We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for just one night pre cruise, was handy location with just a short cab ride to the Pier, staff were very helpful and stored our baggage after check out until we were ready to leave, room was spacious and clean with very comfortale bed. Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha caf69:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Although only for a short visit, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your cruise around the islands and that you will come and visit us again soon!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    596
    208
    67
    34
See reviews for
270
596
160
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, Mo.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Paid to much for this room for 3 people. It had an old pull out sofa bed with a thin mattress for the 3rd person. The lampshade was so old it was cracked. The room itself was very clean. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tpipkin2:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

I'm disappointed that you felt the room was too small for your party of three. We are currently working on upgrading our rooms and hope to have this project underway by year end.

All of the staff and management hope you will afford us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for our final night in Hawaii after 8 nights on Kauai and the central location was the main appeal of this place. Checked in with friendly reception staff and made our way up to our room. Didn't pay the extra for an ocean view so our view was an unspectacular view of a building site, but since we didn't plan on spending too much time in the room it was fine. Very clean room, and good amenities, and the fact that the location is so convenient for Waikiki Beach and very close to Ala Moana Mall (only 2 blocks away) made this place a no-brainer. Checked out the next day and the staff stored our baggage until 7.30pm when our shuttle to the airport arrived. IHOP in the hotel lobby is a convenient spot for a big breakfast. After a long day of shopping and exploring in Waikiki we arrived back and reception staff very kindly gave us a key to a casual shower in the pool area so we could freshen up before our flight which was much appreciated. Overall a great location, friendly staff and clean rooms. Not a luxury spot but realistic expectations will reward.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha tashandbradworldwide:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. I'm just disappointed to hear that you were only with us for one night.

Yes, location is one of our main selling points. We are close to the beach, restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance yet we are just outside the heart of Waikiki.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms Waikiki hope that you will be able to return and stay with us a little longer on your next visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been here before. The hotel is exactly what you expect for the price your paying. It's a great deal, and I would definitely recommend someone to stay here. But they don't have any designated smoking areas on property. and if you do smoke on property, you are fined $500. But other than that, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha RobinTroche:

Mahalo for being a returnee and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We are a smoke free building and have a designated smoking area outside the front entrance to the left of the building. The fee mentioned for someone smoking in the room is to deep clean the rooms to get the smoke smell out of the room, carpet, drapes, etc.

All of the staff look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua Palms in April. The room was very comfortable and even though I did not elect to have an ocean view, I was pleased with the accommodations. The bed was comfortable and I really appreciated having the little mini-kitchen. My room was attended to every day. In my opinion the high marks go to the friendly staff. I really appreciate having the ability to book lots of activities right there on the first floor. The folks that staffed that booth were super friendly and helpful as were all the staff that I encountered. The hotel is located within minutes of a great beach and an awesome coffee shop/restaurant that offers the guests a discount on top of their unbelievably inexpensive prices! One night during my stay the hotel had a major pipe break. While the water was out for a short time, I thought the hotel handled the situation very well. I found out later that they refunded about a nights stay! That was really nice of them. I won’t hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future. Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha takinahike:

Mahalo for writing a review about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Our staff is one of greatest assets at the property and it is always nice to hear good comments about them.

Both the IHOP and Wailana Restaurants offer our guests a 10% discount when they show their room key. On the back of our key cards there is also a discount to be used at the nearby Macy's in Ala Moana Shopping Center.

The water main pipe that broke in front of the hotel did create quite a challenge. I'm pleased to hear that you felt the staff handled it well.

We all look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for seven days during May 2013 for leisure. The hotel was clean, wonderful staff, perfect location in the heart of Waikiki, walking distance to (Waikiki strip, Waikiki & Ala Moana Beach, Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Wall Mart, etc...). The only thing we didn't like were the street noise and the parking structure. We stayed at the eleventh floor with partial ocean view. You could hear noise from cars, buses, trolleys, and garbage trucks. We rented a midsize car (Chrysler 200) and parking structure was a bit of a problem if you couldn't find a parking at level 1 due to will not make it to level 2 due to very narrow lane when making the turn.

Room Tip: Request for top floor partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha Romeo315:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always pleasant to hear when a guest says "Nice Hotel"!

As with many parking structures in Waikiki the turns are very narrow. Maneuvering the narrow curves can be a challenge but can be done. Unfortunately, with being in the heart of the city you do hear traffic noise. For light sleepers, we do offer ear plugs at the front desk.

All of the staff and management hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed from 14/5 - 21/5/2013. We booked a "City View" as and seen on the "virtual tour" advertising, room was a lot smaller then expected, no sofa, table pushed right up against writing desk, set of drawers with ;pot plant on in "virtual tour" pushed up against wardrobe and sticking out and only 1 chair on balcony in a room to two people?, kitchenette consisted of microwave and coffemaker with those small packets of coffee, sugar etc, no cutlery or crockery, not even the basics. We had to go out and buy plastic items so we could eat heated meals when "at home" somewhat disappointing, however as we were only staying 7 nights and were out most of the time, we accepted room for what it was. On plus side, staff very friendly and helpful, room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Toilet blocked but Maintenance gentleman was there in a minute and fixed very quickly. Undecided about staying again.

Room Tip: Don't take advertising as a given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha wen255117:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that the staff was friendly and accommodating but disappointed to hear that you are undecided about returning.

Plastic cutlery and paper plates are available at the front desk upon request. New lanai furniture has been installed in the rooms since your visit. We have many different sizes of rooms and I'm sorry to hear that you felt the room you had was too small.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay at the Aqua Waikiki Palms and will afford us another opportunity to serve you.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy guestroom comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the fitness center and a barbeque grill is located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.