We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next best thing to ocean front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Palms Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Palms Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Next best thing to ocean front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

If you are on a budget and cannot afford a beachfront hotel, Aqua Palms is probably your best option. The views of the ocean are minimal, even in the ocean view rooms, but the other amenities provided by the hotel and its location make this a great deal. Aqua Palms is right across the street from Hilton Hawaiian Village, which invites the public to use its property. We walked to the beach through the Village and it took about 5 minutes (and that is with a 6 year old). We also did a lot of shopping and ate at the Village. Our room, itself, was comfortable. We had a king bed with a sleep sofa. The carpets were filthy and need shampooing, but the rest of the room was clean. The dresser and armoir were very old and worn, but still functional. My parents were in a room with a king bed only, and it was small--about 1 1/2 feet around each side of the bed and they couldn't sit at the table because there wasn't room to pull out chairs. I would suggest anyone making reservations request a room to accommodate three people since the price is the same. That way, you can be sure to get a larger room. The beachtowels the hotel provides were convenient, too. The parking garage was tiny. If you are renting a car, skip the SUV! We actually saw an extended cab truck get stuck because a car was parked illegallly (parking spaces were in high demand that week) and the truck did not have enough room to make the corner. The pool was tiny, but clean. My son enjoyed it. They refilled it while we were there. Not sure why. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We used the concierge service to book a tour and got a great discount. The construction is still going on at night. Most nights, they quite around midnight, but one night they went all night long. My family slept through it but I didn't. It was much quieter on the backside/city view of the hotel. All in all, this is one of the best values you'll find in Waikiki. We'd do it again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Aloha csjm44:

Mahalo for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay in July!

Over the last couple of years we have been doing some refreshing of the property with the new flat screen TV's and the presidential pillow top beds. We are in the process of working on refreshing the carpets and furniture in the room over the next six to twelve months.

Unfortunately, the construction out front is beyond our control and can be noisy. The work is being done to put all the utility lines underground and should be done shortly.

All of the staff and management are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would give us another opportunity to serve you in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    622
    220
    69
    37
See reviews for
288
628
168
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Aqua Palms at least 4 times in the past 3 years while traveling with my husband on business and have never been disappointed. It is located across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. To get to the beach, you cross the street, and in 5-10 minutes you are on the same beach with people paying substantially more for their overpriced Hilton rooms. The hotel provides beach mats and beach towels at the lobby desk. They also have red delicious apples & newspapers for free. The rooms are very clean. Some are larger than others. Great staff with true aloha spirit. They have a party once a week in the lobby with delicious pineapple cocktails and entertainment. The beds are excellent and it's pretty quiet. I didn't use the pool - it's tiny. Why swim in the pool when you have the wonderful warm ocean waters minutes away?
Parking garage is tight - rent a compact car! Buses go everywhere, easy to use.
Also, it's a nice walk to Ala Moana Center as well as the fancy hotels & restaurants on the ocean's edge. Spend your $ at the Halekulani Hotel watching hula nightly or at the Mai Tai Bar at the The Royal Hawaiian Hotel. Wailana Coffee shop on corner great!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Aloha TravelLightOften:

Mahalo for sharing your comments about your stay in January! I'm delighted to see that you are a many time repeat visitor.

Please be sure to send me an email the next time you will be staying with us, I would love to meet you in person!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We liked that there was a swimming pool however it closes too early and we were not able to enjoy it much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha Gagica86:

Mahalo for posting a review for us regarding your experience at the Aqua Palms.

Our swimming pool is open from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. and unfortunately can not be open longer due to the proximity to the nearby guest rooms.

All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay with us and will return to visit us in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Position, position ,position. This hotel has it in spades. It has bus stops just outside its door, a 24 hour cafe next door, eateries all around and an ABC store around the corner.
It is a short bus ride to Ala Moana Plaza and has beaches and protected lagoon nearby.
The staff are treat you like family and the rooms are large and clean as well as well priced. We stayed for 4 nights on arrival in Hawaii and after trips to the other islands decided to come back here for another 5 nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha ijbar0:

How great is that! You enjoyed your stay so much, that after visiting the other islands, you came back and stayed with us again!

Yes, our location is the best there can be! Right on the outskirts of Waikiki, but transportation or walking distance, everything is easy to get to!

All of the staff and management hope you will return and visit us again and that you have taken home fond memories of your stay with us!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel four different times and have recommended it to other family and collegial members. Centrally located, friendly staff, clean and great prices for Oahu. The decor is a bit tired but well maintained. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha iloveitaly12:

How fablous that you are such a frequent guest with us! It is always great to hear when guests return many times and recommend us to their family and friends.

