We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Aqua Palms has turned into the perfect romatic getaway spot for my husband and myself since we first discovered it, after trying various other hotels in Waikiki. We really enjoy our little weekend stays there every couple of months, the staff is so amazing and helpful, even when we booked a room we ended up not liking as much this time they quickly found us the perfect room on the top floor instead. That kind of great service alone would be reason enough for us to return again and again, but we also just love the rooms at the Palms, especially on the higher floors. They're clean and comfortable, with nice and soft beds, some with a kitchen too (we have our favorites by now... pretty much everything on the 12th floor is amazing!) It may not be beachfront or luxury, but to us it's perfect (especially for the price), and we can't wait to be back for our next weekend getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Schnupper:

Welcome back! It is great to see that you stayed with us again for one of your weekend getaways!

I'm delighted that we are able to accommodate you in rooms that you enjoy! Please be sure to ask for your favorites for your next stay and we will do all possible to accommodate you in one of your favorites!

Until next time!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    622
    220
    69
    37
See reviews for
288
628
168
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menasha, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Older hotel on a busy street but the staff goes out of their way to make it work. Free beach chairs and towels to use. Clean room and a good manager reception by the pool with a two piece band. Only issue I had was with the vouchers that were included with the room for the IHOP next door, but that was an more of an issue with the IHOP manager than the hotel. Otherwise the hotel was with in walking distance form the mall and all of Waikiki. Trolley stop in front of the hotel was convenient.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies and others have sliding doors with a one foot ledge. Either way I could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Davr1000:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Excellent, friendly staff seems to be a reoccurring comment, which I'm delighted to see.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the near future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwajalein Marshall Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As always - another great stay at Aqua Palms!! The front desk staff and bellmen remember us every time we stay - which is wonderful! Love the new Military/Government rate with discounted parking! Thanks for offering a great room at a great price - and close to everything we want to see in Waikiki!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha KwajChristie:

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and that the staff remembers you each time you return.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please take a moment and say "Hello" on your next visit, I look forward to meeting you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a room at the 10th floor and we were not disturbed by the traffic. The view from the balcony was both the sea and Diamond Head. Walking distance to the beach and everything that Waikiki offers. The service was excellent, both housekeeper and the front desk staff. We had breakfast at IHop included in our stay at the hotel but found that the food was not in our taste so we went to Starbucks in Hilton village instead. Although having a microwave in the room we missed plates and cutlery. Nevertheless we would stay here again if returning to Waikiki.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha lenlin:

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

I'm delighted to hear that our staff treated you with the true aloha spirit for which we are known.

It's great to hear that you would stay with us again on a return visit. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua Palms in March as part of a soccer team from Maui.

We found the property to be nice, small, though efficient for what we needed on this vacation.
The front desk staff was wonderfully friendly and accommodating. Specifically, Ryan, Kana and Stephanie.
The room was fine for what we needed, we like the lotion, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Smells so good. Our housekeeper brought us extra towels and lotions. Though my one main complaint about the room was the sound from the street. We were in room 218 and it was so noisy each night I really had difficulty sleeping. We live in Maui and at 6 blocks away from the ocean, I can still hear it at night. So, next time I will be sure to ask for a higher room on the other side of the building.

The parking gate never once worked our entire stay. I would pull up behind another guest and watch them struggle to get the gate open, then finally call to be buzzed in. Then we would try, only to call and be buzzed in. We stayed for 4 nights, in and out of the parking garage 2 times a day, went and got new keys twice and still it never worked. Obviously that is an issue that should be addressed.

Location was great, walking distance to shops and restaurants and the beach.

We went to IHop one morning for breakfast and paid $21 for my daughter to have eggs benedict, bacon and OJ. I didn't eat as the cost was so high. McDonalds is around the corner, much cheaper option.

Room Tip: Get higher floor, not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Aloha mauikay:

Mahalo for sharing your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

It is always a delight to have Kamaaina visitors and this is the second year we have accommodated the team from Maui!

I'm sorry to hear about the challenges with the parking gate and maintenance has been working on this so that guest may enter without any problems.

All of the staff and management loo forward to serving you again on a return visit! Hope the team won!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Palms for a convention, and as we were on a budget we werent sure what to expect. However, this place is really nice. Right across the street from the Waikiki Hilton, and within walking distance of the convention center and the Ala Moana mall, the hotel is centrally located, and while its not on the beach, we did have cool views of Diamond Head and the Pacific. The rooms were very clean, with a large flat screened TV, comfortable beds, fluffy towels and great toiletries. The best part of this hotel though is the staff. We were made to feel welcome even before we arrived, and some unanticipated changes in our itinerary were happily accommodated by the staff. When a water main broke in the street, and the first floor of the hotel flooded, resulting in broken elevators and tv cable being out for a very short time, we overheard some of the guests become snippy (ok downright rude). The staff behaved like angels, accommodating when they could, soothing when they couldn't, and assuring everyone that all would be right in a very little while. And it was. We booked a tour through the concierge, who was really helpful. Management should be really, really proud of the staff at this hotel. I would stay here again, we really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Aloha Kinich:

Mahalo for your review!

As the General Manager of the Aqua Palms Waikiki, I am very proud of our staff and am delighted to hear you enjoyed their hospitality!

It is great to have such a nice review considering some the challenges that were encountered due to the water main break.

All of the staff and management always do everything possible to accommodate our guests to ensure they have a memorable vacation.

We look forward to serving you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua Palms while attending a convention, and was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting something a bit more rustic, based on the price, but the rooms were very clean and nice. There was a bit of a musty smell in the hallway when I first arrived, but not in the rooms. I had an upper level floor, with a partial ocean and Diamondhead view room with a balcony. the view was nice, and the balcony big enough for a small table and chairs, perfect for having a morning cup of coffee! The bed was very comfy, and with earplugs (I always travel with them) the street noise was not a problem at all. I did not notice any construction noise in the area. The room had a large, flat screen tv, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Food in town is expensive, so being able to reheat leftovers or get something from the little nearby market helped stretch the food budget. There is plug-in internet in the rooms, and free wi-fi in the lobby, but they are working on having wi-fi in the rooms soon. The staff was very nice and helpful, and they have a concierge to help arrange tours and transportation. I would have no problem staying there again in the future, as it is within walking distance to the convention center and the mall, and was clean and well run. If you are not looking for a fancy expensive resort but still want a decent hotel, then the Aqua Palms is worth looking into.

Room Tip: The street-side rooms with the Diamondhead and partial ocean views are worth the minor street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Aloha maizegirl:

Mahalo for choosing the Aqua Palms at Waikiki and sharing your experience.

We are very conveniently located near the convention center and hope you enjoyed your conference.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy guestroom comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the fitness center and a barbeque grill is located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.