We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Grill Waikiki

Hula Grill Waikiki
2335 Kalakaua Ave, Ste 203, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Seaside
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went for brunch and got right in without reservations! All the food was very good and they put coupons in some of the local books if you're into that. The drinks were huge and worth their steep prices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    423
    118
    46
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a great breakfast here and the view was beautiful. Prices were competitive with every where else and the food was very good. The service was excellent and we loved our waiter, Ryen I believe his name was. He gave us some tips on the island and was also a great waiter. We would definitely go back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tasty and accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were a group of 5 trying to find a place to eat on Christmas day. They seated us immediately without a reservation.
It is an open-air restaurant with a great view of the beach. We had a 1yo child with us and they attached a seat to the table for her. Our server was pleasant and made sure we were satisfied with our meals. I asked for a gluten-free menu and they had one! Everyone raved about their meals. We all got the pineapple-strawberry drink (the Volcano, i think) and it was divine.
There is valet parking and even with parking validation you still have to pay an amount.

It is a pricey restaurant, so we would probably not eat there regularly, but we would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went to Hula Grill for our last dinner in Waikiki. It was not an inexpensive dinner, but reasonable for Waikiki. We each had a fish dish, even though the people at the next table had steaks that smelled awesome. The Fish dishes were both very good. They were well seasoned and very tasty. We had a pot sticker appetizer that I thought was just OK, and a little overpriced for 3 small pieces. But the main course was plenty and we probably did not need the appetizer.
One thing I was really happy with was the wine selection. They had a variety of wine, at reasonable prices for oceanfront Waikiki.
Overall, we were very pleased with this dinner, and the price was reasonable for the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga wagga Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I had breakfast here. He had pancake stack with berries, absolutely lovely, served with a thick coconut sauce. Loved it. I had a fresh fruit platter, which had lots of variety, all really fresh and presented beautifully. Just a perfect start to the day. Our server was most obliging, taking photo for us at this lovely location. We overlooked the beach, we were not rushed and allowed to sit and enjoy really good coffee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Grill Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.