For your next visit, please make sure to contact me directly and I would be happy to extend all courtesies!

Look forward to your next vist!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

JUST LOVELY! This hotel has GREAT secure parking, although the manuvering needs to be timed perfectly, you have all of the time in the world, because the parking is mainly for hotel guests, and those who dine at iHop... which is connected to the HOTEL!!!!

Laundry facilities, although at first glance, you would think you'll be washing your clothes and a passing car at the same time... the laundry facilities are quite good. I didn't have to dry my clothes more than once, machines are new, right next to the elevator so if you have a great load to carry, you won't be carrying it far.

The rooms are great!!!! Lovely veiw of Waikiki. Some parts of the ocean are blocked by other buildings, but it's still a great site!!!

Staff is #1 in customer service. Even though I checked out about 2 hours before, I had to find a way to get somewhere, and I was treated as if I was still a hotel guest there. It was quite satisfying when the young man at the front desk, who seemed very preoccupied, stopped everything he was doing, to do some research online, and print me a map to where I wanted to go!

I would love to stay here again! It was just a LOVELY stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha tikibad:

Mahalo for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the Aqua Palms!

We are pleased to see that you had a "LOVELY" stay with us and were treated with the true Aloha Spirit for which we are known!

All of the staff and management look forward to having you stay with us again on a return visit!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Recently we traveled to beautiful Hawaii to gather material for future reviews as well as enjoy an island cruise with family members who had flown in from various points on the mainland. Upon arrival in beautiful Honolulu we proceeded downtown to our hotel the Aqua Palms & Spa. After an initial misstep where the airport shuttle dropped us off at a different Aqua Resorts property we proceeded to check into the right hotel and after a long morning of travel and a three hour time change, we were immediately impressed not only with the helpful staff but with the location of the hotel.

Although to us it was late in the afternoon, the three hour time change had us at our hotel prior to the scheduled check-in time. Since our room was not yet available, the hotel took care of our baggage which allowed us to take in the shops and scenic locales adjacent to the hotel. Waikiki Beach was very easy walk from the hotel and there were numerous buses and trolleys which stopped in front of the hotel on a constant basis.

When we finally made it to our room, I was impressed not only with the size and comfort of the room but with the amazing view of Diamondhead as well as a partial view of the beach. The room had a high-def flatscreen which has several channels to choose from as well as foldout couch, desk, complimentary high-speed Internet, microwave, mini fridge & safe.

The shower was very relaxing and complimentary spa products were made available which is a plus (especially after subjecting your skin and hair several days of sun and salt water). The hotel also offers a full spa service and in-room massages are available as well. The hotel has a pool located on a deck on one of the lower floors which gives guests and enjoyable and relaxing private oasis in the heart of the city’s perfect after a long day. On Wednesdays there’s a Manager’s Reception and the concierge desk in the lobby will happily arrange island excursions for their guests. If you happen to be in Waikiki on a Friday night, make sure to catch the fireworks a Waikiki beach.

Check-out was very smooth and we were able to call ahead and have a taxi waiting for us to take us to the pier for our cruise. Upon completion of our cruise we returned to the Aqua Palms & Spa and once again were given storage for bags when we arrived early in the morning. Venturing out in a new direction we found that an extremely impressive and upscale mall is only a 10 minute walk away. The Ala Moana Shopping Center not only offers plenty of shopping options but several dining options as well. The area around the Aqua Palms & Spa is rife with restaurants, convenience stores, and other shopping options and the helpful hotel staff were more than happy to point out and provide directions to area restaurants whenever we asked.

Following a week in a cruise ship cabin it was extremely enjoyable to take in the extremely comfortable AquaBLISS pillowtop bed that the hotel offers as well as enjoy being able to have plenty of space in which to work. Rooms starting at just $90 a night are an exceptional value especially when one considers the location of the hotel. The comfortable and clean hotel and friendly staff truly makes the Aqua Palms & Spa an incredible value and an enjoyable stay for those looking to visit Waikiki on a budget.

Room Tip: Narrow Halls but nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha Garethmb:

It sounds like you had the best of both worlds! A trip around the islands with pre and post stays at the Aqua Palms!

I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to visit all of the surrounding areas!

Please keep us in mind for a return visit to Waikiki!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy guestroom comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the fitness center and a barbeque grill is located poolside as well as a business center in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Palms Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.