We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for half the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #36 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel for half the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Just got back and had a great time! Understand that this is not the Ritz. Good budget place to stay and it's a short one block walk to the beach. We didn't. Get a ocean view but also didn't have all the street noise. Stayed on the 8th floor with mountain views and yes some buildings. The room they gave us first didn't have a balcony and they happily switched us to one that did. We enjoyed eating breakfast and playing cards on the balcony. The maid service was excellent with fresh towels each day. All the elevators worked and we didn't see all the drunks and prostitutes we had read about. The ABC sores will be your best friend and the mall and Walmart are a short walk away. The only thing weird was that our rooms sloped to the inside of the hotel, not sure why the floor wasn't level. Overall we had a great 4th of July in Honolulu!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Aloha Wes777:

Great to hear you had a great time here at the Palms!

Hope you were able to enjoy all the fireworks for the 4th!

Look forward to seeing you again on a return visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmes Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    591
    207
    67
    34
See reviews for
268
594
159
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here twice - liked it less this time. Quite tired, but ok. Right across the road from the Hilton Hawaiian Village, so can wander across for the fireworks, or down to the beach. A walk to Ala Moana shopping centre, or can take the bus out the front to Ala Moana or down to Waikiki. Free wi-fi in the lobby, coin laundry. The included breakfast at the IHOP wasn't bad. Room included a coffee maker with coffee, along with microwave and fridge.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Aloha Holidayhunter1:

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your stay with us in February 2012!

I'm delighted to see that you are a returnee and at the same disappointed that you did not like the property this time around.

I'm pleased to say that we are currently working on many projects to refresh the property.

All of the staff and management hope that enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Please contact me directly for your next visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beds are comfortable, room size adequate and things seem clean. Elevators failed to work once during my week-long stay. Hotel staff seem friendly and helpful. Location is nice - walkable distance to waikiki and the ala moana shopping center, without being too busy. Haven't tried the pool, which looks very small. Too bad wifi only works in the lobby. The hotel breakfast may seem gross to non-Americans: it's extremely high in calorie and everything is soaked in butter and sugar... No fruits or fibers, all carbs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Aloha transience:

I'm delighted to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay at the Palms!

All of the staff and management hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you on a future visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location, great staff, clean rooms,good rates. Noise on street side can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Motorcycles are the worst. Was on 11th floor. Would stay here again. Nice reception on Thur. nights.

Room Tip: Street side has best view, a little more noise. Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Aloha Traveler342:

Isn't it nice to be SURPRISED!

Mahalo for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

I'm always delighted to hear positive comments about the property and in particular our staff.

Our Thursday Manager's reception is well received by all of our guests. The Coleman Brother's do a wonderful job of entertaining us with their hawaiian music and they have even had some additional family members joining in and dancing the hula for us as well!

All of the staff and management hope that you will visit us again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is very central to everything!! A couple of blocks away from the beach, restaurants, shops and a block from the bus! We had a great view , the room was clean, spacious and comfortable! Overall great value in Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Aloha Sharito_Smiley:

Just a few words that summed us up!

Mahalo for sharing your comments!

We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Overall a fine hotel. No place to pull over or stop without entering the $20 per night parking garage. We had booked a room for 3 with partial Diamond Head view through our travel agent in February. When we arived at 11 pm following 12 hours of airplane and airports. We were greated with "there is a problem with your reservation" by the night desk clerk. We could choose between no view or a sofa sleeper for our 18 year old for 3 nights. The clerk later changed is line to the sofa sleeper was acceptable bedding, it was what I reserved. My daughter was so exhausted from the travel, she just fell asleep and said for me to forget it. The sofa sleeper was the worst I've ever seen in a hotel. It looks like it was purchased in the 70s. Her head was about 4 inches lower than her body. There was very obvious bars across the bed, don't accept this as your bed ! The clerk was a jerk, the reservation not what I expected, otherwise an ok hotel

Room Tip: Don't except a sofa sleeper as a bed for an adult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Aloha Becky H:

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Aqua Palms Waikiki.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not receiving the type of bedding that you requested.

I'm disappointed to hear that you were not treated with the true "Aloha Spirit" for which we are known.

All of the staff and management of the Aqua Palms hope you enjoyed your stay in Waikiki and will give us another opportunity to regain your valued patronage.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have visited Waikiki many times and have never found a better place to stay. Great location! Good value. Friendly helpful staff. Don't miss the manager's reception on Thursday nights or the Friday night fireworks across the street on the beach.

Room Tip: I prefer the quiet side of the building with the city and mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Aloha Jackerdoggerdog:

What a great review! We love having our returnees share their comments!

Please be sure to contact me directly for your next visit! I look forward to hearing from you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center and offers the following FREE amenities: free WiFi Internet, lobby, Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV’s, daily local newspaper, local & toll free calls, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. The fitness center and a barbeque grill are located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.