We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Submarines

Atlantis Submarines
Hilton Hawaiian Village, Honolulu, Oahu, HI (Waikiki)
808 973 9811
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$61*
and up
Ranked #131 of 356 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Atlantis Submarines offers an eye-opening journey traveling below the surface to visit shipwrecks, a sunken airplane and other reef structures brimming with exotic marine life. During your 90-minute tour, you’ll explore in a submersible that has a spacious air-conditioned interior, large view ports and comfortable seating. If you haven’t experienced ocean depths before, this tour is the way to get a taste of what you’ve been missing.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had never been on a submarine before and it was a super fun experience. You get to see a wreckage, albeit, manmade, but cool nonetheless. It was great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    134
    89
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Yes, pricey. Yes, worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We saved a bit as it was purchased in combo with a helo tour of the island.
My wife is moderately claustrophobic but was brave enough and quickly overcame her initial anxiety. We took the bigger sub, which has much larger portholes/viewing ports. This would be my recommendation.
We also 'lucked out' in so far as on our first attempt, the sub had to return due to low visibility. Take the early trip to avoid this. What it did for us was give us two boat trips to the sub and an opportunity for my wife to be fully relaxed on the second and completed voyage. No problems at all with the staff for our 'rain-check'.
Snacks, souvenirs and heads are available on the transfer boat. We bought the souvenir DVD since colours are washed out on normally lit photos (as can be seen).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't expect to 'find Nemo'.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Definitely a first and worth doing for the experience of being in a submarine and travelling down over 100ft. But don't expect to see anything like the marine life as shown in the glossy leaflet that got us hooked! Yes you do see wrecks and man-made structures which certainly do attract a lot of fish. Nothing spectacular and certainly nothing like the range shown in their leaflet, but hey, we accept it is Mother Nature and you can't organise the marine life to put on a show just because we paid over $100+ to be there. However it is a very slick,operation. Very safe and inside the submarine, very spacious. No need to worry about feeling claustrophobic. The crew were good and if our commentator ever wanted a career change, he would fit well on the comedy circuit, and that is meant as a compliment. He was very funny.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic but pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was really cool but not sure it was worth the price. The story was interesting but you see almost as much snorkeling. The best part was the boat ride back when we saw 8 whales playing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

we went on the submarine in Oahu it was fantastic. I felt very safe and all the staff were great and very helpful. It was wonderful seeing all the different types of fish and the turtles swimming in the ocean. I would recommend doing this if you ever visit Hawaii

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis Submarines also viewed

 

Been to Atlantis Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Submarines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.