We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is by no means the grandest of Waikiki hotels, but it is clean and in a good location. Ala Moana shopping centre is a 10 to 15 min walk away. In the other direction the many shops and restaurants along the main strip of Waikiki are also about 15 min walk away. It is a short walk to the beach and the lagoon by the Hilton village. There is also a bus/trolley stop just down from the front door. The pool is very small, but the one time we used it it was empty (I guess everyone was at the beach). The room and bathroom (on level 11) were modern-ish, with a large flat screen tv, a mini fridge and microwave, which was handy. My only dislike was the lack of overhead lighting in the room (with the 2 table lamps lit it was still quite dim), however this was the same in all 3 hotels we stayed in in Hawaii, so I guess it is a Hawaiian or US thing that we are not used to. Overall we were very happy with the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha RalphyandHuey:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm pleased to see that you liked the property overall. You described both the rooms and the location to a tee!

We look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    621
    220
    69
    37
See reviews for
288
627
168
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the Aqua Palms before heading to Kauai. We especially liked the location, as you can walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The concierge directed us to a small cafe close-by where we could get breakfast (not a chain). We found the bed/pillows very comfortable and the room a good size, as we were out most days sightseeing. We loved the ice water in the lobby after being out in the heat. We found the Aqua Palms a good value.

Room Tip: We were on street side with no problem with any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Cheryl120:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Palms.

Our staff and our location are two of our best selling features and I'm delighted to hear that you were pleased with both.

All of the staff and management look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My stay at this facility June 7-9 was the first stop on a multi-island vacation. My vacation started off well. The staff was very helpful. The view was incredible. I'm looking forward to my next trip and I'm sure I will be staying at Aqual Palms Waikiki when I return to Oahu.

Room Tip: Stay on the penthouse floor if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Nancy W:

How exciting, we were an excellent start to your multi-island vacation!

I'm delighted to hear that you will stay with us again on a return visit! Until next time...............

Me ke Aloha Pumehana
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for just one night pre cruise, was handy location with just a short cab ride to the Pier, staff were very helpful and stored our baggage after check out until we were ready to leave, room was spacious and clean with very comfortale bed. Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha caf69:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Although only for a short visit, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your cruise around the islands and that you will come and visit us again soon!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Mo.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Paid to much for this room for 3 people. It had an old pull out sofa bed with a thin mattress for the 3rd person. The lampshade was so old it was cracked. The room itself was very clean. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tpipkin2:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I'm disappointed that you felt the room was too small for your party of three. We are currently working on upgrading our rooms and hope to have this project underway by year end.

All of the staff and management hope you will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for our final night in Hawaii after 8 nights on Kauai and the central location was the main appeal of this place. Checked in with friendly reception staff and made our way up to our room. Didn't pay the extra for an ocean view so our view was an unspectacular view of a building site, but since we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room it was fine. Very clean room, and good amenities, and the fact that the location is so convenient for Waikiki Beach and very close to Ala Moana Mall (only 2 blocks away) made this place a no-brainer. Checked out the next day and the staff stored our baggage until 7.30pm when our shuttle to the airport arrived. IHOP in the hotel lobby is a convenient spot for a big breakfast. After a long day of shopping and exploring in Waikiki we arrived back and reception staff very kindly gave us a key to a casual shower in the pool area so we could freshen up before our flight which was much appreciated. Overall a great location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Not a luxury spot but realistic expectations will reward.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tashandbradworldwide:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. I'm just disappointed to hear that you were only with us for one night.

Yes, location is one of our main selling points. We are close to the beach, restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance yet we are just outside the heart of Waikiki.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope that you will be able to return and stay with us a little longer on your next visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been here before. The hotel is exactly what you expect for the price your paying. It's a great deal, and I would definitely recommend someone to stay here. But they don't have any designated smoking areas on property. and if you do smoke on property, you are fined $500. But other than that, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha RobinTroche:

Mahalo for being a returnee and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are a smoke free building and have a designated smoking area outside the front entrance to the left of the building. The fee mentioned for someone smoking in the room is to deep clean the rooms to get the smoke smell out of the room, carpet, drapes, etc.

All of the staff look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy guestroom comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the fitness center and a barbeque grill is located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.