We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always like this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #46 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Deer Park, WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always like this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I love this hotel for it's location to the beach and my favorite beach. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Have stayed here several times over the years and would stay again for the right price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for making us your choice of stay on your return trip to Waikiki. We're glad our location has great appeal to you and we look forward to serving you again in the not-so-distant future. Again mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    242
    100
    38
    14
See reviews for
136
218
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pohang, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is located at a very convinient place, just one blodk from the Waikiki beach. You can walk to DFS. The trolley stations are just near by. i liked my stay at Waikiki resort. However, the hotel was a little old. The bathroom was too small. The air vent was not clean enough. I found it was full of dirty dust. Other than that, every thing was good. Especilly, people were very kind. I thank the concierge for her kindness.
One thing I want to say is that I found a group of homeless sleeping in the margin of the hotel lobby in the night. Probably, it was hard for the hotel to treat them properly. But it was unpleasant to see the homeless even at the hotel in addition to the streets.
For Koreans, a Korean restaurant named MeBBQ is at 5 min walking distance. Me BBQ offers very good Korean food (to go) at a very good price (just above 10 dollars).
Considering the accommodatin price, I would rate this hotel very good. If I emphasize the quality only, I would rate this hotel average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your recent stay. Like many of our neighboring hotels, this hotel is over 40 years old. After 6 years however since the hotel's last room renovation, and on the heels of its recent lobby upgrade, we are excited about bringing further upgrades to the room and public areas in the coming year. Your mention of your "dirty" air vent and the homeless is much appreciated to which we are currently looking into. Again mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a last minute need for a hotel in Honolulu and used the Hotel Tonight app to pick this place for us. Man, what an awful place. The front desk clerk offered us a room but required that we look at it first because "the elevator made noise". He required that we leave a credit card with him before releasing the key. He looked stoned or high on something. We looked at the room. It wasn't just noisy. It sounded as thought it was directly in the elevator motor room. We traded it for a smaller but quieter room that appears to have been last updated in the 1970s. We should have walked out but after a long flight from Chicago we accepted our fate. Stay away from this place. The bad reviews are accurate.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We apologize for having failed to meet your expectations and those of ours. While your comments depict an experience which is not synonymous to experiences shared by the majority of our patrons, we do appreciate them and want you to know that we do take them seriously. We certainly hope the rest of your stay in beautiful Waikiki was most enjoyable. Again mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were booked for 3 days at the Waikiki Resort Hotel but were sadly disappointed to see that the hotel is very tired looking and the room didn't look like the one advertised. Upon arrival after a very long 11 hour flight from Sydney we had to wait for the Korean air hostesses to be served. In other hotels flight staff are served separately so clients can check in. The room was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable and the linen was good, although I really don't understand why showers are in bathtubs these days...not good for tall westerners.... we didn't eat in the hotel so can make no comment on room service or the small restaurant. This was partially to the fact that this hotel caters mainly to Korean tourists and flight attendants. The good point was that it was a good location to the beach and shopping and restaurants. Would we stay there again? Unfortunately, no.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a view with the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We value guest feedback and appreciated having read your review. While we regret having fallen short of your expectations, please rest assured that your reference to "tired old hotel," only further fuels internal discussion on future product upgrades. Because this hotel has an on-site Korean restaurant and serves the lodging needs of Korean Air's crew members, there seems to be the perception that we cater solely to Koreans which is misguided. Rest assured visitors to this hotel come from all parts of this globe that we believe is no different from the mix of visitors which our Waikiki hotel neighbors serve. Again, a humble thank you for your comments and for allowing us to serve you on your recent visit to beautiful Hawaii. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Upon arrival we were "greeted" by the most rude, unwelcoming, older blonde woman at the front desk, and to add to that less than ideal first impression, the hallway leading to our room reaked of chlorine. However, as we came to find that our room smelled like sewer, the chlorine didn't seem all that bad. Adding to this, the room/decor was very, very run-down and dirty. "Completed an $11-milion dollar renovation in 2008 … " - WHAT!? One may suspect that someone took all that money and fled the premises. We found long black hairs all over the bathroom, and lamp shades and bed covers looked severely tobacco stained, which was pretty nasty. We contacted someone at the front desk and asked for a new room, but seeing as they were all booked, we were told that they couldn't help us. They then provided us with free WI-FI and chocolate. Sweet thought, but that just doesn't help one bit.

I am completely puzzled by the positive reviews below, as the only positive thing i can think of is the location, which is pretty great.

Room Tip: If you want a decent, clean hotel, please, book something else. There are so many hotels in Waikiki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We're disturbed to read of your recent experience with us and wanted to express our sincerest regret. Please rest assured that your experience is in no way reflective of the standards to which this hotel aspires to and will use it to better ourselves. While it appears you stayed with us back in August, we want you and our future guests to know that we've since upgraded our bed and terry furnishings and plan to incorporate further room upgrades within this year knowing full well that we're approaching 7 years since the hotel's last room renovation. We thank you for staying with us and hope you give us another opportunity in the not-so-distant future in hopes of redeeming your faith in our product and services. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed at Waikiki Resort for a week during July 2012. The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to help me. The room was clean and was of excellent standard. The buffet breakfast was also good. Enjoyed my time thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for making us your place of stay every time you visit Honolulu. Should you return once again this year, you'll be pleased to know that we've since made some upgrades in our guest rooms (bed and terry furnishings), lobby (November), and pool deck and plan further enhancements over the coming year. Please visit us again. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Was there November 9th & 10th. One block from the beach, several eating places with in walking distance. Room was clean and in good repair. Elevators were really fast to respond. Really great buffet across the street. Really good breakfast included in the package. Would stay there again. Staff was really good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlManager, General Manager at Waikiki Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha from Hawaii. We're delighted you've taken the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to Honolulu and certainly gratified that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back again when your travels call for a return trip to beautiful Waikiki. Again, mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#46 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.