We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations and a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodations and a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Room was beautiful with a great Ocean view and tended daily by room service. Fine quality and product. Very satisfied with all amenities including swimming pool, American Breakfast buffet, and internet availability. Very close one block walk to the Sea and all local attractions including free nightly Hawaiian Cultural show on the ocean front and torch lighting. two blocks to bus that services the entire island and /or local tour buss's and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    243
    101
    39
    15
See reviews for
144
222
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel in Waikiki, and I was pleasantly surprised to see they have renovated and updated the rooms. They are still pretty basic, but nice and comfortable. I liked the free wifi in the lobby, but having it in the room would have been a great plus. The rooms are clean and I still like the hotel, however, don't expect any help from the front desk:
My main complaint is - We desperately needed to rent a car one morning and woke up very early to do so (we had to get to the north shore by 9:00am but it wasn't until that morning we'd realized our tour was on the North shore, we were originally planning to take a taxi. Yes I know, bad planning on our part but still...) So we called down to the front desk and asked if they could recommend a nearby rental agency to us, and they said, no problem, we have a car rental service on site, but, they don't open until 8am, don't worry none of the others do either. We thought "ok, that seems the quickest thing, we'll just get a car here". So we waited patiently until 8am, then the car rental desk opens, we discover that the agency is not onsite, it's just an expedia booking desk! So we pay for a car and then still have to take a taxi all the way to Ala Moana Discovery centre to pick up the car. Upon arrival, we see that there are actually 4 car rental companies all located in the same building, and they all opened at 7am! This caused us to miss our scheduled time and we had to wait all day to be fit into the schedule again (we were skydiving, in case you are curious). If the front desk guy had only just told us to go to the discovery centre - where all the car rental places are - we never would have been late. Or if he had even been helpful enough to call one of the agencies to see when they open instead of just taking the lazy way out and assuming they are closed. Anything to make a commision I guess, sad.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall very pleased with our stay at the Waikiki Resort, 10 days in January 2013.

PROS:
Location is GREAT, near the beach and shopping/restaurants.
Room was large and clean, functionnal bathroom and balcony. Large pool area with lounge chairs and tables, very few people ever using it. Staff was polite and helpful, check-in was quick. Free wifi in the lobby. We didn't try the restaurant on site so can't comment on it.

CONS: street is very noisy with tour buses and emergency vehicules going by, decor is somewhat outdated.

Bottom line: very good value for money, would book it again. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location and the rooms were in standard condition, what you would expect. Staff were friendly enough. What it needs is in-room wi-fi. It was annoying having to go down to the lobby each time.Other than that, the location was the best thing about the hotel and it was only minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the room was ok....clean, queen bed...it was close to everything...walking distance to the beach. only could use WiFi in the lobby...had to pay for parking. We stayed only 3 nights and really did not use pool...but they did have one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Waikiki Resort Hotel for 3 nights while we visited Oahu. It was the perfect location, only a block away from Waikiki Beach and an easy walk to the shops and restaurants around the city. We rented a car for the three days to visit the north shore and get around the island - it was an easy jump onto the H1 from the hotel.

We tried their restaurant Seoul Jung and had an amazing meal. The menu is very authentic, we asked for help in ordering, but everything that was brought out was delicious! If you book online you get the breakfast included in your rate which was a great way to start the day.

The internet is free in the lobby, but you can pay for it if you need it in the rooms.

Our room was in the corner and had a view of Waikiki Beach and the city - both were awesome views. I highly recommend a glass of wine with the sun setting over the water, while sitting on your balcony :)

I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to any of my friends!

Room Tip: We loved our view of Waikiki Beach - especially watching the sun set!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

January 04th 2013, 10 night stay. Love this hotel, This was our 3rd stay here, excellent location, efficient friendly staff, the hotel have now installed wifi in all guest rooms for a daily charge of $10.75. wifi is still free in the reception area. guest parking is the same price as all other hotels in the area $20 per 24hrs.

Room Tip: partial sea view rooms & high floors are great for afternoon sun & great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.