We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2015 Early Bird Savings!
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a family. We had two rooms on the 18th floor. The hotel is a little old but the location more than makes up for it!! Our balcony had gorgeous rooms of the beach and the sunset each afternoon was incredible.

The hotel is only half a block from the beach. It is in front of the main beach, halfway between diamond head and the international markets.

The staff were very friendly and the rooms were always very clean, plus the beds are very comfy. There is free wifi in the lobby and available in room at a cost.

The included morning buffett had a selection of hot and cold options plus salad and fruit. The only negative was it did not change for the 7 days.

There is no hotel bar but a convenience store in the lobby.

Would highly recommend to everyone and very affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    261
    110
    40
    15
See reviews for
163
237
49
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel for our 3 night visit to Oahu - rooms where small but it's honolulu everything is tight. We had parking during our stay for an additional $22/ night. This worked out well for us as we believed we needed a car to travel around the island, this allowed us to come and go as we please and never worried about parking in this very populated area with almost no place to park. Stayed on the 16th floor - had a nice view of city, diamond head and some ocean view, the room was close to the elevator and thought it would be a problem but it wasn't nor did we hear and street level noise some have mentioned. Beds where comfortable, bathroom clean, one block from the beach - very easy walking to many of the area sites. Felt safe at all times, this was never an issue for us - there was a safe in the room for some valuables. Front desk was helpful, pool was clean, refreshing and fun at night, with pool and beach towels easily available. We spent most of our time our and about exploring so this was a perfect pick for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my partner. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The location is great and the rooms are comfortable and modern. Would definitely here again.

The breakfast downstairs was average but did the trick when rushing out in the mornings.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I Stayed at this hotel with a friend in a City View Room. Our room was pretty much opposite the lifts. I cringed at the time remembering other reviews about the lift noise. However it did not disturb us. Yes you will hear street noise but I don't think it matters what floor you stay on. We stayed on floor 14 and could still hear it. But this shouldn't be an issue as you don't come to Waikiki to sleep all day :).

Okay the Room. Its basic and average. It does have an old feel to it and despite the hotel apparently having undergone a renovation the only new thing in the room was the TV. An annoying thing was that there was only one mirror in the bathroom, difficult when your trying to get ready at the same time. However the room was clean and suited us as we weren't looking for anything fancy.

The pool was small so I didn't even bother to use it.

The location was great. Its a few minutes walk to Kuhio beach. Its situated not far from Kalakaua Ave & Kuhio Ave where the stores/dinning options and nightlife are.

The is free WiFi in the lobby which is actually an open air Lobby which I actually loved. It felt welcoming.

I would definitely stay here again for the location and price

Room Tip: Free WiFi in Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkdale, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights early August 2013. The location was handy and staff were very courteous and helpful. Sadly, however this hotel needs a good makeover. Everything is old. Our room was reasonably clean but the old fittings and fixtures were a bit off-putting. The power socket in the bathroom was loose and partly detached from the wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very standard 3 star hotel with comfy beds and good service. Best point is location--- worst is the pool -it is a good size , but looks onto the back of other building's, so not a great place to sit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the front desk deducted the entire room charge from the credit card I gave on check-in when they were supposedly taking only the $100 holding fee.

Then on check-out they proceeded to charge my other credit card with the full amount again, thus paying twice.

Fortunately I checked my bank records before I left and queried it with the front desk. Unfortunately they had "no record of the double charge" and refused to refund me.

So I am now out of pocket due to their incompetency and forced to reclaim the money through my bank.

My advice: check your receipts!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.