We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking up to the falls.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manoa Fall

Manoa Fall
End of Manoa Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Manoa Fall like an insider
Small Group
$52*
and up
Manoa Waterfall Small Group Adventure
Ranked #24 of 266 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hiking up to the falls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This has long been a favorite hike of my daughter and I. It seems longer than it should be but it is well worth it. A couple of notes: 1) take bug spray and slather it on. There is a vendor in the parking lot that has wipes but if the bugs like you, that won't be enough. 2) Without daylight savings and heavy foliage, the ambient light starts fading late afternoon. I got caught once and ended up hiking down when it was mostly dark. 3) beware sudden showers and extremely muddy path, don't wear just yo' slippahs but something you can hose off. The good news is that if it is raining or has rained recently the falls will be fuller as in the photos of this trip I took.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    504
    137
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our favorite hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This has been our favorite hike for years. We go back every year. This year was no exception, the trail has been improved again this year. It is a moderate climb with a great view at the end of a beautiful waterfall. You also get to see many different climates on this hike as well. Easy to get to with ample parking.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oahu Nature Tours Manoa Waterfall Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a must do on a visit to Honolulu. The waterfalls are beautiful but the scenery and vegetation en route are spectacular with many photo opportunities. The hike is not at all challenging from a cardio perspective despite being uphill (not at all steep but rather a gentle incline) but the track itself provides a few challenges as it does not always provide a place for a good foothold and it was quite slippery on the descent due to being wet and on an incline. It's quite muddy so need to dress accordingly. We were fortunate enough to have a wonderful tour guide from Oahu Nature Tours, Mike, who provided us all with walking poles to assist us. Mike was very knowledgeable which made for an informative commentary not only about the plant and bird life but also about the culture and history of the island. He is also an extremely patient man! Bring your camera and covered in walking shoes with a non-slip sole!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Must see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Check the weather and make sure it's not raining over there, otherwise you will be hiking in plenary of mud! The rainforest is beautiful, and it is a definite must see. It is also not very long and not too challenging. Don't forget to bring your cameras!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“You can hear a pin drop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

To go 20 minutes on the bus from Honolulu and feel as if you have been transported to another place was, for me, the best experience of the hike. From the highly populated honolulu to an early walk to Manoa falls for $2.50 on the bus with no entrance fees where we only saw about 40 people on the hike. 1 mile up 1 mile down. Give yourself 2 hours for this. Especially if you are like me and like your camera. A must do in Hawaii.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manoa Fall also viewed

 

Been to Manoa Fall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoa Fall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.