We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Stay in Honolulu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
EXCLUSIVE: Free Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nice Stay in Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel before embarking on our cruise of the Hawaiian islands. Our stay was extremely comfortable and the hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. Yes, the rooms were a little dated, but who cares? We were there to see Hawaii and experience the best Honolulu had to offer. Shopping is amazing on the main strip and with the taxes at 4% we had a shopping extravaganza! Taxes where I live are a whopping 14.5%! The locals could not believe it! And, to top it off, the hotel was nice enough to accomodate us when our flight home to Vancouver got bumped to the next day. We could have wound up sleeping on the beach if it were not for the staff at the hotel. Our airline (Westjet) could not have cared less. We were not even reimbursed for the inconvenience! But all in all, I would recommend this hotel. Clean, friendly staff and the buffet breakfast was outstanding. I am still dreaming of that trip. That one was checked off my bucket list, but I think I would like to add another column for a return trip to the islands. Aloha!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrieartiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here while on tour. Hotel owned by Koreans. Think our group of 35 were the only Caucasians in hotel. It was packed with Korean, Chinese, and Japanese school kids and tour groups. Breakfast buffet impossible to get to one morning with so many kids. Lobby crowded at 8 am with kids getting towels to go to beach. Room slightly dated but clean. Room was in back of hotel - considerable street noise, even on 15th floor. Restaurant food so-so. If returning would try one of the many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia NSW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good central location just a minutes walk to the beach.Booked two stays pre and post cruise. As with a lot of hotels in the area it is getting a little dated, but our rooms were clean and neat. First stay (shorter stay) we had a room at the back of the hotel. Small mix up with our booking but rectified by staff fairly quickly. Second stay we had an upper floor ocean view room which was nice with king bed. Our room was available prior to lunch which was great as check in is normally about 3pm. Fridge in the room which was good for drinks. Coin operated laundry in basement which was helpful for us as we had been travelling for a while and needed to wash clothes for our onward journey. Free WiFi in the lobby which we used also without any problems. The concierge was really helpful with directions and suggestions (not pushy) Booked a tour and Car Hire via him. He recommended some great spots to stop at on our drive around Oahu. Over all would probably stay again.

Room Tip: High up Ocean view room nice if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Although not too modern, the location was great. Very close to beach and beach walkabouts. Lots of restraurants nearby and bus lines to all over the island. Expedia concierge in lobby was very helpful and wasn't too pushy for booking tours. Gave lots of info on local restaurants and atractions.

Room Tip: Of course, ask for a semi-beach view(the best you'll get). Higher floors have a quieter sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REDBIRDCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having just returned from a 2 week holiday in Waikiki Oahu I can honestly say this hotel is not aimed at english speaking people. The whole hotel is aimed at Koreans, Chinese and Japanese holiday makers, It even has a Korean Travel Agent in the hotel, a Korean resturant and bar.

The Pros:- Comfy beds & pillows, clean room, good view although we had a city view it was very pretty at night. Fridge in room.

The cons:-
Not enough storage for clothes, coffee was provided but no Tea, no internet in room, no full length mirror (only one mirror over sink). The patio doors are single glass so you hear every thing out side early in morning and at night.

We got this hotel at a very good price and when we arrived we were told we were in the penthouse - BUT not what we expected for a penthouse, we actually had a bedroom attached to a suite with two bedrooms so the people who were in the suite did not want two bedrooms hence why we had one. It was just a bedroom nothing special at all.

There was supposed to be Internet Free in the Lobby we has 3 devices with us my phone, an Ipod ad computer none of them worked beacuse the IT dept had not put the IP Addres on the system properly so no ne could access the internet. You had to pay if you wanted to use it in the internet centre in the hotel - they are not silly. So I was not a happy bunny as I picked this hotel for the internet to keep in contact with home. If you wanted to use the internet you had to go to MacDonalds or Starbucks not convenient but a must.

2 days before we were leaving we had a not left in the room saying they were upgrading the internet to WiFi and upgrading the TV to HD between 8 and 4pm and if you did not was to be disturbed ring housekeeping which I did and told them not to disturb us until we had left. I might as well have spoken Japanese and thye took no notice and on the day before we were due to leave they came - BUT my husband had left some change on the bedside cabinet and when we returned it had gone, we presume stolen by the workmen. We told reception who did not seem to be bothered but sent a Security guy up who was not bothered either so that was then end of that.

I personally would not stay at this hotel again but thats my choice.

Room Tip: Use the local buses you can get anywhere and you can use your ticket twice in a specified time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank March1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for anything you'd want to do around Waikiki. It's looking a bit dated and the decor inside of the rooms is in need of a modernisation. But it's clean, the staff are helpful and friendly and the location is great. Aside from the dated decor, the double room we stayed in was spacious and clean. Showers are very basic though and shower/toilet area of the bathroom is small. If you're just looking for a base to explore, then this is ideal and an affordable option in an area where accommodation can be expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lobby was quiet when we checked in - we asked where our room was, hoping for a "high floor" with perhaps a bit of a view. We were on the sixth - we asked if there was anything higher and something possibly with a kitchenette. We were SO lucky to get upgraded to the 17th floor...we had a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette and a view. The decor was lovely and we had lots of space to spread out plus 2 balconies, one off the living room where the sofa bed was and the other off the bedroom. My only negative (if you can call it that) about the room was the size of the bathroom sink and counter area - it was super small. There wasn't a spot for cosmetic bags or anything like that.

We looked down over the pool and several time thought we would go down and lay there as the area was very inviting BUT the window of opportunity for sunshine must have been small. It seemed to us that it was in shade all the time or at least every time we looked - I guess from the surrounding buildings. So we spent all our time at the beach.

Our only other issues were that there was wifi in the lobby but while we were there we had trouble connecting a number of times...which is frustrating. One time it was not available until the following day. Our flight did not leave until late in the evening and we asked to leave our bags with the bell concierge - we were charged to do that. I have never paid to leave by bags at any hotel and was surprised.

The rooms were super clean and the service the front desk provided was great. We would go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momsandsons8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#36 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#34 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#16 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access, iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing