We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Schofield Barracks

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Schofield Barracks
Save
You added Inn at Schofield Barracks to your Saves list
563 Kolekole Avenue, Wahiawa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96786   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Adequate Lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Pros: good in-room wifi connection, spacious room, on-post convenience Cons: dated facility, thin walls, limited dining options in near vicinity. Front desk staff is friendly, but may not be too helpful at times. There's a snack bar with breakfast and lunch service. Daily breakfast special is very good for money. Nearby Kolekole Bar & Grill offers decent bar food. It's closed on Thursday as we found out. Don't expect a romantic Hawaiian get away at this location, but it's adequate for short business trip. Easy short trip to Haleiwa and North Shore.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    10
    6
See reviews for
6
1
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zama, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I stayed in Feb 2015, a little over a year since my 2014 stay. I could not believe how much and how fast the facilities have been degraded. I was a little disappointed due to the good service, nice, clean and comfortable the rooms were. The washers and dryers were very ragged. The rooms were not at all as clean as they use to be. The water was not hot and had very little water pressure. The toilet had feces stand on them the entire stay – even after reporting it to housekeeping it still remained. We will not mention the roaches. I guess I expected the same great facility with the same great service. With the world changing to technology why do they provide the worst WIFI ever. It was not at all worth the price it cost to stay there. My question, is of all the services while the Army has the worst lodging? What must we do to convince the government that our soldiers and their families deserve better? I was totally disappointed. The only benefit to staying at the hotel this time was the benefit of location.

Room Tip: Don't expect much you want be disappointed. The AC worked great but the fan was very loud. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Been here for 2 weeks already. Not once have we had hot water. It gets somewhat warm for a little bit but not warm/hot enough to feel clean. We have told the front desk multiple times. All they say is let it run for a little bit. So I let it run for an hour and still nothing.
Other than the hot water thing it isn't that bad. The rooms are pretty clean and the people who work here are nice.
The laundry room is a bit pricey but so is all of Hawaii.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Rooms do not have kitchenettes. Clean but many families stay a long time. If you get a certificate of non- availability you have to keep checking back or they will cheat you out of TLA and say we had availability so no full TLA. Nothing like cheating military families.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The laundry facilities are terrible: $0.25 in a dryer gets you 8 minutes, at best. Then you may or may not be able to select the dryer setting that you want. The wifi hardly works. You literally have to cross your fingers and stand on a wing and a prayer to get a weak signal. Some of the staff are the rudest that I have encountered especially considering that the hotel is located on a military installation. The walls are paper thin and the neighbors and staff are nosy. When you are close to the end of your TLA the front desk will call you for a week straight trying to see when your leaving. A very poorly run establishment.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I am a veteran serving the military as a contractor. I stayed at the Inn for a week.
One of the big reasons to stay at this hotel is you are out of the traffic of Honolulu and Waikiki if you are visiting to work at Schofield or have official business here.
The hotel had fine amenities: furniture was nice, a dresser, writing desk, two queens (in my room), small fridge, sink in a small countertop. The floor was nice "Pergo" style wood flooring that looked warm and clean. This is not a luxurious hotel, but functionally nice.
The bed was comfortable, the room was clean.
In the small kitchen area, however was a mosaic-style floor with wide gaps between the rocks in the floor. While seeming clean, it wasn't attractive in my opinion. This floor also led to into the bathroom. In the bathroom, I saw roaches, killed one that wandered too close to me, leaving the carcass close to the trashcan to see if the staff would notice. They didn't: it was there for my stay even though the cleaning staff came in.
All the appliances, fixtures worked without exception, except, of course, the air-conditioning. While never hot and stifling, it was not comfortable on hot days. It was annoying that it took them a good 5 or more days before the staff figured it out.
Parking is lousy if you arrive late. You will walk a bit with your luggage from the overflow parking lot(s).
Finally, I should warn you about the internet. It was really bad. Yes, they have WIFI in the rooms, but they still haven't figured out how to set up the DNS servers it seems. This causes the your laptop/ipad/device to connect then strangely, disconnect or not be able to find your "page" or site. For me, this was one of the worst features of my stay, having to use the internet daily to do my required reporting.

Summary for the good stuff:
Hotel furnishings: Great. I personally don't require luxury. Fridge, microwave, cabinets, sink, comfy beds, functional bathroom.
Staff: Accommodating and courteous.
Location: Great for me if you want to be out of the traffic of Honolulu

Summary for the negative stuff:
Parking sucks if you arrive late.
Not enough electrical outlets in the room, especially around the desk. (Why put a desk where there are no outlets in reach?)
Roaches.
Air-conditioning operation was sketchy and their attention to it was not timely.
Internet is there, but was sketchy. This was a big deal to me, personally, because of my requirements.
Value: you will end up paying about $150 per night here. If you are getting per-diem for your stay, many of the luxury hotels on Waikiki (for instance, Hyatt Regency) will give you rooms at per-diem. You certainly won't find the negative things I listed at those hotels, with the exception of traffic.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Retired Army E-7, currently GS. Stayed at Schofield Inn while TDY teaching a class. Room was clean. Staff was super friendly. Room had Microwave, Small Fridge, and Kitchen Sink. Bed was comfy. Flat Screen 37" TV. Decent Shower. AC worked well. Little cafe had good food. Close to PX, Commissary, and Gym. Govt Rate was $140.. which was $37 under authorized Lodging. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn at Schofield Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Schofield Barracks

Address: 563 Kolekole Avenue, Wahiawa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96786
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Inn At Schofield Barracks Hotel Honolulu
Hotel At Schofield Barracks
Inn At Schofield Barracks Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Schofield Barracks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.