stay at Hotel Renew for such a special occasion.

I am saddened to read your time here wasn’t as you expected. I do apologize about the room issues. Should the front desk had been informed of the concerns, we would have done all we could to remedy the situation. Parking here in Waikiki is very limited and therefore majority of the hotels offer only valet parking. Our valet fee is $25 while many other properties charge higher rates including Waikiki Beach Marriot at $37, Hyatt Place at $35 and Hilton Prince at $35. I can assure you that our valet service is very quick and efficient than other hotels.

On the other hand, I am pleased that you did find the staff to be nice and helpful. In regards to the credit, we have only charged Expedia the 2 nights that you did stay with us and therefore you should receive credit from Expedia for the other nights.

In spite of the issues, I sincerely hope your time here on Hawaii was a great one. Once again, thank you for choosing Hotel Renew.

Warmest Aloha,
D. Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

It was our first time in Hawaii (my wife & I) didn't really know what to expect from the city hotel however it ended up being one our best vacations, as a first time visitor I have to say when you are in a big 5 stars hotel having the best room (if the hotel staff aren't friendly it will ruin your experience) at hotel renew I had one of best experiences (very friendly worm and charming staff) Adam & Michael helped us with almost all of our activities.always smiling and made us feel at home.
Thanks everyone at hotel Renew (we will be back)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renew by Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew by Aston

Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew by Aston 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew by Aston is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renew by Aston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew By Aston Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renew by Aston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.