We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Waikiki Resort Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2015 Early Bird Savings!
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Waikiki Resort Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Family of eight, including 1 year old and 2 year old stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel over Christmas for four days prior to joining a cruise, then returned for three more days after.. We booked connecting rooms and ordered cots for the boys which helped with the sleeping arrangements. All the staff were very friendly, kind and efficient, always keen to make our stay a welcome experience. The hotel was less than a minute walk to the Waikiki Beach, the shops and restaurants. The Hotel restaurant provided a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    261
    110
    40
    15
See reviews for
163
237
49
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OC, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Waikiki Resort for two nights prior to Cruise. Would stay there again as it is a great location for the beach and shopping in Waikiki. Ate three meals in the restaurant which has an excellent breakfast buffet. The staff at the front desk and restaurant were very polite and efficient. The rooms are just average, but we were not there to spend time in the room. We got a good night's sleep and a hot shower in a clean room. Surprised that we had a balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very well appointed not far from the beach, rooms very spacious and all the mod cons, we were on the 24th floor, only downside was the constant noise of the lift shafts up until midnight. Staff very friendly and helpful, tour buses pick up from the hotel, i do recommend this hotel for your stay

Room Tip: Not above floor 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel had a great price over Christmas. We were in Waikiki for 3 weeks, and spent 2 weeks at the Aqua Waikiki Pearl (highly recommend) and 1 week here at the Waikiki Resort Hotel. When we checked in, about 12pm, 3 hours earlier than the normal check in time, our room was available and the lady at reception was nice and polite. We had a ocean-facing room on the 18th floor (room 1817) which I do recommend. The 19th floor is the penthouse rooms. From the balcony, I had great views over the ocean and beach, and could also see Diamond Head. The room was on the smaller size (but still manageable. Everything was clean and the beds comfy. There was a letter in the room saying that there would be pest control on 3 floors in the hotel the following day which included our room. The room was sprayed while we were out. We didn't see any bugs before or after the spraying. There's 3 lifts in the hotel and they are super-fast, no hanging around waiting for lifts at this hotel! I didn't use the swimming pool (looked nice) or restaurant. McDonalds is just around the corner, and so is Waikiki Beach, from door to beach, about 1-2 minutes walk, great location. Check-out is 12pm, we were able to check-out at 1pm for no charge. Anything later would incur a charge. The hotel has wifi but you have to pay, it's free in the lobby though. I think all hotels should include free wifi in the rooms! I think it costs $10 a day, $70 a week (no discount), but I searched around for wifi services elsewhere in the room and found skywave(?) which was about $8 a day, $24 a week, and about $32 a month. So better to use that than the resorts own wifi.
This hotel is fine and what was expected, next time I may try somewhere else.... although not sure if there's anywhere cheaper or the same cost that is closer to the beach, so I'll have to decide later.
PS - Daves Surf Shop is just a few doors away (turn right out of the hotel), I highly recommend him for surf lessons, outrigger canoe rides etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem OR
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent 8 nights here at 2 different times. Each time they let me stay longer than the regular check out time. The location is fantastic, only one block from the beach. The tour buses pick up right outside the door or across the street. Their breakfast buffet is more for Asian people but was adequate. Very nice staff.

Room Tip: The higher up the better as the street noise can be quite loud in the mornings with trucks backing u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Waikiki Resort hotel was fantastic! We stayed for 7 days. The front desk was friendly and knowledgeable - even though our flight was very late and we arrived after midnight, the man checking us in was still friendly and not grumpy (we were the last to check in for the day). Anytime we saw hotel staff in the elevator or hallway they greeted us with a warm Aloha. Our room was clean, and cleaned daily (including free coffee refills) and had everything we needed. If you are booking for this hotel, do not expect a 5 star hotel - it has the basics of what you need - and that is exactly what my husband and I wanted. The decor was dated but we didn't care about that. It would have been a little more convenient, had the wifi worked in the hotel rooms but we did have wifi access in the lobby no problem connecting there. No regrets, would absolutely stay again, only a 3min walk to the beach!

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the beach and is on a high floor (so you can see the ocean). Rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Waikiki resort for 3 days before our cruise around the islands. We loved it so much, especially the staff that we returned for our last day as our flight did not leave until 11:30 pm. We were treated like royalty and everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We can hardly wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.