We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but needs refurbishing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 35% & Free Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Birkdale, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK but needs refurbishing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights early August 2013. The location was handy and staff were very courteous and helpful. Sadly, however this hotel needs a good makeover. Everything is old. Our room was reasonably clean but the old fittings and fixtures were a bit off-putting. The power socket in the bathroom was loose and partly detached from the wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    321
    130
    46
    15
See reviews for
196
289
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a very standard 3 star hotel with comfy beds and good service. Best point is location--- worst is the pool -it is a good size , but looks onto the back of other building's, so not a great place to sit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Firstly, the front desk deducted the entire room charge from the credit card I gave on check-in when they were supposedly taking only the $100 holding fee.

Then on check-out they proceeded to charge my other credit card with the full amount again, thus paying twice.

Fortunately I checked my bank records before I left and queried it with the front desk. Unfortunately they had "no record of the double charge" and refused to refund me.

So I am now out of pocket due to their incompetency and forced to reclaim the money through my bank.

My advice: check your receipts!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights, and were very happy with our choice of Waikiki hotel. Being our first trip to Hawaii I researched hotels on Trip Advisor and decided upon the Waikiki Resort Hotel.

The rooms are a little old, but spotlessly clean and spacious. Free wifi in the lobby and 2 restaurants (although we did not dine at either during our stay).

Would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return to Hawaii.

Room Tip: We paid for a partial ocean view room, and could see a small bit of the ocean, but to be honest we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was a little worried about our accommodations because room ratings in Waikiki can range drastically. The last 3 star hotel I stayed in there was not that great but this was a wonderful surprise. When we arrived late in the evening I was worried that we would be stuck with the worst room being so late but we were so excited to find we had been upgraded to a mini suite!!! The rooms are beautiful and the staff is wonderful. Everyone was so helpful and quick to serve. I needed extra pillows and they were at the door in 5 minutes. I needed my room safe reset and they were at the door in 3 minutes. It was amazing!!! I just can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. If we get the chance to return we will most definitely stay here again. The location is the very best as well.

Room Tip: Would recommend to spend the few extra dollars to be in the mid to upper floors of the hotel. It do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A fantastic location but a very simple hotel. Everything is in walking distance. There is a great free show on the beach (steps away) on certain nights of the week. The beach is a little crowded and very busy but that is waikiki. We could not find a spot on the beach when we went down at 2pm.

Be aware: parking costs $22 daily and the lot is very small and the spots seemed very tight.

Also, wifi is not included in the rooms. It is an extra $9.95 daily plus tax for each device. Very surprising and inconvenient. The lobby has wifi free.

The rooms are clean but again, very simple.

Breakfast buffet had pancakes, eggs, yoghurt, fruit, breads, and some korean ethnic foods as this hotel has korean connections in some way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a good stay in this hotel. It is nicely located, very close to the beach. We had a suite with seaview and really liked that! The rooms are big, have good beds and ours had a small kitchenette with a mw and coffeemaker.
The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a small shop in the lobby, a good Breakfast restaurant and a very nice Korean restaurant. We had a good stay here in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.