We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #36 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Ithaca, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a wonderful location (not too close to the hussle and bussle of Waikiki and very close to the Convention Center). Staff and service were always pleasant and for the price, it was a great deal. We would definitely stay here on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha Amber G:

Mahalo for the 5 star rating for your recent sty at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

You have our location described perfectly!

All of the staff and management hope you took home fond memories of your stay and will afford us another opportunity to serve you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    592
    208
    67
    34
See reviews for
269
594
159
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland Or
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is very quiet, clean and very strategic located: 5 min to the beach (across of street) 12min walk to Ala Moana Center, 14 min walk to Walmart and Don Quijote minuets to all attractions.
Personnel are friendly. Cost of room was under average. We will came again. We hope to have same experience.

Aqua keep going!

Aura and Cal

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on cool of building (less A/C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha 515Cal777:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

WOW, you have the minutes down to many of the nearby locations! I couldn't have done better!

I'm delighted to hear that you would stay with us again! All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Both my husband and I appreciated all the help and advice given to us while we were at the hotel. Knowing where to go and how easy it was to get there, made a big difference in getting around especially since it has been such a long time since we were here (over 30 years ago for us) and still single! Having a clean, safe and comfortable place was also very nice. I was glad that the other hotel suggested we stay here for the time that we could not stay at their place and that they made the arrangements for us here. This has made it a very memorable trip for us - Mahalo! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha Noel T:

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that another hotel referred you to us and that our staff treated you like you were part of our ohana (family).

Lots must have changed since you were here 30 years ago!

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You can't go wrong staying at this place. They upgraded us to Jr. Suite at a low price and we were so comfortable. Love the cafeteria at the corner with their Sr. discounts and their banana pancakes! Everyone is so nice at the Aqua Palms!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha MOHope:

Mahalo for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that you were treated with the "True Aloha Spirit" for which we are known.

The coffee house on the corner is called Wailana Coffee House and all of our Aqua guests get a 10% discount both there and at the IHOP restaurant located in our lobby by showing your room key.

All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

+ friendly staff
+ luggage storage was no issue and free
+ well situated (10' walk to the beach)
+ value for money (however, we got a great last minute deal)

what could be improved:
exchange some furniture, in particular the matresses

our conclusion: we would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha Swisscouple1983rtw:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are good aspects (cost, location) to this hotel, but you need to be prepared that air conditioning is NOT one of them. We booked the Aqua Palms for July 20-22 before flying on to Maui,and I chose the hotel after previously staying at Aqua Ilikai Hotel, also in Honolulu, last September.

I chose the Aqua Palm for the price and location, both of which were good for peak season in Honolulu (mid- to late-July). However, the air conditioning is terrible. Not just a little inadequate -- truly awful. The humidity level in our room was extraordinarily high, easily 70 percent. When I reported it to the front desk late the first night, the staff member gave me a fan to use until maintenance could fix the AC. Thank goodness for the fan or I don't think we could have slept at all.

The next morning, I put in another request for maintenance to check the AC and to open the broken safe in our room. A maintenance staff member came to our room right away, but when I mentioned the AC, he sheepishly admitted that no one would be fixing it. I was left with the impression it was either too costly a fix or not a priority because it was a major system problem. The halls are cooler than the rooms, possibly because they have separate wall units. Too bad they can't add those in the rooms. We kept the fan and limped through our second night, but after we took showers and packed the next morning, we were so sweaty and hot that we couldn't get out of the Aqua Palms fast enough.

I found the front desk staff to be kind and sympathetic about the lack of air conditioning. The front desk area was sweltering, too. As compensation for our discomfort, the $25/day self-parking fee was deducted from our bill. At $200/night, it probably wasn't really enough for how miserable we were, but I just wanted to leave.

If you can handle no air conditioning, then this hotel is probably OK for you. It's not fancy, but it's passable. We liked the location, but if you're only in Honolulu for a few days, you can probably just stay further out from Waikiki and save money that way. If I had known about the AC problems before I booked, I would have gone elsewhere.

One more thing: I'm not sure this hotel has an option for two double beds. We had two rooms for six people, and in both rooms, the second bed was a very uncomfortable sofa sleeper.

Room Tip: Be aware that if you have more than two people in your room, someone will be sleeping on a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha TravelingJayHawk:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems with the air conditioner. A part broke down and it was back ordered and had to be flown in from the mainland. The problem has been corrected.

You are correct when saying that our location and price are one of the best deals in Waikiki.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Aqua Palms 5 or 6 times and have always been pleased with the location, amenities and service. This past time we stayed in the one bedroom suite and it was awesome...great view and many extras. The staff is helpful and friendly and the manager, Patty, goes out of her way to make sure our stay is always pleasant. If you are looking for a great location and reasonable prices, you can not find a better place to stay than the Aqua Palms.

Room Tip: Ask about road and construction noise and they will advise the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Barb B:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a pleasure to have you come back and stay with us!

All of us at the Palms look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center and offers the following FREE amenities: free WiFi Internet, lobby, Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV’s, daily local newspaper, local & toll free calls, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. The fitness center and a barbeque grill are located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.