We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula Grill Waikiki

Hula Grill Waikiki
2335 Kalakaua Ave, Ste 203, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-4852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hula Grill Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,911 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Seaside
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were waiting for dinner at Duke's Canoe Club (see other review) and were approached by a worker from Hula Grill to dine there. He said they were owned by the same people and had a better view while being just upstairs. We decided to try them the night after Duke's. We were seated outdoors at the railing, so we got great view of the sunset.

The food was pretty good, although we both thought it was a bit pricier and not quite as good as at Duke's. We got the pan seared Mahi-Mahi and the fire grilled Ahi steak. Both were pretty good. The bread and olive oil/guava and pepper dip before the entrees was incredible.

The service was just OK, not overly attentive. I had to ask to have my water glass refilled a couple of times.

We were glad we went and would go again, but prefer Duke's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    545
    356
    106
    42
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner and Great Beach Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our first visit to Hawaii. We spent two nights in Honolulu before boarding the Pride of America for the seven day cruise around the islands and an additional week in Maui. So, we saw a discount at the Outrigger hotel down the street for the Hula Grill. We read good reviews on Trip Advisor so we made reservations. We went a little early so we could get a seat to see the sunset over Waikiki Beach. Wow, we were not disappointed. The restaurant is on the second floor, we got a table overlooking a patio where a band was playing, the temp was perfect, the surfers were out and the sunset was beautiful. The band, Mauna Lua, was so good singing Hawaiian music that we caught them after they were done and bought a CD from them.
The menu is a good variety of fresh seafood dishes as well as meat dishes. Ours were well prepared and the service was top notch. Since my dinner arrived while I was getting the CD, the waiter took it back to the kitchen to keep it warm - a nice touch.
The entire evening was a very pleasant surprise and a great way to start our Hawaiian vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cosy setting with nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The menu is mixed but favours seafood dishes. The bar has a good casual dining menu and it's a nice place to relax with friends for a few drinks before a busy evening.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Grill your inner Hula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went to Hula's for dinner with 7 friends, couldn't get a table for all of us but were able to get 2 tables right next to each other. Fire code thing so they said (hmm?)

Anyway, service pretty good and food average. Price comparable to other Waikiki locations for the same quality of food and service.

I definitely would go their again for a special occasion dinner or just to hang with friends.

Did not go into the bar area only restaurant.

You'll enjoy the dinner and view!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Annoying Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were really looking forward to trying Hula Grill because it's affiliated with Keoki's Paradise on Kauai, which we really enjoyed. Keoki's was really helpful and very pleasant, so we were quite puzzled by the hostess at Hula Grill, who was anything but, telling us we could not have an oceanside seat, of which there were several, because they were reserved. This was for breakfast, around 10:15, and the restaurant was about 30% full; there were several empty tables in the prime location on the waterfront. The hostess advised us that these were "reserved", so I asked what time the reservations were for, and she said 10:30. My husband wanted to leave but I wanted to stay, so we were seated at a table back from the oceanfront tables. The hostess came up to us after a few minutes, but before 10:30, and said we could move to an oceanfront table. The oceanfront tables were never all occupied at the same time during our hour there, and we heard 3 or 4 other parties, upon seeing that they were being seated away from the oceanfront, with empty tables at the oceanfront railing, requesting those oceanfront seats and being declined time and again, and yet those seats remained empty for the most part. They did also seat 3 or 4 parties at the oceanfront tables during our time there. It such an odd way of operating a restaurant - where we come from "reserved" tables have a "reserved" sign on them, and if they're not reserved, and you request one, you get it if it's empty. Our waitress was at the table next to us when we first arrived and then completely ignored us for a good 10 minutes before coming to bring menus at which time my husband asked for coffees. There was another wait for our first cup of coffee, which was not hot and there was no cream on the table, so the coffees got even cooler while we waited (and waited) for cream.... I finally asked the couple at the next table if they needed their cream and they didn't so they gave it to us, just a couple of minutes before the waitress finally came with our cream. We were fairly grumpy by now and they then changed servers on us even though our original server continued to serve both tables next to us. Lucky for us the server that replaced her was fantastic - when she brought us coffee it was hot and she was very pleasant. The final insult was a hair in my homestyle potatoes and no I'm not making that hair (with follicle) up. I should have taken a picture. Maybe that was the "homestyle" part of the potatoes. Anyway, we will not go back, and we had planned on having dinner there that night too. Chuck's Steak House, next door, by contrast, is fantastic, with amazing wait staff who seat you at an oceanfront table when requested if one is empty (in other words first come, first served). Too bad they don't serve breakfast. I honestly don't know how Hula Grill gets such great reviews but maybe we just hit them on an off day. If you go there I hope you have better luck than we did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Grill Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Hula Grill Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula Grill Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.